Door Step Surprises

Hi Friends 😀

Hope all is well!! I was planning to do an earlier post, but today has been NON stop at work. So, I’m just getting a chance- no big deal! Just got a few things to share with you. 🙂

First things first, look what arrived at my house yesterday:

NEW PROTEIN POWDER!!! WOOOOHOOOO!

The first one:

Elite Gourment Whey & Casein Blend Powder. Milk chocolate flavor.
I have heard GREAT things about this protein powder- and the stats on it are AWESOME! I hear you can just mix it with water- no milk- and it tastes so good- really creamy, like you used milk.

The second one:

BSN Lean Dessert protein powder– Banana Cream flavor. The first time I heard about this brand of protein powder was on Janetha’s blog– and she raved about it..so I also thought I HAVE to try that stuff….well I finally got it!! 🙂

Free samples:

Hydro Whey protein powder– Turbo chocolate flavor.
I didn’t order these, they were just in the box when I opened it- what a nice little surprise from GNC 😀

Now, I have to confess, I haven’t even tried any of these yet, because I wanted to finish up my old stuff- which is ALMOST gone! (it was huge-5 lbs. of protein!!) So, there is only like one more scoop left, then it’s on to the new ones! I tried one of the free samples in Craig’s protein shake this morning- he really liked it- said it was more chocolate-y than usual.

I have also realized something else about protein shakes. You really should make them with Almond Milk- they taste SO MUCH BETTER. I always make mine with almond milk, but when I make them for Craig I use skim milk. I drink the almond milk since it doesn’t bother my stomach as much..and I get skim milk for him. Well, I tried a sip of his protein shake, and it really wasn’t the same. From now on it’s all almond milk, all the time 😀

Last night I got some more goodies as well:

PUMPKIN!!

I HAD to go by the grocery store on my way home from work yesterday….wanna know why I HAD to get pumpkin?!
This is why:

My cousin, Betsy, whom I adore,  put a picture of this on her facebook yesterday. I wanted to get on a plane and fly to San Diego at that VERY moment!! (that’s where she lives) Not only do I miss her like crazy, but she has been a baking/ cooking queen lately! Love it 😀 I swear she should start a food blog too! Anyways, once I laid my eyes on that loaf of pumpkin bread, that was IT! I had a craving that only pumpkin could cure 😉

I decided to kind of come up with my own recipe for pumpkin bread- some what healthified. So here ya go:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 can (or about 3/4 cup) pumpkin puree
  • 2 egg whites 
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce 
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups Splenda (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1 3/4  cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour one 9 x 5″ loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, egg whites, apple sauce, water and sweetener until well blended.

     
    In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pan.

    ready for the oven!

  3. Bake for about 50 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaf is done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

    EAT & enjoy!! 🙂 I put a dab of butter on mine- made it PERFECT!!

Now I need to send a big THANK YOU to my cousin for such an enticing picture, that I had to go & make pumpkin bread for myself 😀

Funny story about pumpkin bread: While I was in high school, my parent would drop me off for cross country or track practice (depending on the time of year) and then go to Bob Evans for breakfast- like on the weekend. Well, one time I happened to be with them- might of had off from practice- but I tried the pumpkin bread there. That is when my LOVE of pumpkin bread began. I could NOT get enough of the stuff!! I would seriously go thru a loaf in a matter of about 2 days!! After my love affair with pumpkin bread began, my awesome parents would always bring home a loaf of pumpkin bread for me 😀 Actually, when I moved away to college, they would STILL get me pumpkin bread, and just freeze it until I went home to vist 😀 Pretty sweet, huh!? 😉 They actually haven’t had breakfast there in a while, so I haven’t tried any of the Bob Evans pumpkin bread lately, but I think mine is just as good 😀

For dinner last night I was going to make Franks & beans! I used to love that meal when I was a kid..that or Kraft Mac & cheese..which, as you know if you have been reading the blog for long…is still my favorite 😀 As I was getting ready to make dinner I had a change in taste…I wasn’t really feeling the whole franks & beans idea..but I was still wanting to have hotdogs. So I just made hotdogs (well, ok, TURKEY dogs- no pig in this house 😀 ), baked french fries & veggies.

