Thankful

Hello 😀 Long time no see…well, write.

I’m SO sorry that I have not been posting like normal, life has just been crazy lately..but in such a good way. I really am so blessed. And it just goes to show that things REALLY can turn up…whatever goes down, MUST come up… you just have to be patient sometimes. I was pretty down in the dumps (so to speak) with some things these past couple of months, but things have just turned out the way they are supposed to & they are still changing. I feel like a chameleon 😉 I’ll re-cap some of the best things that are happening now/ will happen soon:
– new job!!!
-new car, well, SUV that I just love & am STILL so happy I made the decision I did
-FINALLY broke down & told someone in my life that I really did not want them in my life right now- SO hard for me to do, but SUCH a relief off of my shoulders. This was something so hard for me to do- I just like to see everyone happy & I knew I was going to hurt them, but honestly, they have hurt me SOOOOO much in the past that it was what I needed to do
-Had a great trip to the beach in Wild wood 😀
-Have connected with SOOOO many amazing people in the blog land- LOVE you all so much.
-NEW position @ work!
-Passed the FL insurance test- it was a beast.
-Craig & I will be celebrating 2 YEARS next month!! 😀 Ahh, cheese fest, I know 😉
-Have been able to see my parents a lot the last couple of months, I love them so much..and just talking with them makes me happy
-Craig’s 30th birthday party THIS weekend- going to Maryland again 😀

Anyways, as you can see, it’s been a pretty AWESOME couple of months. Of course there have been ups & downs, but I’m so thankful for everything…really. And I can always look back @ this post on bad days to remind myself 🙂

What’s something you are especially thankful for right now?

The reason for that whole thing was to also APOLOGIZE for not being on top of my posts & blog lately…so please forgive me!

I also got a new phone yesterday- the Blackberry Bold- so I have been trying to figure that thing out too.

It’s my first Blackberry, so I have no idea how to use it. I had to get the guy at Verizon to give me a little tutorial last night. He was laughing @ me because I kept hitting the wrong buttons…like I’d hit ‘decline’ instead of ‘accept’- but it really does take some time to get used to.

I really haven’t had any interesting eats either- I’m sure you guys can guess what my meals have consisted of these last two days- yogurt messes, salads, protein shakes after my workouts (YES- I’m still keeping up with them 🙂 ), some shrimp + rice for dinner & Lavash bread- LOVE that stuff 😀 AND of course, let me not forget, PEANUT BUTTER!!!

I actually had someone @ work ask me what kind of peanut butter I use & if I’ve tried the ‘healthier’ varieties- I said yes, but HONESTLY & truthfully I really do prefer JIF peanut butter- the old fashioned, kind you ate growing up 🙂 No natural, no reduced fat, no less sugar- just the regular 😀 I LOVE it- can’t get enough. Of course any nut butter is not bad, but I really do just LOVE JIF!

What’s your favorite kind of nut butter?

Anyways, my workouts….well, Monday was an all upper body day- used all the different muscle groups. Normally I don’t do full upper body- I usually split it up..but I figured I’d switch things up a bit 😉 I don’t want to bore you with writing out my workouts..like I said in an earlier post, so I’ll just sum it up. Today was pure legs day- which is also PURE love to me 😀 Legs days are definitely top in my book- that & biceps/ triceps day.

Here’s an interesting article I found on the Best Morning Exercise Routines: 

The Best Morning Exercise Routines

Most people are a little groggy, slow or stiff when they wake up in the morning. If you use the beginning of your day to exercise, stretch your muscles and get your heart rate going, it can give you an immediate burst of energy and help keep you in a good mood all day long. Choose a routine that appeals to you and combines several different exercises, and switch it often for variety’s sake.

Take a Walk

Walking is a natural, ancient form of exercise that is beneficial for many reasons. It’s low impact, so it carries a very low risk of injury, and it naturally incorporates stretching and cardio with strong muscle movements. According to the Cleveland Clinic, basing your morning exercise routine on walking can also boost your immunity, since walking stimulates the production of T cells and antibodies. Additionally, walking can be done anywhere and in almost any conditions.

