Never Touch The Lips!

Hi guys..well, I guess it would be more like Hi girls 😀

Sorry I didn’t get a chance to post last night- I actually got to talk to my sister (who lives in Buffalo, NY) for like an hour & a half instead which was AWESOME!! We hadn’t talked in a while- I mean we’ll email back & forth here & there, but not talk on the phone as much. So we caught up & we were talking about planning our other sister’s baby shower 😀 She’s due in December, so we are thinking of having it in October. Can’t wait to meet the little ‘bean’ as she calls it 🙂 OH & I will find out on FRIDAY if it’s a boy or girl!!! CAN’T WAIT!!!

Oh, but not to worry, dinner was nothin’ special. I just re-invented last nights dinner into a casserole- like just threw it into an 8×8 pan & topped it with some cheese. That was it! Baked it @ 400 for about 45minutes..and PRESTO it was ready!

I always like to switch up my leftovers into something new- I HATE leftovers (as you probably know if you’ve been reading for a while) & if I make them into something different then it’s totally fine 😉

AND I had to try the oven out since the oven guy came by to fix it yesterday. Well, OF COURSE when he came to check out the problem, the error signal NEVER came on. So he figured it was just a ‘fluke’. BUT the GOOD thing was that he gave us a 30 day warranty kind of thing- if it happens again, then we can just call him & they will come out for free. Pretty cool, right? I thought that was nice & the repair guy was really nice. He’s like, “Are you having any other problems with any other appliances- dishwasher, dryer, washer, etc.?” Of course I was standing there trying to think of SOMETHING, but nothing came to mind. I guess that’s good…but I wanted to think of something- haha.

Last night was full of packing – SO READY for this trip 😀 And then we went to bed early- or at least tried, but it didn’t turn out too well- too excited for our trip to sleep.

This morning I woke up & did a workout similar to this: Leg Workout
I changed a few moves around, added lunges & lots of butt exercises..and increased the weight- but overall, it was similar. Sometimes I think that writing my workout out daily is kind of boring, so I’ll try to just shorten it sometimes…or just highlight what I did, but not go into specific detail. The only reason that I document everything sometimes is that I got a lot of workout ideas from other people’s blogs, so I figured some people could get some ideas from me..? I don’t know if they actually are helpful…but maybe 😉

I’m still having to avoid shoulder exercises- BLAH. My left shoulder is killlllerrr. It hurts to sleep on it & raise my arm above my head. It’s not a ‘sore pain’ it’s more of a ‘hurt pain.’ But I don’t feel like it’s serious, just needs some rest. And maybe I need to realize my body DOES in fact have limits..sometimes I forget this.

As I am typing this, I was munching on some microwaved popcorn- 94% Fat Free Kettle Corn to be exact 🙂

And it reminded me of this article that I saw that was entitled 7 Foods That Should Never Touch Your Lips. I remembered seeing it a few months ago, but then last week a co-worker showed it to me again- he gave me a copy of it. (told ya, the co-workers know I’m a health nut 😉 ) Here are the 7 things:

1. Canned Tomatos

Why? The resin linings of tin cans contain bisphenol-A, a synthetic estrogen that has been linked to ailments ranging from reproductive problems to heart disease, diabetes, and obesity.
Solution: Choose tomatoes in glass bottles (which do not need resin linings), such as the brands Bionaturae and Coluccio.

2. Corn -Fed Beef

I don’t have to worry about this one, since I don’t eat beef, but I will occassionally cook it for Craig.
Why?  Cattle evolved to eat grass, not grains. But farmers today feed their animals corn and soybeans, which fatten up the animals faster for slaughter. A recent comprehensive study conducted by the USDA and researchers from Clemson University found that compared with corn-fed beef, grass-fed beef is higher in beta-carotene, Vitamin E ,omega-3s, conjugated linoleic acid (CLA), calcium, magnesium, and potassium; lower in inflammatory omega-6s; and lower in saturated fats that have been linked to heart disease.
Solution: Buy grass-fed beef, which can be found at specialty grocers, farmers’ markets, and nationally at Whole Foods.

