Grocery List or Not?

Hey There 😀

I did this awesome workout this morning- I kind of just ‘winged’ it at the gym. Normally I plan out what I’m going to do the night before, but last night I really could not just figure out what I wanted to do…so, I figured that I would just go there & do what I felt like.

I started out with shoulders:
4 sets of 12 reps -switching between lateral raises & sides raises using 5lb. dumbbells…talk about a shoulder BURNER!

Then I headed over to the treadmill to do a HIIT routine- pretty much based off of Mr. How Sweet’s routine- (for some reason I can’t find the exact one that I took it off of, so I’ll just link it to Jessica’s workout page 🙂 )

Minute          Speed
0-5                    6.5
5-6                    7.5
6- 6:30             9.0
6:30-7:30      7.5
7:30- 8             9.1
8-9                    7.5
9- 9:30             9.2
9:30-10:30     7.5
10:30- 11         9.3
11-12                 7.5
12- 12:30         9.4
12:30- 13:30   7.5
13:30- 14          9.5
14-15                  7.5
15- 20                 6.5
20- 21                 3.5 (cool down)

This is INTENSE- that 9.5 almost makes you fly off the back of the treadmill 😀

Overhead presses- 4 sets of 12 reps- 2 sets with 15lb. dumbbells, 2 sets with 10lb. dumbbells

Shoulder shrugs- 4 sets of 12 reps- with 25lb. dumbbells

50 bench tuck crunches

It was a random workout, but I definitely enjoyed it! Sometimes it pays to just ‘wing it.’

I have to admit, it was pretty good! Although I’m not 100% sure how I feel about raw oats…they are kind of chewy/ crunchy. But I do want to try mixing them into Greek yogurt sometime.

While I was at work I had a bit of free time, so I made my grocery list since I was going to Publix on my lunch break to get groceries for the week. And it got me thinking.
Do you make a grocery list? Or do you just kind of randomly grab stuff at the store? Do you plan your meals out?

I typically write my meals for the week at the top, and then I list the ingredients that I need to grab from the grocery store. Of course I don’t always stick to what I plan to make, but this helps me get a good guideline as to what to make during the week.

On the weekends I try to do a bit bigger meals- since it’s the weekend, and honestly I really don’t eat as much as the weekends- my timing is just all off, so I don’t mind a big meal. Usually I have some kind of big pasta dish on the weekend for Craig & I to enjoy.

But I would love to hear how you come up with what you plan to make for dinner…or do you just kind of ‘wing it?’ 😉

For lunch I just had my leftover salad from last night.

Dinner was a SHOW STOPPER. I have been wanting to make this recipe for Buffalo meatballs that I saw on Liz’s blog…and tonight was THE night 🙂 I kind of changed a few things & decided to use the meatballs to make mini meatball subs! First I started out by cutting up some veggies- squash & zucchini- to roast.

sliced up veggies

the spices I seasoned the veggies with

I baked them at 450 degrees for about 45 minutes. Normally I don’t cook them that long, but Craig really only likes them when they are some what crispy, so I figured I would make them that way for him.

cooked up veggies

Now time for the buffalo meatballs!! Here’s the recipe, I made a few changes from Liz’s recipe.

Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

  • 1 1/4  lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped finely
  • 1 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 t cayenne
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 cup chopped spinach
  • 3 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 bottle Frank’s hot sauce

needed ingredients

 Combine all ingredients except hot sauce.

Shape into 1″ to 1 1/2″ meatballs. Add to greased cooking sheet. Drizzle with a little bit of hot sauce. (reserve more for later)

Bake at 450 degrees for about 15- 20, or until done. Then heat hot sauce in a pan & add the cooked meatballs to to the hot sauce.

Like I said, I used these meatballs to make mini meatball subs. Since typical subs come with a TON of bread, and I really didn’t want a lot of bread with my sandwich tonight, I decided to use hotdog buns instead.

I added about 5 meatballs to each roll & then topped it with about 1/2 slice mozzarella cheese. Then I baked it for about 5 minutes in the already heated oven.

melted, ooooy, goooy cheese 😀

The hot dog buns were actually PERFECT for making mini subs! Usually I get so full from all of the bread that I cannot finish my sandwich, but this was the right about of bread & I was able to enjoy the meatballs too 🙂

my dinner- plus some extra veggies, not seen 😉

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the night with my fiance! (I still love saying that!!)
I think we are going to catch up on some DVR’ed shows. The bummer of it all is that I forgot to tape that show ‘The Event’ last night. Hopefully we can catch it online. Is anyone else watching that show? It’s kind of crazy..and I’m still trying to figure it all out.

Have a great night! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 5, 2010

    Glad you tried the balls! Your subs look awesome- may have to try it like that next time!

    I always make a grocery list, divided up by like “aisle” for easy reference!

    Reply
  2. Sometimes it’s fun to just wing it with a workout. I am a huge list maker. I never go to a store without my handy list that even indicates if I have a coupon for the item (OCD much?). I used to plan out meals, and I should get back to doing that. I swear, once I started blogging, that all went out the window b/c I was always wanting to try and post new recipes. It’s fun to do and when I have a set menu, it’s often the same things each week – not that that’s a bad thing. It sure can make it easier.

    Reply
  3. alaine66

     /  October 5, 2010

    Anytime I try to “wing-it” for the week we end up with mystery dinners because I try to get creative. I usually look for a few new recipes to try, then depending on how the search goes I look through my homemade cookbook of our favorites. After I pick all my recipes, I gather them up and do a pantry/ fridge check for the things I have already. Then, make a list of the things I need. I organize it by how the grocery store is sectioned off so I don’t forget anything while I am in a certain area of the store. I also keep a grocery list in the kitchen for things that we run out of during the week so I don’t forget them. It sounds long, but it takes me about 30 minutes and NO extra trips to the store throughout the week.

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 5, 2010

    Glad you tried the balls! Dthe subs look so good- gonna have to try that. I always make a grocery list, organized by aisle!!!

    Reply
  5. oh my gah those meatballs sound AWEEESOME!! Those are DEF on my list to make!! so cool you winged it at the gym and had a good workout!!

    Reply
  6. Buffalo chicken meatballs?! I must make these!

    I have a very similiar method when it comes to as shopping list. I write the meals at the top and ingredients underneath. It works pretty well for me.

    Reply
  7. hi 🙂 i miss you!!!! i will be bbming you soon. oh and i finally got my butt training for the thanksgiving run. this morning i ran 6 miles outside and didn’t even sweat haha gotta love fall 🙂

    Reply
  8. Yep, I make a grocery list and I tend to organize it in the same layout as the grocery store so that I don’t have to backtrack. I’m usually in and out in less than 30 minutes for a full grocery trip 🙂

    Reply
  9. Wow – I should make my list like yours – think of meals and then make the list – seems like a great approach!

    Meatballs sound delicious – was actually planning to make mini meatball subs this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

