Big Ol’ Flakes!

Hey Hey πŸ˜€

I’ve been loving everyone’s feedback on the protein situation. I really do feel better when I take a protein shake after my morning workout. On top of that, it gets my metabolism going. Remember on the other day when I said I really wasn’t hungry ALL day? Well, guess what I DIDN’T have in the morning- a protein shake. I think that might be one of the culprits. Although, honestly my Crohn’s disease has been acting up- blah! But I enrolled in insurance- WOOP WOOP! I get full benefits September 1st- PARTY day in myΒ  life πŸ˜€ I really feel bad for people that don’t have insurance, or rather that are considered UNinsurable. You see, I tried to get my own insurance on my own- like not being in group insurance,Β  but I am considered ‘uninsurable’ because I have Crohn’s disease. People with Crohn’s are not eligible for health insurance not matter what. I could of told them that I would pay them a million bucks a month so that I could have insurance, but I would STILL not be able to get it due to the uninsurable status. It’s just so sad. I mean I don’t agree with the idea of universal healthcare, like what Obama just passed, but I do think that there needs to be a health insurance reform. Ok, enough about that & I’m totally NOT getting into politics on here πŸ™‚

When I woke up this morning my WHOLE body was sore- I’m feelin’ those heavier weights πŸ˜€ So this morning I figured I would do PURE cardio- no weights what so ever today. Here’s my workout:
10 minutes running (start at 6.0 then go up .3 every minute), walk 2 minutes @ 3.5
10 minutes incline walking- 15 incline, 3.5 speed (got my heart rate up! I’m really enjoying incline walking now)
10 minutes stationary bike- with 5 resistance
10 minutes elliptical with 20 crossramp
5 minutes stair stepper

See, pure cardio I tell ya πŸ˜€

I haven’t posted any calorie information this week, but my workouts have been REALLY awesome! I mean, not just calorie- wise (they all have been about 400 calories burned) but also in terms of lifting more, and just feeling the burn more while working out.

This morning’s breakfast included a protein shake right when I got home from working out and then when I got to work I made egg whites & a FlatOut wrap with grape jelly. What’s your favorite jelly? I’ve ALWAYS been a grape jelly kind of girl, but I do like strawberry if there are big chunks of strawberry in it. I also like Orange marmalade, but I know a lot of people don’t like it.

My lunch today was the usual- yogurt mess, BUT with different yogurt:

STRAWBERRY BANANA Chobani πŸ˜€

WHOA- have you seen this yet???? This stuff is SO tasty. I saw it on Julie’s blog a little while ago & thought I HAVE to find that! Well, I couldn’t find it in the Publix near my house, but I found it in the Publix by my work. That Publix always has a better selection of new stuff- that’s why I typically go grocery shopping on my lunch break πŸ™‚ Thank goodness we have a full fridge and freezer to store all my goodies in πŸ™‚

For my yogurt mess I used Fiber One original cereal & Special K blueberry. Have you tried the blueberry Special K? The flakes in there are HUGE! Seriously, it was like I was JUST eating the flakes. Thank goodness they are yummy πŸ˜€

yogurt mess with strawberries & blueberries

I know you can't really tell by this picture, but they are REALLY big!!

And for my afternoon snack I had a nice big Fuji apple- my favorite! (no picture, but you know what they look like- gotta use the imagination πŸ™‚ )

Tonight’s dinner is brought to you by a wonderful recipe that I found on Lindsay’s blog- Corn & Black Bean Pizza. I had it on my ‘to make’ pile for a while, so tonight was FINALLY the night to try this baby out πŸ˜€

ingredients needed

black beans, corn & tomato slices

the whole thing assembled- I added mushrooms to my side & pepperoni to Craig's side

up close & personalbaked & ready to eat

served it with a side salad for the two of us- nothing fancy, just some extra veggies πŸ™‚

So I have figured out that I amΒ not a goat cheese fan. I know so many people love it, but I really just cannot get past the flavor. But I did love the mix of flavors in this pizza! It was delicious & OH so filling! I could only eat like 2 pieces- I was so full.

Now I am currently watching as Craig paces around the house like a dog that needs to go potty- he has his fantasy football draft tonight…and if you don’t konw by now how MUCH football means to him- let me just remind you of where I got engaged- the Raven’s Field πŸ˜€ No, really, it means a lot to me, but I definitely don’t get involved in fantasy as much as him. He studies for months before this draft- he has 3 leagues & they are all money leagues. I mean, not to jinx him or anything, but he does REALLY good in them…he calls it his ‘second job’- lol!
I have a league too, but not for money, just for my own entertainment. My draft is tomorrow night at 6pm.
I’m SOOOOOOOOOO excited for Saturday- I CANNOT wait- Wedding Dress shopping! ahhhhh πŸ˜€
Well, I’m off- so sleepy- and it’s only 9pm..but I’m beat!
Catch ya later alligators! πŸ™‚
Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m glad you’ll have insurance – that is sad that so many people have to go without. And dangerous/scary. 😦

    I love grape jelly too! But I also love raspberry and strawberry. Any jam (not jelly) is good in my book. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I think you have to listen to your own body first and foremost. Period. Everyone is different. I try to get most of my protein from natural sources (that’s smart) but sometimes you just can’t get it all in that way (more so being a vegetarian). You might try to mentally add up the protein you’re getting if you think you might be overdoing it or to get a general idea of your range. I feel so much better getting protein in throughout the day. I make sure that even my snacks have protein. But, not everyone works out like I do either. I’ve done a lot of research too trying to find out recommendations and such. You know how it is, one day this is good and then next day it’s bad. But…I digress πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. I’m so bummed that we don’t have nearly as many Chobani flavors as the rest of the world! I want to try the pineapply like you wouldn’t believe, but it’s not anywehere! Grrr!

    Mexi pizza looks pretty darn faboosh!

    Reply
  4. Sorry to hear your Crohns is acting up — but hurray for insurance! I’m glad you got that squared away.

    I am totally a grape jelly kind of girl — but I also love strawberry too. I’ve never tried it on egg whites — that sounds so odd!

    The pizza looks great!

    Reply
  5. Insurance on my birthday! Yay!

    I’m totally a strawberry/blueberry jam girl…or marmalade! OMG!

    I wish Greek yogurt wasn’t so expensive. 😦

    Reply
  6. Pineapple Chobani is my fave! I remember how long it took to get it at the Publix by my house. It felt like forever. Wedding dress shopping on Saturday! Woot Woot!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