Boy o boy- this meal was delicious! Totally reminded me of my childhood days!! Sometimes those quick & easy meals are JUST what I’m craving.

Later we both enjoyed a slice of pumpkin bread- mmmmm mmmm!

This morning I was ready for a kick butt weight workout in the gym- today was LEGS & GLUTES day. This is the workout I have been raving about for awhile that I have wanted to share with you:

ALL WERE 4 sets of 15, 12, 10, 8 Reps

Exercise Weight
Smith Machine Squats 30lb. Each side
Bulgarian Split Squats 35lb. Barbell
Front Squat Push Press 35lb. Barbell
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Good Mornings 35lb. Barbell
Plie Squats 30lb. DB
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Calf Raises on calf machine 55lb.
Deadlifts- straight let 60lb. Barbell
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Leg Press  45lb. EACH side
Zercher Squats 35lb. Barbell
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Weighted Lunges 15lb. Each side
Leg Extensions 50lb.
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Leg Curls 50lb.
Ball Squats (using Stability Ball) body weight
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Stability Ball Roll- ins body weight
Glute lifts on ball body weight
SUPERSETTED WITH:  
Frog Lifts on Stability Ball body weight

HOLY COW- my legs are like MUSH now. This workout is AWESOME! Your legs will totally be feeling it for the next couple of days, but well worth it.

For the leg press: Did you know that if you PUSH thru your HEELS you get more emphasis on your glutes??

After having a sip..or two…of Craig’s protein shake this morning, I really debated making my own..but I really wanted to enjoy my coffee on my way to work. (today I added Apple Pie Spice to the coffee grounds before brewing– yum!) So I scratched the shake idea, and instead made myself this when I got to work:

I made a wrap- using Joseph’s Lavash wraps – I toasted it for a little bit, then put some peanut butter & grape jelly on it..and topped it all off with banana slices before rolling it up! This was mighty tasty 🙂

For lunch- you know what that was- yogurt mess 😀

I have actually been in one of those ‘funks’ today- I just haven’t been hungry much. I had to kind of force feed myself lunch around 2:30pm- I just wasn’t not hungry.:( Hate that! I hope it goes away by dinner time though!!! 😀

Tell me: What was your favorite meal growing up? What is your favorite flavor of protein powder? What is your favorite flavor of jelly?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I use BSN’s Banana Cream Pudding in my shakes! It’s perfect for smoothies and such!

    Reply
  2. I have not tried BSN at all – I never hit up stores like GNC though. I’m also cheap 😉 I’ve seen so many awesome sounding recipes using their flavors though. Speaking of recipes – yummmy on the pumpkin bread. Wish I had a slice right now 😉

    Reply
  3. Laura

     /  September 22, 2010

    Does the high intake of artificial sweeteners not upset your tummy? i find they make me feel bad in the tummy area, I’d assume with your medical condition it might help to try a few weeks without artificial sweetener to see if it helps? Just a suggestion 🙂

    I don’t use protein powder now, but the last tub I had was “Jarrow Formula” in chocolate flavor. I liked it because it didn’t have sweeteners in it. but I found that I was getting more than enough protein without it so I quit the powder.

    My favorite jelly.. hmm probably Strawberry or rasberry. I also like blackcurrant but you don’t really see that a lot here in the US (in Ireland where i am from it’s quite a popular flavor). Also I don’t like grape jelly at all, I’d never seen it until I moved here and I think it tastes a bit strange!!

    Reply
  4. Laura

     /  September 22, 2010

    Sorry I meant, artificial sweetener (the Jarrow stuff). It had some sugar, like 4g/serving. Just wanted to clarify 🙂

    Reply
  5. I love strawberry jelly. And blueberry. And especially, marmalade.

    I had so many favorite comfort foods as a kid! One of them was definitely hot dogs and bratwurst…man I kinda miss those, haha. That really motivates me to make some in the near future. 😉

    Reply
  6. you MUST let me know how that casien is love!!
    i LOVE the chocolate hydrowhey..one of my fav protein powders!
    love you girl!

    Reply
  7. you gotta try that banana nut powder in a protein cake. my fave! i wonder about that casein, i have a hard time finding casein i like. how is it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