3. MICROWAVE POPCORN (Uh oh! for me)

Why? Chemicals including perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), in the lining of the bag, are part of a class of compounds that may be linked to infertility in humans, according to a recent study from UCLA. In animal testing, the chemicals cause liver, testicular, and pancreatic cancer. Studies show that microwaving causes the chemicals to vaporize—and migrate into your popcorn.
Solution: Pop natural kernels the old-fashioned way: in a skillet.

4. Non Organic potatos (<–I was most surprised @ this one.)

Why? Root vegetables absorb herbicides, pesticides, and fungicides that wind up in soil.
Solution: Buy organic potatos.

5. Farmed Salmon

Why? Nature didn’t intend for salmon to be crammed into pens and fed soy, poultry litter, and hydrolyzed chicken feathers. As a result, farmed salmon is lower in vitamin D and higher in contaminants, including carcinogens, PCBs, brominated flame retardants, and pesticides such as dioxin and DDT.
Solution: Switch to wild-caught Alaska salmon.

6. Milk Produced with Artificial Hormones

Why?  Milk producers treat their dairy cattle with recombinant bovine growth hormone (rBGH or rBST, as it is also known) to boost milk production. But rBGH also increases udder infections and even pus (<—EWWWW) in the milk. It also leads to higher levels of a hormone called insulin-like growth factor in milk. In people, high levels of IGF-1 may contribute to breast, prostate and colon cancers.
Solution: Check labels for rBGH-free, rBST-free, produced without artificial hormones, or organic milk.

7. Conventional Apples

Why?: If fall fruits held a “most doused in pesticides contest,” apples would win. Why? They are individually grafted (descended from a single tree) so that each variety maintains its distinctive flavor. As such, apples don’t develop resistance to pests and are sprayed frequently.  “Farm workers have higher rates of many cancers,” he says. And increasing numbers of studies are starting to link a higher body burden of pesticides (from all sources) with Parkinson’s disease.
Solution: Buy organic apples.

While I was writing this, I felt like saying “MOOOOO” throughout the whole thing. I felt like I was seeing a lot of cows 😀

OK- well, I gotta break the news to ya- I’m not going to be able to blog while on vacation- not bringing my computer…:( And, well, I kind of just want to be on vacation- 😀 Ya know what I mean?! But I WILL be back, so please don’t leave me!!!

If you need to talk or ANYTHING, please feel free to email me- I’ll have my email- that’s on my phone..but just not a big ol’ computer.

Hope you have a GREAT rest of the week + weekend. Looking forward to catching up when I get back!

xoxo

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Good for you for taking a break on vacation. This Saturday may be the first time I don’t post something. It’s seriously driving me nuts too 😉

    Reply
  2. Have a wonderful vacation!!!!!!!!!! ❤

    Reply
  3. Have a great time!

    I cant keep up with all these rules about what to eat or what not to eat.

    I do try to buy organic apples. Have you seen how much smaller htey are than conventional apples?!

    Reply
  4. This is great info. I eat TONS of apples so this is good to know…thanks!

    Reply
  5. I refuse to stop eating microwave popcorn! And conventional apples forthat matter. I’m a rebel I know 😉

    Reply
  6. Jen

     /  July 28, 2010

    I just wanted to let you know that I recently found your blog and I LOVE it! I’m a little sad that you’re going on vacation… but you deserve it!

    Reply
  7. Great post! Really interesting about those 7 things not to touch your lips. I eat a ton of apples so this is good to know. The popcorn thing I find weird though.
    Congrats to your sister, can’t wait to hear if it’s a boy or girl! I can’t wait till my sister has a baby, that must be so fun : )

    Reply
  8. Laura

     /  July 28, 2010

    pfft. I eat unorganic potatoes and apples all the time. no way I’m switching over, that would turn cheap foods into expensive ones!

    Glad you decided not to do that stupid magazine plan you posted about, it looked totally lame. If you want to build muscle just lift heavy weights, do less cardio and eat more. Tis easy! no need for complicated (and silly) plans. 1650 calories, ha. Thats barely anything!

    Enjoy your vacation!

    Reply
  9. Have a great trip! I guess I’m in trouble with microwaved popcorn too. I eat it everyday.

    Reply
  10. Pus in milk seriously grosses me out. But microwave popcorn?! That shit is delcious!!! NOOOOOOOOOO!

    I’m not dramatic, I swear.

    Have fun at the jersey shore, you fist pumper you.

    Reply
  11. Have fun on your vacation!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

