Protein Before Bed?

Well, the weekend has come to an end…but I’m channeling my inner Kelly & reminding myself that Monday’s are GREAT & they are a new start πŸ™‚ And I was just planning my workout for tomorrow morning & I think it’s going to be just whatΒ I need for a good Monday morning workout. I think I’m going to do a full body kind of work out. We shall see πŸ˜‰

Today I have been kind of sluggish today. I really don’t know why, but I felt as though I could just lay in bed & sleep alllll day long. But, I figured I should get up & do something physical- usually gives me the energy that I need. So we headed off to the gym & I did an interval 4.5 mile run. It felt good to get miles in & once I started running I felt GREAT, all of those sluggish feelings left. I figured I would give my body a break for doing weights today & just do cardio- worked perfectly πŸ˜€ Although, I DO have a confession: I did NOT take a day off this week. Honestly it’s just because I make it a habit to hit the gym Monday- Friday early in the morning & then on the weekends, it’s just part of the routine that Craig & I have- to hit the gym. But my body feels good- not like I NEED rest. I can tell when that happens. I also know that I will definitely be taking a day off next week- Saturday- to go dress shopping with my Mom πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Today after the gym I decided to surprise Craig with an early Anniversary present. Our anniversary is September 6th..but he’s REALLY been wanting a Shop Vac.

Every since we installed hard wood floors in our downstairs, he has wanted one. NOT that he is the one that cleans though πŸ˜€ I do, but he just always said how much nicer it is having one. (We borrowed one while installing the floors)

After the gym I told him that I was going to run & vacuum out my carΒ @ a near by gas station…well, I DID vacuum my car, but I also ran to the Lowe’s that was close & picked up a Shop Vac for Craig. I got home & walked in the door & told him to close his eyes, but he had already spotted it. He didn’t seem too excited at first…I mean, it IS a vacuum- haha- but then we put it together & he was a CLEANING MACHINE πŸ˜€ He said he really liked it & kept thanking me for getting it, so I was happy about that πŸ™‚ I think it was a good surprise.

After that I just did some wedding stuff- getting different ideas & then I made dinner. Tonight’s dinner was chicken burgers- I combined 1 lb. ground chicken with about 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, 2 tbsp. hot sauce, 1 tsp. garlic salt & a tad of pepper. Then I shaped them into 4 patties & baked them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Along side we had mixed veggies & sweet potato fries.

chicken burgers- cheese for Craig

my plate + some more sweet potato fries πŸ˜‰

close up of ma' burrrgerr

These burgers were SUPER easy…but so tasty! If you’re looking for something quick, I suggest these πŸ™‚

Currently we are watching more pre-season football & I’m having a protein shake before bed. I’ve heard that’s good to do- having one before bed. Have you heard that? I’m looking to get some more protein powder soon- this one is coming to an end. Can’t wait πŸ˜€ What’s your favorite kind/ brand/ flavor?

See ya tomorrow!

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. i have heard that too about the protein before bed. something about it breaking down slowly…and that your body doesn’t have to work too hard so it doesn’t disrupt your sleep, but it keeps your metabolism up..not sure!

    Reply
  2. I actually did read something fairly recently about protein before bed. I’ve not made any great efforts to consciously try it though. I like Jay Robb actually. Kind of pricey, but tasty.

    Reply
  3. I am a HUGE fan of Scivation whey powder. It’s super thick, and tastes fantastic in oatmeal. Like…seriously.

    Highly recommended from this whey protein fanatic! πŸ˜‰

    P.S. Pretty much anything is good to eat before bed. Don’t be tricked into believing that carbs before bed are bad either! I’ll typically have a protein shake with cottage cheese and fruit, sometimes even oatmeal. πŸ™‚

    Also, your body doesn’t go catabolic overnight. There’s no real science to back up eating before bed, it’s more of a bodybuilding assumption BUT…I hate going to bed hungry, so I eat.

    Reply
  4. Hey girl!!! I always eat protein before bed- bc my trainer told me that is when muscle growth occurs so it needs some fuel!! I eat carbs too.. haha πŸ™‚ I feel like it helps break down the protein and therefore i sleep better!! Anyway, I think the rule about not eating anything b4 bed needs to be broken!!! its lame and its UNTRUE!!!
    Hope you are enjoying your newly engaged life!!

    Reply
  5. I’ve never heard about the protein before bed idea, I’ll have to look into that!

    My dad would love Craig — my dad loves his ShopVac so much I can hardly believe it. For a while he owned 3! A small one, medium one and a large one. Good grief — my poor mom. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. You guys are dorks with your shopvac. Haha

    In response to your comment, I wish I had Kim Kardash’s bootay as well!

    Reply
  7. Jay Robb is good!

    Reply
  8. All the Whey is my favorite protein powder when blended with almond milk. And rest is always important even when you don’t think you need it.

    Reply
  9. As dorky as it sounds, we love our shop vac! They are pretty amazing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

