I Found THE Dress!!

Happy Monday!

Sorry I was MIA this weekend- I went home to look at wedding dresses and to talk to my parents about the budget for the wedding.

FIRST THINGS FIRST: I FOUND THE DRESS!!! I REALLY wish I could put a picture on here, but I can’t, just in case Craig EVER sees this blog, not that he actually checks it or reads it, but the one time he might choose to, then he might see it…which would make me sad 😦 I can show you some of the ones that I did NOT pick though.

(ignore ugly face- haha)Reject #1- totally NOT me @ all. I just liked the one shoulder idea...or so I thought πŸ™‚

2nd favorite. (but the sash is not the right color, would of been royal purple)

Once I tried THE dress on, I looked in the mirror & started crying. That was it, I knew at that moment that it was the one It was only like the 2nd or 3rd dress that I tried on, but I didn’t even want to look at anymore. It was EXACTLY what I had dreamed of! My Mom was trying to convince me to try a few more on, just to make sure I was 100% of the one I picked, but I was like “Nope, I’m done!” She was like “are you sure???” I just smiled a big smile & said “ABSOLUTELY!” And, WHOA, my veil…ahhhh I LOVE that too. I wish I could tell you about that as well…uhhhh- hold out til May if you can…pleaseΒ πŸ˜‰

Now, let’s REWIND to Friday, eats were the same as usual. My workout was a fantastic biceps/ triceps kind of workout. Dinner was a glass of wine & a 1/2 of a turkey Publix sub.It was our ‘date night’ on Friday- but we are trying to save money for the wedding, so we are not going out to eat every Friday like we used to- maybe just once a month or something. So, we had an ‘at home’ date night I LOVE those- seriously, the BEST! No driving around, no dealing with long lines, etc. We ate our dinners- I got the 1/2 sub & Craig got wings from Publix- and we watched Date Night!

How perfect, right?! Saturday morning we got up at 5am so that I could take Craig to the airport for his flight out to Baltimore for his Granddad’s 90th birthday party. 5am came WAY too quick & I didn’t sleep very well because I was so excited about dress shopping- lol After I dropped him off, I was STARVING. Thank goodness there was a Starbucks near by. I figured I would try the whole wheat English muffin with egg whites & turkey bacon. I was SUPER impressed!!

english muffin

close up

This was REALLY good! Two HUGE thumbs up to Starbucks!! I was SUPER impressed. I would definitely get it again if I’m in need of a quick breakfast, or in case of an event like this.

I also got an iced Grande coffee to go as well.

mmmmΒ PERFECT breakfast in my mind πŸ˜€ After this, I hit the highway to head to Jax. Ok, so I TOTALLY jinxed myself. I told Craig “Oh, driving up to Jacksonville at 6am should be great-Β I won’t hit ANY traffic.” Well, I was wrong 😦 Once I got to I-4 I went about 10 miles & then it was like a PARKING LOT! Uggghh! It was awful, we just sat there for like 20 minutes not moving. Ok, but that wasn’t even the WORST part-Β while I’m sitting there-Β I have this sudden absolute DIRE need to go to the bathroom. Yes, seriously, it happened. I had to JUMP out of my car & run into the TREES ON I-4 to go to the bathroom. Oh my goodness- what an experience. Sorry to be gross, but I had to share- thought you all might get a good laugh out of that…even if it is at my expense πŸ˜‰

I finally got to Jax around 9am- not too bad really-and I got to talking to my parents. Of course the first thing they wanted was to see my ring πŸ˜€ I happily showed them! Not sure if I put a picture of the ring on here yet- I don’t think I did. So, here ya go:


The first picture is almost too close up- kind of fuzzy, but I was told by one of my best friends- Cori, that the second picture doesn’t do the ring justice. She said it looks much bigger in person- haha πŸ™‚ She’s so funny! I wish you could see the details of the band too- that’s my favorite part- it’s SO intricate & I’ve NEVER seen anything like it. The main stone is a RADIANT cut, not Princess, and the side of the ring rotates from emerald cut to princess cut all along it. I absolutely adore this ring πŸ™‚

After I showed them the ring, we chatted for a bit about the wedding- ahhh, how I love wedding planning. Our appointment for dress shopping was at 1:30pm, so we were off to look at dresses shortly after that. And you already know the outcome of that πŸ˜‰

My Mom & I were at the appointment for about 4 hours- trying on dresses for me, but also finalizing my bridesmaids dresses- which I did pick the one I wanted- it was my favorite from the start:
Bridesmaid dresses- but in the ‘regency’ color, not the one shown

I love it- and all of the girls will look FANTASTIC in it πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see all of them in it- I told them they had to send me pictures when they tried it on. And, that they had to give me honest opinions of it, but they seem to all like it from the picture.

