Monster of a Book

Good Morning- happy hump day! Half way thru…

These past couple of days have been a bit crazy- at work & just in my life, in general 😀

I don’t know if you remember, but a few months ago I took my insurance test for the state of Florida- know as your 215 license. After one unsuccessful attempt, I re-took it & passed it! So, now I am studying for a new test, to get my Series 65 license, which is to become a Registered Investment Advisor Representative. I know, big word, huh?! It’s pretty much so that I can advise people on how to set up stocks, bonds, mutual funds, money markets & all that other good stuff 😀 Here’s a picture of my NEW best friend- my Series 65 study book:

quite the monster, huh?!

 I’m actually really interested in learning all about the stock market. My Dad is really into the stock market, and tracking all of his investments, and when I was younger he tried to explain it to me but I just never really ‘got it.’ As I got older I definitely understand it better, but I still would like to know ALL about it!! It’s amazing how much the stock market affects this country.

So that has taken up a lot of my work time- I study in my down time.

As for life events- well, you all know the whole Crohn’s thing. It’s just acting up a lot & I’m having to deal with it. I have been having problems with a lot of bloating- from the disease which really sucks & does a NUMBER on my head 😦 Even though I know it’s from the Crohn’s, I think bad of myself… This head of mine needs some fixing!! I really do try, but sometimes it DOES get the best of me. Like, here I’ll tell you this- when I went to my doctor’s office to meet my new doctor, and to schedule my new colonoscopy, he told me that 10 lbs., yes TEN pounds, was JUST from bloating from the Crohn’s..and that I could get my ‘real’ weight by subtracting those 10lbs from whatever number the scale read. But it still makes me question my weight a lot. I really need to stick a note on the scale that says ‘subtract 10.’

I know a lot of you think I’m crazy with all of these mind games, and honestly they do make me CRAZY sometimes. I do try to fight them though- some days are harder than others. Please just try to understand where I’m coming from though, and don’t judge me based on this.

Any advice, or similar situational experiences that you might have would be great!

Ok, now on to other topics- eats! 
They have not been too picture-worthy..but I do want to let you know that I am trying to switch from my usual lunch. Strawberries, blueberries & raspberries are getting WAY too expensive to buy all the time. I have been making a salad with sliced turkey, tomatos, and corn for my lunches. On the side I will have some kind of carb- either a piece of bread, or some rice cake chips.

Have you tried these? They are SO good!! I got the cheddar cheese flavor yesterday- OMG- NEW addiction- I could of eaten the whole package, they were that good! 😀

For dinner last night, I tried Julie’s recipe for Shrimp & Zucchini Barley Risotto. Oh my GOODNESS this stuff was SO GOOD! Both Craig & I could not get enough of it!!

1/2lb. shrimp

Our meal! OH SO GOOD!

As for workouts-
Monday: Biceps & Triceps Day!
Tuesday: I did a workout using Body Bars
Have you ever tried using these for a workout? I actually really like them- just to give it some kind of switch to my normal routine. I did of a full body routine with them- including dead lifts, chest press, ab work, squat with front lifts, over head squat press, etc.
I also did a full BUTT workout 😀 Love those!!

Also did some jogging in between each circuit- which was .3 every circuit- ending up with a total of 1.2 miles.

Today/ Wednesday: PURE Cardio-
20 minutes elliptical- high resistance
10 minutes jogging on treadmill @ 6.7
10 minutes incline walking- 15% @ 3.2
10 minutes on stationary bike- high resistance

That was that 😀

For breakfast I made myself a protein shake before heading to work so that I could drink it on my drive in.

BSN Banana & Elite Milk Chocolate

Combined a 1/2 scoop each, along with 1 cup Almond Milk, 1/4 banana, & 1 tsp. peanut butter.