For a very well balanced morning exercise routine, strap a couple of light hand weights or leg weights on and walk around your neighborhood at a brisk pace for at least 20 to 30 minutes each day.

//

Start your day off with basic flexibility and balance training by doing a few minutes of yoga. According to the healthy living resource HelpGuide.org, yoga is very effective at relieving stress and improving relaxation as well as toning muscles and building strength. Since muscles are sometimes stiff and sore in the morning, using a gentle series of yoga poses is a good way to warm them up and prepare the body for aerobic exercise or more vigorous activity.

If you don’t have a yoga background, try attending some morning classes at a studio so that a teacher can observe your technique and make sure you’re not at risk of injuring yourself. After you become familiar with the moves, practice at home with a yoga DVD or self-guided workout.

Strength Intervals

Strength training is one of the most beneficial parts of a complete exercise routine, yet it’s often neglected. According to the Harvard School of Public Health, metabolically active muscle burns far more calories than fat tissue, so building and maintaining muscle mass can help make the body leaner and prevent weight gain.

The Mayo Clinic suggests starting a morning routine with basic, at-home strength exercises such as lifting light dumbbells, stretching with a resistance band or using poses that support and hold your own body weight. To get cardiovascular benefits from a strength-based routine, add one five-minute interval of aerobic activity for every five to 10 minutes of strength training you do.

I can’t say that I think you should keep it at a light weight, I definitely think adding heavy weight to your morning workout- if you are doing strength training is a great thing 😀

Well, I’m off to work work work! This new position keeps me busy, which I love- makes the day flyyyy by!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I am a big fan of the simplicity of Jif and I like how much more filling it seems than its healthier counterparts…weird to say, but it’s true for me!

    Reply
  2. So glad you things are on the up and up! I like natural peanut butters (no added sugars, salts, oils). Good luck with the Blackberry 😉

    Reply
  3. Taking a walk in the morning is amazing. I have a 20 minute walk to work and I loooove it. It’s one of my favorite parts of my day. I am thinking about doing some strength in the morning as well. Morning workouts are my fave, they make you feel good for the rest of the day.

    Reply
  4. I’m with you all the way on regular JIF! It’s my favorite!!!

    I’m so happy that things in your life are going well!!!!! Pug Hugs!!!

    Reply
  5. I totally understand the feeling of being dragged down for a long time… finally, I am starting to see the light as well. Congrats on everything coming together 🙂

    Reply
  6. Congrats on the new car and new position at work! Sounds like life is grand!

    Reply
  7. erinsloves

     /  August 11, 2010

    Yay for you and all of your accomplishments!
    And beware, you will become obsessed with your blackberry! I’m on my 4th one, and it’s a total problem (:
    I’ve got the Bold too, it’s the best!

    Old school Jiff and Peter Pan are definitely the best PBs, and I have no shame in saying that- I wish that I liked the “Healthier, All- Natural” PBs better, but they just don’t compare!

    Reply
  8. Congrats on all you’ve accomplished!

    You know, I keep “natural” PB in the house, but I too love love love Jif PB. It tastes so good. But thats why I can’t keep it in the house — I eat it by the spoonful and can easily eat an entire jar!

    Reply
  9. Well…I’m still new – so I didn’t know about your hiatus 😉

    Sounds like you’ve learned a lot. Great list for sure! Me? I’m just thankful for the sun today.

    Reply
  10. i am a blackberry guru so if you have any questions, let me know! i have the bold, too. i LOVE blackberry. i’m on my 2nd one..i hope you love yours 🙂

    Reply
  11. Congrats on having everything come together in your life right now. But I am also sorry that you had to take someone out of your life, but at least you had the strength to do so. Also, what kind of SUV did you get?? I am looking for a new vehicle, but I am unsure of which brand is the best!! :/

    Reply
  1. LAST Full Week!! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

