24 Hours of Eating

Happy Wednesday!

Woo hoo- 1/2 way thru! I DO wish it was Friday though…that’s ok right?! 🙂

I have this awesome leg workout that I need to share with you, but it’s in my car..grr! I totally forgot to grab it- I left it laying on the back seat..oops! I’ll try to remember to get it at lunch…if I don’t hit ‘publish’ before then 🙂

But, I’ll go ahead and tell you about my workout this morning..at least for now. I figured I would do total cardio today, since it has been weights, weights, weights…with some cardio thrown in there too..but today I wanted all cardio- I think my body was craving it.
Here goes:
-1 min. warm up walk @ 3.5
-10 min. run (change every minute: 6.0, 6.3, 6.6, 6.9, 7.2, 7.5, 7.8, 8.1, 8.3, 8.7-  got this AWESOME run from Janetha & I always use it!)
-2 min. light jog at 6.5
-10 min. incline walking- 5 min. @ 3.2- 15 % incline, 5 min. @ 3.5- 12 % incline
-10 min. on the elliptical- 20 incline, 10 resistance
-10 min. on the precor/ stair stepper- 5 resistance

Perfect little sweat sess’ 🙂

Now that Craig & I are going to the gym together in the mornings, I kind of adjust my workouts to his workouts. He’s so cute- he has two different weight workouts that he does- either biceps/ triceps or chest/ back. He’s NOT into working legs at all, which I do not get- he says he feels weird doing it & that guys shouldn’t. I was like WHAT are you talking about, silly??! But I just let him be 🙂 And, then he also runs pretty much everytime he works out as well- about 20, if he does weights, and then 30 minutes if he is just running & doing abs. His long days are the weights + running days- so I coordinate my long days with his…and like this morning, he told me he was just running & doing abs, so I made mine a shorter workout too- but cardio intense 🙂

I like having at least an hour to do weights, more like an hour & 20, so that I can do some cardio too…but, on just cardio days I feel like we don’t have to be at the gym as long.

While I’m on my cardio kick, I figured I would share with you some cardio workouts that I found on Shape.com this morning.
1. Cardio Blaster
This is one of the best interval training workouts you can do to improve fitness. It burns lots of calories in a short amount of time.
How to do it:
•Warm up for 15 minutes.
•Then run, bike, or row for 3 minutes at 90 to 95 percent of your maximum heart rate (should feel like 8.5 or 9 on a scale of 1 to 10). Take 3 minutes active recovery (you’re still moving, but at an easy pace) and repeat the 3 on/3 off pattern 3 to 4 more times.
•Finish with a 10-minute cooldown.
Bonus benefit: This workout is like weight training for your heart—it strengthens your cardiovascular system, which improves your overall health.

2. Speedplay
Sprinting is great for tightening and toning your legs, glutes, and core. It increases your muscle power, which helps you push harder and makes your non-interval training workouts feel easier so you can challenge yourself and burn even more calories.
How to do it:
•Warm up for 15 minutes, adding a few 20-second bursts at the end to prepare for the workout.
•Run, bike, or row for 30 seconds at a nearly all-out effort. Take 3 minutes active recovery and repeat the 30 on/3 off pattern 5 or 6 more times.
•Finish with a 10-minute cooldown.
Bonus benefit: Because of its very high intensity, this workout is very short.

3. Cardio-Sprint Pyramid
This adds sprint interval training for a fast and fun workout. Here, after each burst of hard work, you’ll recover for the same amount of time.
How to do it:
•Warm up for 15 minutes, adding a few 20-second bursts at the end to prepare for the workout.
•Run, bike, or row: During the work periods, you should have a rate of perceived exertion (RPE of 8 to 10, followed by 30 seconds of active recovery.