DELICIOUS! I absolutely LOVE that combination- chocolate + peanut = perfect in my book 🙂

Today has been like a ZERO energy kind of day. I was great until I got to my office..sometimes I swear it just zaps it right outta ya when you walk in the door 😉

I have some gym stuff with me at work, just in case I need it..so I decided to use it today. I just wanted to get out & do some walking, but because of this lovely tropical depression/ tropical storm I could NOT do any walking outside. I just headed to the treadmill & did about 15 minutes of walking, then did 10 minutes on the elliptical & finished with a bit of ab work. (<- did that because I ran out of time this morning, and I really wanted to do them today)

Now please don’t think I’m over doing it on the exercise, I literally just did some walking on the treadmill & then a few minutes on the elliptical & it’s only because I couldn’t go outside. I know it’s totally fine- it would just be like taking a walk on my lunch break..so please don’t over think it 🙂

As I said- I’ve been changing up my lunches a bit- today was the tiny bit of leftovers that we had from dinner last & a salad.

about a 1/2 cup left

salad with turkey, corn, tomatos & a few tortilla strips

Now I guess it’s back to work for me…and to studying 🙂 I hope to take the Series 65 test by the end of the year. It takes a few MONTHS to study for it- there is some SERIOUS stuff in there!! 🙂

Any interesting plans for tonight/ this weekend?? Share them with me 🙂

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Ooo, I’ve had the Blueberry Quakes and they were delicious. I have a major obessesion with BBQ so I think I’m going to have to try those next!

    I’ve been on some medications that prevent me from being my real weight. It’s not fun and I totally understand how it can mess with your head. But from what I can tell you look fabulous and I can’t imagine you being 10lbs thinner. I wouldn’t be able to see you at all 😉

    Hang in there!

    Reply
  2. Thats exciting about the new test and certification. I find all that stuff SO interesting. Im sure its not as interesting when you have to study for it all the time though 😦

    I will NEVER judge you for anything in your life–whether it be mind games or overexercising…simply bc I have been there and you are my friend so judging is just stupid.

    You know my take on it and I hope oyu listen to that smart voice in your head. 😉

    Reply
    • Oh, definitely not as interesting when you have to study for it- lol! The main thing is that everything you read in a book doesn’t really tell you what you need to learn in REAL life, ya know?! It’s just like with my insurance test- even though, ya, I passed it- only real experiences can teach you. But, hopefully after I pass this test those real experiences will be a-coming 😀
      Thanks for being such a GREAT friend- LOVE you!! xoxo

      Reply
  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  September 29, 2010

    Lady, I took the 66 recently… and I failed it 2x before I finally passed. It is HARD! I feel ya. GOOD LUCK!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Is the dessert protein good? I keep wanting to try it but haven’t actually bought it yet.

    The rice cakes are my absolute favorite. i bring them to swim meets to snack on all the time.

    Reply
  5. girl i am so sorry about all that trouble! know that the scale does NOT MEAN ANYTHING and you are BEAUTIFUL and you look great!! seriously, the scale can suck it.

    send me your butt workout please?? I want to do one friday!!

    Reply
  6. Congrats on passing your test! I did an internship with a financial company in college, it was interesting to learn about all of that stuff!

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Reply
  7. Caramel quakes are sooooo good!

    Bloating is a bee-otch. Even though you know why you’re bloating it doesn’t make the actual bloated feeling any better! I’m sorry you have to deal with that.

    Good luck on your test 🙂

    Reply
  8. mariesettles

     /  October 1, 2010

    I love you Holly!

    And I love your blog.

    Looky– I have one too!
    you inspired me 🙂
    i don’t know what the point of mine is…

    But, it’s there!

    I hope you have a good day!

    Reply
  9. mariesettles

     /  October 1, 2010

    OH, and, I like how you’re always learning new things.
    My dad is really into the stock market too.
    He has an investment company.
    He’s always wanted me to get into it, but I can’t say it’s a priority of mine. Although, I love learning new things.

    ..Maybe you’ve just inspired me to learn about the stock market too. You’re a good influence on me:) ha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

