Blogs are the Best.

Happy Hump Day! So glad this week is half way over. ONE week until we leave (…again) for Maryland for Craig’s 30th birthday celebration weekend!!

Anyways, just want to tell you that before I start writing this, that this post is near & dear to my heart. I just want to talk about some different things in my life that I have been struggling with, but also finds ways to OVERCOME them too 🙂 This might be a long-er one, with few pictures, but I hope you still enjoy it.

But, first things first- my workout this morning was a LEG workout!! yaaa baby.

Move Weight Reps
Deadlift 65lb. Barbell 3 sets of 12
SUPERSETTED WITH:    
Jump Squats body weight 3 sets of 15
Leg Press 65lb.  3 sets of 12
Side lunges body weight 3 sets of 10 (each)
Barbell Squats 55lb. Barbell 3 sets of 12
Knee Tuck Jumps body weight 15
Bulgarian Split Squats 55lb. barbell 3 sets of 12 (each)
SUPERSETTED WITH:    
Dumbbell Lunges 5lb. Each hand 3 sets of 12 (each)
Squats thrusts body weight 15
Plie Squats 30lb. DB 3 sets of 12
SUPERSETTED WITH:    
Sumo Squat Jumps body weight 3 sets of 15
DB Squat, Heels Raised 12.5lb. Each  3 sets of 12
SUPERSETTED WITH:    
Jumping Jacks body weight 3 sets of 15
Calf Raises on Machine 45lb. Weight 3 sets of 12
Ball Squats with wts.  25lb. Weight 3 sets of 12

Then some butt exercises:

Move Weight Reps
Donkey Kicks 8lb. Weight 3 sets of 10 (each)
Fire Hydrants body weight 3 sets of 10 (each)
Fire hydrants w/ Kick out body weight 3 sets of 10 (each)

After these my buns were BURNIN’!!!!

Then I ended with 5 minutes on the Arc Trainer.

Total time: 47 minutes, Calories burned (approx): 250, Max HR:    Avg HR:
(As usual I’ll get the actual numbers later)

Now, on to the REAL good stuff 🙂

First & foremost I want to say how much I LOVE my blog friends & readers. And I honestly can tell how much each & everyone of you care about me & fellow bloggies 🙂

sending HUGS to all of you 🙂

Over the time I have been blogging I have received emails & comments about my calorie intake, or sometimes rather lacking in calorie intake. At first I was kind of like ‘eh, whatever, I’m fine’ but then I really got to thinking. I did change some things in my diet & discovered the AWESOME-NESS of protein powder & the fact that it is NOT just for guys! I started adding that in my GREEN MONSTERS, baking it into different things, and just loving how quickly I could get protein with out having to eat a lot.

I also discovered many other things from reading other blogs- like quinoa, spaghetti squash, roasted veggies (NO, in fact you don’t just have to cook vegetables on the stove or in the microwave 🙂 ), yogurt messes (you’ve created a MONSTER in me out of this one), adding so many things to oatmeal, ‘banana ice cream’ (just a frozen banana thrown into a food processor for a bit to make it all fluffy- tastes just like ice cream), PB2, eggplant,  (and how many things you can do with it!), & a lot more things to do with food.

Besides the things I’ve learned about food & how you can really be SO creative when cooking healthy, I’ve also learned a lot about body image, weight, the benefit of strength training, HIIT, etc.

Honestly I can TOTALLY admit that I still struggle with body image & weight EVERYDAY. I also know that many of you do too. I love that I have a place that I can go to vent my feelings & that I have other people that really do understand how I feel.

Have I told you how much I LOVE YOU GUYS!! 😀

Now I just want to bring up something that I have been thinking about a lot. WEIGHT & the NUMBER ON THE SCALE. This morning I woke up & did my usual- headed straight to the scale to get my weight. I know it’s a bad habit, but I can’t see myself breaking it anytime soon, honestly. But you know what hit me as I’m standing there looking @ all of my ‘fat’ spots on my body after weighing myself (I know, another AWFUL, disgusting habit), I told myself that today I was NOT GOING TO BE A NUMBER ON A SCALE!!!!!!!!!!