After my Mom & I finished up shopping- I had to grab some more iced coffee before I fell over from sleep exhaustion- we called my Dad to see what he wanted to do for dinner since we were both SUPER hungry! (of course I forgot to grab a granola bar before we left..uhh..I almost always have extra food on me)

He decided to try a new place close to our house called Happy Ours- it kind of reminded me of an Ale House- a sports bar kind of place. It started of on a good note for me because I saw this:

not sure if you can see it, but it's a RAVEN flag πŸ˜€

You typically don’t seeΒ  much Ravens stuff in Florida, so of course I had to go & take a picture..and send it to Craig πŸ™‚

Let me tell you how my opinion of this place QUICKLY went downhill. I saw a shrimp salad on the menu & I asked the waitress if the shrimp was grilled or fried-she said grilled, so that’s what I ordered. Well, when the salad came out it was pretty much a side salad topped with CANNED shrimp- EW! Not only were the shrimp itty bitty, they were also NOT cooked!!

they looked like

I was pretty grossed out! She offered to go back there & have them grill it, but I just said it was ok & that I would just prefer a chicken caesar salad with the dressing on the side. Well, when she came back she brought me some kind of turkey wrap?! Random, right? I didn’t say anything- I just ate like 2 bites & gave up on the dinner idea- lol!

Another funny thing was that my Dad ordered fish tacos & he said he thought the fish was rotten because it smelled so bad, but ALSO they had cabbage on them instead of lettuce. SO weird!!

It was a total let down- I would NEVER recommend this place! At least we all got a ton of really good laughs out of it & my Dad reminded himself why he always goes to the same restaurants πŸ˜€ Too funny!

We headed home & I was literally falling asleep in the car- so I went straight to bed when we got home- I was exhausted!

Sunday morning I woke up & had a banana & peanut butter sandwich for breakfast & then got to chatting about the wedding budget.

We got more into details & then started going over the list. The dreaded list. No, no, ok, it’s not dreaded at all- it just sucks when you have too many people & then you have to figure out who you have to ‘cut out.’ Our list just kept growing & growing, but the funds are unlimited…and we are trying to stay on budget. Right now we have about 170 people- which is probably the max that we can go. My Mom made me an awesome spreadsheet of everyone’s names, addresses, a checklist of Save the Dates, invitation checklists, gift checklists, etc. etc. She really put a lot of work into it, which I am VERY thankful of- much easier than doing it with pen & paper.

I had to leave Jacksonville around 3pm to get Craig from the airport at 5pm. It was literally PERFECT timing when I got there. Thankfully I didn’t hit any traffic or bad weather. I got to have a LONG talk with my best friend & Maid of Honor about all of the details on my drive home! She’s really excitedΒ too πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see her & have her try on the bridesmaid dress as well πŸ™‚ She should be coming up in a few weeks.

Once I picked him up we were both starving- neither of us had eaten lunch- so we headed straight home to raid the fridge. Craig had his leftover wings from Friday night & I had some Carba Nada noodles with some pasta sauce.

We ate dinner at like 5:30pm, so a few hours later Craig asked me if I wanted to get some frozen yogurt from our favorite place since we hadn’t been there in a while. OF COURSE I agreed- I got the NEW flavor- SNICKERDOODLE! HOLY yum- it was SOOOO good. Nice and cinnamon-y. Totally thought of you Jenna!!!!Β πŸ˜€ Can’t wait for ourΒ frozen yogurt date πŸ™‚Β 

OH MAN did I TOTALLY regret this decision later 😦 😦 😦 I got the WORST heartburn of my life last night. I normally never get heart burn. I’ve gotten it before, but it has been really rare. Well, last night I was planning to call it an early night since I hadn’t gotten much sleep the last few nights, but as soon as I laid down it was like KILLER pain & I mean KILLER! I was up for TWO hours dealing with it- crying because I was in so much pain. Thank goodness I have the BEST fiance on the planet- he stayed up the whole time with me- got me tons of Tums, Pepto Bismal & Pepcid AC.

WORST Sunday night

Despite not being able to get to bed until 11pm, I really wanted to get up this morning & workout. I love Monday morning workouts- they get me in the groove πŸ™‚
This was a cardio intense workout! I loved it! I was one SWEATY mess after this.

