Sunscreen CAUSES Cancer??

Hi Guys 😀

I will get to the subject of my post in a minute- just going to share with you my morning workout. It was a leg kind of workout today. Tonight I will be doing cardio.

Exercise Reps Weight
Deadlifts 3 sets of 12 50lb. 
Jump Squats 15 body weight
Leg Press 3 sets of 12 25lb. Each side + bar
SUPERSETTED WITH    
Jumping Side Lunges- over ball 3 set of 12 body weight
Barbell Squats 3 sets of 12 10lb. Each side + bar
Knee Tuck Jumps 15 body weight
Bulgarian Split Squats 3 sets of 12 50lb. Bar
SUPERSETTED WITH    
Dumbbell Lunges w/ Weights 3 sets of 12 7.5lb. Each hand
Squat Thursts with pushups 15 body weight
Plie Squats 3 sets of 12 25lb. Dumbbell
SUPERSETTED WITH    
Sumo Squat Jumps 3 sets of 12 body weight
DB Squat, Heels Raised 3 sets of 12 20lb. Each hand
Burpees with Jump @ the end 15 body weight
Calf Raises 3 sets of 12 30lb. Each hand
SUPERSETTED WITH    
Ball Squats with weight 3 sets of 12 holding 25lb. Weight

Total time: 45 minutes, Calories burned: 225 (approx.)- will download the rest of the information later.

Ok, now on to the GOOD part 😉 While I was at work today, one of the girls I work with was telling me about the new information that people have found regarding how sunscreen can actually CAUSE cancer. Not to worry, I have TOOs of links to provide you with as well, so you can do your own research on it.

does it REALLY help???

Here’s the main points:|
1. The common ingredient found in sunscreens, Vitamin A, may SPEED up the development of cancer.
Recently available data from an FDA study indicate that a form of vitamin A, retinyl palmitate, when applied to the skin in the presence of sunlight, may speed the development of skin tumors and lesions (NTP 2009). This evidence is troubling because the sunscreen industry adds vitamin A to 41 percent of all sunscreens.

2. Vitamin A may be a photocarcinogenic
The industry puts vitamin A in its formulations because it is an anti-oxidant that slows skin aging. That may be true for lotions and night creams used indoors, but FDA recently conducted a study of vitamin A’s photocarcinogenic properties, the possibility that it results in cancerous tumors when used on skin exposed to sunlight. Scientists have known for some time that vitamin A can spur excess skin growth (hyperplasia), and that in sunlight it can form free radicals that damage DNA

3. There’s NO Consensus On Whether Sunscreens Prevent Skin Cancer
The Food and Drug Administration’s 2007 draft sunscreen safety regulations say: “FDA is not aware of data demonstrating that sunscreen use alone helps prevent skin cancer”

4.Sunscreen MIGHT increase the risk for Melanoma.
Some researchers have detected an increased risk of melanoma among sunscreen users. No one knows the cause, but scientists speculate that sunscreen users stay out in the sun longer and absorb more radiation overall, or that free radicals released as sunscreen chemicals break down in sunlight may play a role

5. There are more SPF products than ever, but there’s NO proof that they are better
In 2007 the FDA published draft regulations that would prohibit companies from labeling sunscreens with an SPF (sun protection factor) higher than “SPF 50+.” The agency wrote that higher values were “inherently misleading,” given that “there is no assurance that the specific values themselves are in fact truthful…”  Scientists are also worried that high-SPF products may tempt people to stay in the sun too long, suppressing sunburns (a late, key warning of overexposure) while upping the risks of other kinds of skin damage.
In everyday practice, a product labeled SPF 100 really performs like SPF 3.2, an SPF 30 rating equates to a 2.3 & an SPF 15 translates to 2.

So, you ask- How do you pick the right sunscreen? Do I even wear sunscreen now? What are the alternatives?

1. Choose Vitamin A-free Sunscreens

2. Choose Mineral Sunscreens & OXYBENZONE FREE products!
mineral sunscreens have the best safety profile of today’s choices. They are stable in sunlight and do not appear to penetrate the skin. They offer UVA protection, which is sorely lacking in most of today’s sunscreen products. Mexoryl SX (ecamsule) is another good option, but it’s sold in very few formulations. Tinosorb S and M could be great solutions but are not yet available in the U.S. For consumers who don’t like mineral products, we recommend sunscreens with avobenzone (3 percent for the best UVA protection) and without the notorious hormone disruptors oxybenzone or 4-MBC. Scientists have called for parents to avoid using oxybenzone on children due to penetration and toxicity concerns. Oxybenzone, is a hormone- disrupting compound that penetrates the skin & enters the blood stream.

a brand of mineral sunscreen

3. Always wear additional protection– like hats, shoulder covering shirts, & use an umbrella to shield yourself from the sun.

I found all of this information VERY interesting. I think it’s pretty crazy the things that they found. Although to me it seems like they are ALWAYS changing the regulation of something, or saying that something else causes cancer. Is it just me or do you notice that too?

If you want to do your own research, here are some links for ya:
Sunscreens Exposed
Dermatologist Susses Sunscreen Cancer Risk
CBS Story about it
Environmental Working Group

I would love to hear your thoughts about all of this. I always use sunscreen when I go out in the sun, & I actually use it EVERY day on my face.

Do you have a sunscreen routine?

I will now be reading over my sunscreen ingredients!!! Vitamin A & Oxybenzone FREE please!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Love the leg workout – yowzers. I wear lotion with sunscreen and ALWAYS put it on when I’m going to be outside. I haven’t read the latest info about the Vitamin A though. I swear, it’s always something. Darned if you do and darned if you don’t. It’s tiresome.

    Reply
  2. I had heard of the oxybenzone and my sunscreen now does not contain it. I didn’t know about the vitamin A though. I am not a conspiracy theorist really at all, but I SO wish the government would be more careful with what they put into our food, and what they tell us in mass advertising what to do. It seems that they themselves are either doing it on purpose, or are taking shockingly dangerous shortcuts. I did a post a while back about the dangers of adding folic acid to everything… its as rampant as HFCS, and the overabundance is causing cancer. And then there is the flouride that they just toss in our drinking water and hope for the best… girl, I could go on for DAYS.

    Reply
  3. very good to know! adn seriously—sometimes theres so much info its like what the heck is good for me!

    Reply
  4. Wow, seriously, I just wrote about that!! It makes any info out there seem sketchy- like you really have to research and then, of course, common sense. But, yes, totally crazy making. Great post!!

    Reply
  5. Holly!!! Ahh I am so retarded I didn’t know you had a blog either! I love it 🙂 now expect me to follow it and comment all the time. How is everything going?? I saw you from far away at The Gate River Run but as soon as I turned around from getting water you were gone. Hope all is well..but I will probably read old posts and see that it is 🙂

    Reply
    • yay!! I’m following you too!!! 😀
      Everything is great- how are you?? I can’t believe it’s been 5 years since high school- how crazy is that?!
      I saw you are doing a tri-athelon (is that how you spell it? haha) – I can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Eeks….I am going to go check my sunscreen now!

    Reply
  7. i love this info! sunscreen is so impt! i always make sure my face moisturizer has SPF 15 in it as well. I love nuetrogena prodcuts and their sunscreen is great! their face lotion is not greasy or smelly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