There is NO ONE in this world that walks up to me & says, “Hi Holly, How much is your weight today? That will determine your mood & attitude for the entire day.” SO WHY do I do it to myself on a daily basis??!? I really have NO answer for you, but I can tell you that I KNOW it’s an issue…&  I know that it might not ever be completely fixed…but I know that I can make it a bit better.

I also read this about weight loss goals & weight loss obsession:

  • There are no guarantees you’ll reach them. Because your body is in charge of where the fat comes off, you might be disappointed if you don’t lose fat from those problem areas as quickly as you’d like. That my lead to frustration and, of course, giving up.
  • They don’t change who you are. Changing how you look can certainly make you feel better about yourself, but you’re still the same person no matter what the outside looks like. Too often we think external changes can help us deal with emotional or psychological issues but are disappointed if the same problems still exist, even after we’ve lost the weight.
  • They require perfection. Weight loss goals aren’t very forgiving. To lose one pound in a week, you have to consistently burn an extra 500 calories every single day. What if you have to miss a workout or eat a little too much at a party? Just one slip can set you back.
  • They lose importance over time. We may get motivated to lose weight when our clothes feel tight or we feel guilty about overeating but that motivation will usually fade when those feelings of guilt or frustration go away.
  • They aren’t always functional. Looking great in a bathing suit is something we all want, but how often most of us wear bathing suits? Working for something that only happens once or twice a year doesn’t always translate to daily life.
  • And this about scales:

    Focus on Fat Loss, Not Weight Loss

    When you talk about losing weight, what you usually mean is slimming down. But slimming down doesn’t always mean losing weight. It may sound odd, but it’s possible to get thinner without actually seeing a change in your weight. This happens when you lose body fat while gaining muscle. Your weight may stay the same, even as you lose inches, a sign that you’re moving in the right direction. But, if the scale doesn’t change, you may not even be aware that you’re getting real results. Knowing the difference between losing weight and losing body fat can change how you get results and may even change how you look at your own body.

    Ways the scale can work against you:

    • It measures everything: The number on the scale includes everything – muscles, fat, bones, organs, fat, food and water. For that reason, your scale weight can be a deceptive number. It can fluxate up to TEN, yes 10 pounds!!
    • It doesn’t reflect the changes happening in your body: If you’re doing cardio and strength training, you may build lean muscle tissue at the same time you’re losing fat. In that case, the scale may not change even though you’re getting leaner and slimmer.
    • It doesn’t reflect your health: As mentioned above, the scale can’t tell the difference between fat and muscle. That means a person can have a low body weight, but still have unhealthy levels of body fat.
    • It isn’t always a positive motivator: If you step on the scale and you’re unhappy with what you see, how does that make you feel? You may question everything you’re doing, wondering why you even bother at all. Focusing on weight may overshadow the positive results you’re getting such as fat loss, more endurance and higher energy levels.

    Another thing that I have realized is that I really do think I need to increase my calories. Katie is really my inspiration for this. I always see all of her delicious eats & think ‘wow, she looks AWESOME- fit & toned.’ And I also see her eating a lot more than me (don’t take this the wrong way PLEASE Katie!), & then I think, well, maybe I should too. I also emailed her & asked her some questions about her workout plan, & other various questions. SHE’S SO SWEET!!!! She wrote me back & it just made me think EVEN more about the need for me to add stuff to my diet.

    THIS IS A REALLY HARD THING TO DO. Most people thinking adding more calories INSTANTLY = weight gain. But my body will probably do the opposite. My metabolism will probably be like a wild & crazy beast. That’s GREAT with me, but I have to keep reminding myself of this. Everytime I think ‘eh, I don’t really need to eat this, or I should cut that out..’

