That’s Not Manwich!

You already know my workout this morning…so I’ll get right to my eats 🙂

This morning, as I said, I started out with a protein shake after lifting.

1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder, 1/2 banana & some ice

tasted kinda like chocolate milk

When I got to work, I made myself breakfast. Which consisted of 3 egg whites, & 1 Flat Out with sugar free Strawberry jelly.

1 Flat Out

breakfast!

I honestly forgot about having a morning snack- I know, I know- bad! But I just got busy at work, & I wasn’t hungry. I think the protein shake + my breakfast really kept me full thru the morning.

During my lunch break I ran some errands to pick up some decorations for Craig’s birthday party. Then I got back & made lunch.

I KNOW you’ve missed seeing these:

YOGURT MESS!

Into it went:

Chobani greek yogurt, mix of bran cereal, strawberries & blueberries

Around 3:30pm I was feeling a bit hungry, so I reached for afternoon snack- a good ol’ staple- red delicious apple + 1 tbsp. peanut butter.

this apple wasn't that good, so glad I had the peanut butter for it 🙂

My afternoon workout consisted of cardio + ab work. I know I did a little ab work this morning, but I really wanted to do more, but I ran out of time, so I just did it now.

On the treadmill:
Minutes                     Speed                     Incline
0- 10:00                   6.5                           0%
10:00- 15:00           3.5                           10%
15:00- 20:00           3.5                           8%
20:00- 25:00           6.5                           0%
25:00- 30:00           3.5                           10%
30:00- 32:00           3.5                           0%

Abs:
Weighted Toe crunch (with 5 lb. weight)- 3 sets of 15 reps
Bicycle crunches- 3 sets of 20
Plank with side kick out- 3 sets of 15 (Each leg)
Side to side crunches with 5lb. weight- 3 sets of 15 (each side)
Punch & crunches with 5lb. each hand- 3 sets of 15

Total time: 45 minutes, calories burned: 310, Max HR: 200, Avg HR: 140

For tonight’s dinner I tried a new recipe that I found on The Kitchen Sink’s blog for Turkey Sloopy Joes.

My changes are noted below 🙂 

Turkey Sloppy Joes

1 tablespoon olive oil Pam cooking spray
4 carrots, coarsely grated (2 cups)
2 4 ribs of celery, finely chopped
1 medium onion, minced
1 3 garlic cloves, minced
Coarse salt and ground pepper
3 4 tablespoons tomato paste
3/4 1 1/4 pounds ground turkey (93% lean, white meat dark meat)
1 can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes
2 2 1/2 tablespoons dark-brown sugar
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
4 good-quality hamburger rolls, split

In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium; add carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 4 to 5 minutes.

Add tomato paste and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add turkey; cook, breaking up meat with a spoon, until no longer pink, 4 to 5 minutes.

Add tomatoes, sugar, vinegar, and Worcestershire sauce. Cook, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened, 12 to 14 minutes. Serve on rolls.

Served with vegetarian baked beans & a mix of roasted veggies seasoned with garlic salt, crushed red pepper, onion powder & pepper.

mix of zucchini, squash, baby portabellos, carrots, & onion.- pre baked.

baked @ 450- 475 for 30 minutes

my dinner 🙂

I also ate more veggies- I LOVED them. Craig is not really a fan- he likes the very basic veggies- like green beans. haha! He’s not much into all of the ‘different’ kind of vegetables..& he HATES mushrooms & carrots, but I love them. Trade offs 🙂

The turkey sloopy joes were delicious! At first Craig said, ‘is that Manwich?! YUM I love that stuff.’ I was like ‘NO way, it’s homemade!’ 😀 He did enjoy them as well.

Tonight we are playing catch- up with our DVR. We have a lot of shows on here from vacation. So that’s what we will be doing 🙂

What is one show, or shows, that you have programmed on DVR automatically?
Mine include Big Brother, The Gates, Desparate Housewives & Entourage.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  August 3, 2010

    Those sloppy joes look great!!

    Reply
  2. I miss exercise.
    Completely.

    Anyway, I will say that I think you can really eat a ton more (you need a lot even if you do nothing!) 🙂

    Like, why not eat whole eggs? etc, etc…just tons of room to add so much or bulk things up! (no need for sugar-free jam!).

    Reply
  3. I looooove sloppy joes!

    oh, and Seans the same way. He likes green beans and corn!

    Reply
  4. The sloppy joes look really good, and so do your roasted veggies!

    J is the same way (and I see other people are too!) — he only really likes to eat green beans, if he eats a vegetable at all.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

    Your turkey sloppy joes look great! My boyfriend is the same way with veggies. He only likes broccoli and corn while I like everything!

    I double up on abs too 🙂

    Reply
  6. Ah, BB for me too. During regular season we DVR How I Met Your Mother, 2 1/2 Men, those types of shows.

    Reply
  7. hot dang girl- 2 a day workouts? that is crazy!! be careful! my body would get so tired!
    I LOVE sloppy joes!! its my fav thang to eat 🙂 SO tangy!!!

    Reply
  8. Laura

     /  August 4, 2010

    I thought you were going to stop doing 2x a day workouts? Seems like most days you still do them.

    And yes, you eat very little and could definitely increase. Seriously a small pot of yogurt and a handful of bran cereal & berries for LUNCH?!

    I love veggies too! Yum Yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