5 minute jog @ 6.5 for warm up
5 minutes of sprints- 9.0 for 30 seconds, 6.5 for 30 seconds.
60 walking lunges with 8lb. Each hand
1 minute plank hold
30 second right side plank hold
30 second left side plank hold
20 plie jumps
5 minutes of sprints- 9.0 for 30 seconds, 6.5 for 30 seconds.
15 (each leg) single legged deadlifts holding 8lb. Weights
20 squats with 8lb. Weights
25 Bosu ball crunches pulling 40lb. Behind head
Glute lifts on ball- 12 each leg
5 minutes of sprints- 9.0 for 30 seconds, 6.5 for 30 seconds.
12 Fire hydrants- each leg
12 fire hydrants with kick out- each leg
15 rockstar jumps
25 Bosu ball crunches
5 minute jog/ light run at 7.0
20 frog lifts on stability ball
15 stability ball hamstring curls
12 (each leg) Donkey kicks with 8lb. Weight
25 Bosu ball crunches
30 second ball against wall hold- in squat position
25 (each side) bicycle crunches
3 sets of 10 inner leg machine exercises (the REALLY awkward machine)

This was AWESOME- just what I needed for Monday. It took me about an hour & I burned 467 calories, according to my Garmin πŸ™‚

As soon as I got home I had my usual protein shake with Light Almond Milk. I’m still loving having these shakes after a hard workout. I also had egg whites & toast when I got to work.

For lunch I had summer rolls from Publix- I love these things!

I also had about a half of an apple later in the day.

Tonight’s dinner is from Christina @ Hungry Meets Healthy πŸ™‚ It is Christina Orzo Shrimp & Feta Bake. I suggest looking at her pictures- they are WAY prettier than mine πŸ™‚ But this got RAVE reviews, not only from myself, but from my other half- Craig! He went back for thirds!! I also made some roasted zucchini & squash on the side for me, probably because I’m obsessed with it πŸ˜€

veggies, pre roast, seasoned with garlic salt, crushed red pepper, onion powder & Italian spices

the tomatos cooking- I actually used canned tomatos for the recipes since I didn't have any fresh tomatos on hand

Shrimp- makes me think of the movie Forest Gump- of Bubba- with all of his different shrimp

Shrimp & Orzo bake ready to EAT!

my dinner πŸ™‚

Ok, that’s all I have for now guys πŸ™‚ This was SUPER long, so if you stuck with me the whole way- thank you πŸ˜€

Hope you have a good night! We made it past Monday & we don’t have a Monday next week- it’s Labor day weekend πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I think you look beautiful in BOTH dresses, so I cant wait to see (hopefully in person!!!) what the winner looks like.

    Reply
  2. Oh congrats on finding THE dress. That’s awesome. I can’t wait to see pictures!

    Reply
  3. Okay first off – I understand why this post took so long πŸ™‚ haha sorry to rush you. After seeing the other dresses I LOVE yours!!!! πŸ™‚ You look beautiful in it. I died laughing when you went into the woods to pee. I literally hold mine on the road until I almost burst…then I sprint out of my car at the rest stop. Hold the phone – YOU HAD SNICKERDOODLE (yes I was yelling when I wrote that because I was so jealous) ha not fair. Ahh I can’t wait until you come back to visit. I will not let you out of an ice cream date this time πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  4. so much to say!!
    -i want to see your dress!!! you need to email it to me or something!!
    -your ring is perfect!
    -LOVE the bridesmaid dresses.
    -canned shrimp sounds SCARY
    -holy smokes you made the recipe! isn’t it awesome!? thanks for the shout out too πŸ™‚ yours looks just as yummy as mine πŸ™‚ have a great week!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful ring πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I was the same as you, I knew I wanted a certain dress as soon as I tried it on and my Mom tried to get me to try on others, but there was no need!

    Reply
  6. Congrats on finding THE dress! I love feeling your elation through your post.

    And the ring is simply beautiful.

    Reply
  7. omgoodness holly. you are going to be such a stunning bride. πŸ™‚ your ring is to die for. And i laughed about how you asked for a salad and they brought you a turkey wrap… wtf.

    Reply
  8. after builders cleaning

     /  September 1, 2010

    Beautiful ring. Congrats for new dress

    Reply
  9. Hey lovely!! I am still reading YOUR AMAZING BLOG!! oh my gosh yay for finding the DRESS!! that is SOOO EXCITING!! ahh i got chills reading this. i bet you look like an angel!!!

    Reply
  10. Ahh I wish we could see you dress but totally understand why you didn’t put it on your blog obviously. You look gorgeous in both dresses so I can only imagine. I remember when I was helping my sister shop for her dress, the woman at the store said a lot of people start crying. That’s soo not my sister to do that so I wonder if it’s me? I hope it is because I’m super indecisive haha

    Reply
  11. Katie

     /  September 3, 2010

    Congratulations on finding a wedding dress!!!! That’s sooo exciting! Getting closer, yayy!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

