Sore Muscles, Weight Gain?

I’ve been meaning to post about something for a while, but I just have either forgotten, or really haven’t had the time…so tonight’s the night πŸ˜€

You know how I have talked about my weight issues in the past…and how self esteem/ body image has always been a problemΒ for me…well, I wanted to talk about something I discovered.

Whenever I have a hard workout at the gym- like heavy weight lifting- and I am super sore the next day, you would THINK your weight would go down on the scale, but in fact mine has ALWAYS gone up. I was like WHAT THE HECK?!?! So one night I decided to do some research on the matter.

You know what I discovered?
Your muscles will take on water in the rebuilding process (about 36 hrs after tear-down) and the scales will momentarily bounce up.

If you have ever begun a new weight-training program, then found it difficult to walk down stairs for the following few days, you are familiar with the uncomfortable side effects of muscle strengthening. After weight training, a muscle swells, its strength is decreased, its range of motion is limited and it hurts. Studies are inconclusive as to whether muscle swelling is actually the cause of these other symptoms.

When a muscle lifts loads that it is unaccustomed to, the stress causes tiny tears in its fibers. These tears are a natural part of building stronger muscles because when the damage is repaired, the muscle fibers are rebuilt stronger than before. Almost immediately after exercise, white blood cells rush into the muscle to clear up the debris from the muscle damage, producing prostaglandins as a byproduct. Prostaglandins are a hormone-like substance that cause pain and swelling. Along with white blood cells, fluids carrying other nutrients and enzymes rush into the muscle to support the rebuilding process. The extra fluids packed into the muscle also contribute to swelling.

A muscle contraction has two parts: the concentric, or “positive” phase (i.e. the “up” phase of a biceps curl) and the eccentric, or “negative” phase (i.e. the “down” phase of a biceps curl). Multiple studies have demonstrated that eccentric contractions cause the most muscle damage, pain and swelling because the muscle must lengthen as it contracts. Although weight training usually causes muscle soreness, the cumulative stress of eccentric contractions in weight-bearing endurance activities, such as running a marathon, can also cause muscle damage and swelling.
(source)

I know this post is kind of random, but I thought someone else out there wondering the same thing – about weight gain after a hard workout- might find this helpful. So, DON’T Fear!! πŸ˜€ You ARE working hard, and that ‘extra gain’ that you think you may have is just your MUSCLES BUILDING πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Ok, one thing to leave you with- did anyone watch the new Jackie Warner show- Thintervention? I’m about to watch it now- I DVR’ed it last night πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I love that post!!!! Please come and visit me πŸ™‚ Um and HOLLY haha the whole time you were telling me “carvel cake” I was the dummy thinking (for some odd reason) you were going to make it. WOW.
    Back up – Pumpkin Waffles?? Sign me up!!!
    All inclusive (it reminds me of The Office) but I think that is the best idea for a honeymoon! That way you don’t stress about money πŸ™‚ Just enjoy the time you guys have together.
    Cabernet Sauvignon <- my fav wine ever. I order it ALL the time where ever I go πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a fabulous day at work today!!! BBM you later I'm sure πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hey girl – I guess I’ve never paid attention to weight after a hard lifting session. Kind of makes sense though. I love the “pumped” up muscle feeling πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. yup! your body holds water after you lift–usually a day or two after it will go back down though!

    Reply
  4. Holly this is so true! Back when I weighed myself 500 times a day I would always weigh more AFTER a workout and it frustrated me to no end.

    Yes I watched Thintervention on Monday, I blogged about it this morning too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I think everyone should stop worrying about their weight in the first place…who cares what you weigh, so long as you look good! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