Build and taper the workout like this:
30 seconds sprint/30 seconds recover
1 minute sprint/1 minute recover
2 minutes sprint/2 minutes recover
4 minutes sprint/4 minutes recover
2 minutes sprint/2 minutes recover
1 minute sprint/1 minute recover
30 seconds sprint/30 seconds recover

•Finish with a 10-minute cooldown.
Bonus benefit: This major calorie-burning interval training plan gives you the best of both worlds—high-octane cardio and muscle-sculpting sprints. 

3. Cardio-Sprint Pyramid (<–This one I like the most :D)
This adds sprint interval training for a fast and fun workout. Here, after each burst of hard work, you’ll recover for the same amount of time.
How to do it:
•Warm up for 15 minutes, adding a few 20-second bursts at the end to prepare for the workout.
•Run, bike, or row: During the work periods, you should have a rate of perceived exertion (RPE of 8 to 10, followed by 30 seconds of active recovery.

Build and taper the workout like this:
30 seconds sprint/30 seconds recover
1 minute sprint/1 minute recover
2 minutes sprint/2 minutes recover
4 minutes sprint/4 minutes recover
2 minutes sprint/2 minutes recover
1 minute sprint/1 minute recover
30 seconds sprint/30 seconds recover

•Finish with a 10-minute cooldown.
Bonus benefit: This major calorie-burning interval training plan gives you the best of both worlds—high-octane cardio and muscle-sculpting sprints.

I have noticed a HUGE difference in myself in doing SUPER INTENSE, HIGH cardio workouts, compared to just loooooonnng, same speed kind of runs. Now, I need to get ready ready for those long runs again, since I have a half marathon on Thanksgiving day of this year. I figure I will do my long run on the weekends, or I guess whenever I feel like it.

I also found this article this morning- 24 Hour Weight Loss Plan. I know a lot of people reading this are not trying to lose weight, but I found it interesting- ways to keep your metabolism up.
Here’s the most interesting things that were written: (but I really liked the whole article)
*Are you a morning exerciser? Eating 100 to 200 grams of carbohydrates within two hours of high-intensity exercise (either before or after) is essential to building energy stores for training. Waiting longer than two hours results in 50 percent less glycogen stored in the muscle and a less effective recovery. It may also lead to injury.
*The moment food enters your stomach, energy from digestion is allocated to deal with it. Eat lean sources of protein to prevent energy spikes throughout the day.

*Water helps maintain healthy body weight by suppressing appetite, reducing the body’s level of sodium and maintaining muscle tone.

*Lunch should contain protein, healthy fats, complex carbohydrates and non-starchy veggies to sustain stamina and curb cravings later. Make sure lunch is packed with fiber, too.

*What to do: Nibble acidic foods such as pickles, tangy salsa, marinated veggies or sourdough bread for lunch or snacks. Other acidic foods include horseradish, pickled beets, lemon juice and pickled herring.

*4pm: This is your lowest energy point, when body temperature drops and cravings creep up.

*Sip a cup of warm milk since the carbohydrate and insulin released make it easier for tryptophan to be absorbed into the brain, making you sleepy.

Anyways, hope you found this as interesting as I did 🙂

I like the idea of eating at least 2 hours after your workout- if you workout in the morning- I totally agree!!

I’m off to do some more work! I’ll have to give you that leg workout later or tomorrow 🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. ew I hate when guys dont work out their legs! At least every once in a while–Sean does once every week–and he has nice muscular man thighs! tell him to squat some to beef up those chicken legs he might be rocking!

    Reply
    • he still has sexy legs I promise 😉 They aren’t like chicken legs- since he runs! nice meaty thighs- LOL!!! 😀

      Reply
  2. I love doing interval blasts – it’s definitely great for increasing running speeds too. Also, sure beats working out for a long drawn out period of time 😉

    Reply
  3. You can tell Craig I think the leg press is very manly 🙂

    Reply
  4. OOo great tips on everything here. I always eat before and after a workout within the 2 hour timeframe.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the cardio workouts – provided I actually make it to the gym tomorrow, I may have to try one of those out! 🙂

    Reply
  6. I was gonna buy some broccoli this morning. But then I didn’t. I just kept right on walking past it. #FAIL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