    And with doing double workouts, I know that means that these added calories will really benefit my body so much. Yes, I do plan to still do double workouts here & there..and maybe every day sometimes. I really don’t think it’s bad. And I like the way I feel after them. BUT I need to tell myself that ESPECIALLY on these days I need to get those extra calories in FOR SURE. NO if’s, and’s, or but’s.

    I feel like I might feel completely stuffed all of them time- especially after lunch since I’m so used to eating yogurt messes. But I think my body will eventually balance it all out.

    Have you gone thru a similar experience? Have you seen benefits to adding INSTEAD of subtracting calories from your diet?

    I’m curious to hear everyone’s thoughts & opinions on this post.

    Once again, thanks to everyone for all of the thoughts & support 😀

    Leave a comment

    9 Comments

    1. I’m so glad you are deciding to feed yourself more. And your body will adjust to extra calories.

      Heck, I dont work out everyday and never work out twice a day and eat sweets everyday and havent gained a lb in over 6 months. It can be done.

      Reply
    2. Blogs really are the best aren’t they (and I mean both writers and readers). I too have learned soooo much. I have been inspired by so many lately. You really need to go check out Candice @Chia Seed Me. She had a fantastic post today that you might really enjoy reading.

      I hate scales so much b/c they really aren’t an indicator of either health or happiness.

      Reply
    3. Scales have always been an enemy of mine. Everyone tells me I am not overweight, but according to my BMI I am borderline. Everytime I go to the doc they look at my weight, look at me, then say “Well according to this your overweight, but you dont look overweight at all!” SCREW THE SCALE I SAY!! Being healthy is what matters most. I have tried and tried to make the scale budge, and all it does is bring me down. No more. If I feel good, and am happy with myself, thats all I need!!

      Reply
    4. Hey honey…I can honestly say that I am so proud of you for realizing this on your own. I have always been a little worried about your lack of calories and massive workouts but I think that you recognizing it on your own is the only way to make lasting and real changes. Body image sucks and I totally believe that it affects 90% of women. Myself included. But what gets me through is my husband and my family. Everyone needs a support system. I used to be VERY strict with my diet and while I still do eat really well I have relaxed and realized that sometimes life is a lot more fun with less rules. Love you!

      Reply
    5. This is such the right thing for you to do!!! And I’m starting something on my blog in September (look for an announcement next week) that I want to reach out and help us all learn to love ourselves more. I really hope you will participate because I think it could help with the mindset challenges you are currently facing. You are so beautiful, caring, generous, and fun that I want you to have the most joy possible. 🙂

      Reply
    6. I have to totally agree with you, additional calories do not mean instant weight gain. I used to work out daily until I started my new job which requires me to work crazy hours and I have had to reduce the amount of workouts I get, but I have maintained my eating and I have not gained weight and for me that is an AMAZING thing because it shows that my body KNOWS what to do with the food and I am evening staying of the scales most days of the week and only weighing in on a specific day!! 🙂
      I hope that you find that the new eating regimen works for you and that you feel more energized!! 🙂

      Reply
    7. Holly, what a great post. You expressed yourself so well and looked at the other side of the coin too. It’s one thing to be able to intelligently understand the need to stop defining ourselves by our weight, but it’s much harder in practice. I, too, weigh myself daily and as long as I’m less than I weighed the day before I’m happy. I’m working on not putting so much emphasis on it.

      And you’re right, the blog world is pretty dang amazing!

      Reply
    8. Holly boo I can definitely relate to this. I went to a nutritionist last summer and she said the reason I wasn’t able to lose weight was because I wasn’t eating enough calories during the week and it was messing up my metabolism, and then I would splurge on teh weekend. And I also had a fat phobia where I would be fat free everything. I’ve started to buy things with fat in them and look for healthy ways to add more calories. But I’m glad you’re willing to write about these things, your courage is very inspiring 🙂

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

