Workout Partner

Happy Wednesday! Today pretty much flewwww by, I was super busy all day. I’m still trying to get the hang of everything at work- but it’s coming along. Thankfully my boss is awesome & has helped me a LOT with all of this.

RECAP of yesterday:

Yesterday started off with a great upper body workout- I did everything from my chest, biceps, triceps and back to a bit of plyometrics too πŸ˜€ Nice overall workout- I have been doing more ‘overall’ kind of workouts lately- not just focusing on one group of muscles at a time. Just kind of switching things up- not doing it for any reason, I was just going thru my book of workouts and happened to spot this one.

When I got home from my workout I had my usual protein shake. Remember I told you about how Craig is not a fan of me taking protein…well, he still isn’t a fan. As much as I try to tell him that I’m NOT going to bulk up or any of that, he just thinks that I should not have one of these everyday. I really do like them though, & it’s quick & easy for me after I workout…otherwise I don’t have breakfast until like 3- 4 hours after a workout…which is not good.

When I got to work, I made myself some oatmeal (not instant) with cinnamon & protein powder. I really do like adding the protein powder to my oatmeal- gives it a good flavor. A little chocolate flavor never hurt anyone πŸ™‚

mmmm oatmeal πŸ˜€

I know you will all be FLOORED to know that I had my usual for lunch πŸ˜‰

before the 'mess' began

and AFTER

When I got home, I thought Craig might want to go to the gym- since I spot him when he does chest days- for the Flat Bench press- but, he was super tired, and I was TOTALLY fine with only going to the gym ONCE! I have learned a lot the last couple of months about nutrition & working out, etc. And one thing I know for a FACT is that I will NOT gain weight if I only workout once a day. (what was my crazy brain thinking?!) The scale has actually gone down NOT gone up. I guess sometimes I just need REAL proof in order to believe my self.

Anyways, for dinner I tried something new πŸ™‚ A recipe that I had been wanting to try for awhile, just never got a chance to- but it’s quite yummy-
Roasted Chicken & Vegetable Quinoa from Iowa Girl Eats. I CANNOT get enough of quinoa. Every since I tried it, it has been LOVE at first bite πŸ™‚

1 cup quinoa

up close & personal with quinoa πŸ˜‰

roasted broccoli and asparagus- YUM

roasted chicken

cooked quinoa- it looks SO cool, right?! I think it's awesome!!

all together now πŸ™‚

And that was dinner- DELICIOUS πŸ™‚ I think I might of added like a little sauce to it or something- just to kind of hold it all together, but this stuff is yummy! Full of all sorts of veggies & good ness πŸ™‚

Before going to bed I was feeling a bit of a sweet tooth. I’ve been trying to stay away from dairy of any sort- just because of my stomach issues. It seems like whenever I have dairy, especially near bed time, I always feel awful pain afterwards. Anyways, I happened to spot these in the corner of my eye:

CHOCOLATE chips!

I totally forgot that I had these! Immediately I had to text Jenna & tell her that I was FINALLY trying them because I know she said she wanted to know what I thought of them. I told her they were a must try πŸ˜€ They are from Food Should Taste Good. Now, I know what you’re thinking– those sound kind of disgusting. Well, when I saw these, I HAD to try them. I mean, really, how can you pass up chocolate chips?? Here’s the verdict: They are REALLY good, in a unique kind of way. When you first bite the chip you don’t taste chocolate flavor, but the after tasteΒ was oh so good!Β  My suggestion is that if you see them near you in the grocery store, then I think you should give them a try πŸ˜‰

On to today:

Let me introduce you to my new workout partner:

my stud muffin fiance- CRAIG!!

He ALWAYS thought I was a nut for going to the gym that early & he said he could never do that. I always said just give it a try for a week, you might actually really like it….and if need be you can just live off coffee that week πŸ˜‰ The whole time he was telling me that he did in fact like working out before work & that he felt like it woke him up. He’s like ‘Do you always feel this way??’ I replied with, ‘Yes, that’s why I love working out in the morning so much!’ I think he finally gets it πŸ˜€ So I think I might have a new partner to bring along to the gym with me πŸ™‚ He also said, “You know what H? This means that we will get even more time together.” AWWWWWW! (ok, we are cheese balls- I told ya before)

My workout this morning was leg INTENSE: (I’m feelin’ it in my legs as I type- especially my hamstrings)

Barbell Deadlifts & Walking Lunges
Barbell Deadlifts- 1 set, 10 reps @ 35lb.Β 
Walking Lunges- 10 each leg, with 10lb. Each hand
Barbell Deadlifts- 4 sets, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Walking Lunges- 10 each leg, with 10lb. Each hand
Barbell Deadlifts- 4 sets, 8 reps @ 55lb.Β 
Walking Lunges- 10 each leg, with 10lb. Each hand
Barbell Deadlifts- 4 sets, 8 reps @ 65 lb.Β 
Walking Lunges- 10 each leg, with 10lb. Each hand
Barbell Deadlifts- 4 sets, 10 reps @ 35lb.Β 
Jog on Treadmill for 5 minutes @ 6.5Β 
Bulgarian Split Squats- 3 sets of 10 reps EACH leg with 45lb. barbell
Jog on Treadmill for 4 minutes @ 6.5Β 
Calf Raise Machine
Normal stance- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Toes Facing Out- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Toes Facing In- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Normal stance- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Toes Facing Out- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Toes Facing In- 1 set, 8 reps @ 45lb.
Jog on Treadmill for 3 minutes @ 6.5
Sumo Squats- 4 sets, 8 reps holding 30lb. Dumbbell
Jog on Treadmill for 2 minutes @ 6.5Β 
Inner Thigh Machine exercises- 3 sets, 10 reps @ 40lb.Β 
Jog on Treadmill for 1 minute @ 6.5
Donkey Kicks with 8lb. Weight- 3 sets, 10 reps, EACH leg
Fire Hydrants- 2 sets, 10 reps, body weight
Ball Squats- 3 sets, 10 reps, body weight

Β Total time: 1 hour, Total cals burned: 400! Woop woop! πŸ˜€ It was gooooo-ddd!

When we got home from the gym I made a protein shake for the two of us. (mixed vanilla protein powder & chocolate protein powder)

I really loved my morning today! It was really nice spending it with my hunny bunny πŸ™‚

When I got to work I had breakfast around 10am:

egg white puff, sandwich thin with peanut butter & 1/2 a banana

Lunch was a yogurt mess, yes I know I’m boring πŸ˜‰

I haven’t had dinner yet, so I can’t share that with you- but I’m thinking it MIGHT be pierogies..? Not really sure. Craig is at softball- his game is at 6:30pm, so I’ll be thinking of what to make while he is there.Β I know we will both be pretty hungry by 8pm- so I gotta make something savory πŸ™‚

Hope you have a good night! It’s getting MUCH more closer to Labor Day weekend! WOOOOHOOO

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. very nice! glad you got him to workout with you!

    girl, I have cut my workouts back SO much and they arent anywhere near as intense and Ive lost a few! it works and its so much less stressful

    Reply
  2. Holly you are totally going to laugh. So I went to publix with my mom tonight and I was standing in the chip aisle saying “I need to find these chocolate chips…WHERE are they?” She was like “Jenna, chocolate chips are not in this aisle.” hahaha I was like no no legit potato chips that are chocolate. Anyways I had no luck at Publix but I will try whole foods this weekend πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • hahaha- that did make me laugh πŸ˜€ That’s hilarious!!
      If I was going to be in Jax this weekend I would totally bring you some!
      OH, and I meant to tell you that you should try Fresh Market- you know the one right before the St. Johns River bridge- they have those Food Should Taste Good chips…AND carba nanda noodles!!!

      Reply
      • Yes! Good idea, I go in there a lot. Oh and FYI – they are putting a new fro yo place in that shopping center. Ha I counting down the days to see if it is worth a visit from us when you come to Jax.

  3. Hey girlie – it’s nice to have a workout partner sometimes isn’t it? My hubs and I did a spin class together tonight. We may not say a single word (kind of hard to talk when you can barely breathe) but it’s nice being side-by-side. Isn’t it amazing how much lifting can change you over straight hard-core cardio? Nice workouts too!

    Reply
  4. great looking LBWO!

    Reply
  5. I’d go for the Chocolate Chips for sure!

    Reply
  6. I’ve totally converted my boyfriend into my workout partner, it’s amazing. We really push each other. He’s always been an athlete and gone to lift weights but I’ve gotten him into running and he may even run a half marathon with me this fall! I’m super excited.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

