Tropical Feelin’

Hey hey hey! It’s Thursday, which means AWESOME shows on tonight, including The Office, The League, and Jersey Shore! Wooop wooop! Love Thursday night tv 😀 Do you watch any of those shows?

I seriously LOVE The Office. I watched it one time years ago and was like what the heck?! But then when Craig & I started dating he loved it, so I would watch it with him. I FINALLY understood why everyone always raved about how funny it was- because it is. Especially working in an office, you just tend to relate people to certain characters. It just cracks me up! I’m so sad that Steve Carell is leaving though 😦 That means this will be the last season that will actually be good. Bummer!

So I have a NEW RECIPE to share with you! I happened to find it on the Hungry Girl website. I know many people are kind of ‘eh’ about Hungry Girl, but I really like most of the recipes & I like the substitutions that they use.

Last night I decided to make their version of Coconut Shrimp- I was feelin’ kind of tropical 😉

(the recipe below is taken directly from their site- I only made a few changes, which I will list in another color)

Bigtime Shrimp!  
 

Ingredients:
1/4 cup Fiber One bran cereal (original)
1/3 cup shredded sweetened coconut
3 tbsp. panko breadcrumbs
1/4 tsp. chili powder 
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. black pepper

1/4 tsp. onion powder
Dash salt
12 oz. (about 20) raw large shrimp, peeled, deveined, tails removed
3 tbsp. fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters OriginalI used one egg white
 

ingredients

HG Tip! If your coconut shreds are somewhat long, give ’em a rough chop!

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place cereal in a sealable plastic bag and, removing as much air as possible, seal. Using a meat mallet or heavy can, carefully crush cereal through the bag. (I just used my food processor to finely chop the cereal- almost into a powder)  Add sweetened coconut, panko breadcrumbs, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, and salt to the bag; seal and shake to mix. Transfer mixture to a large plate and set aside.

ingredients in plastic bag

Spray a large baking sheet with nonstick spray and set aside. Pat shrimp with paper towels to ensure they are completely dry.

shrimp!

Combine shrimp with egg substitute in a bowl and toss lightly to coat. One at a time, shake excess egg from shrimp and transfer to the coconut-crumb mixture, gently patting and flipping to coat. Evenly place coated shrimp on the baking sheet. I just put the shrimp in a bowl with the egg white, tossed to coat the shrimp, then threw all of them into the bag, & gave it a good shake.

shake shake shake! ..shake your boootay

Bake in the oven for 10 – 12 minutes, until outsides are crispy and lightly browned and insides are cooked through. Serve and enjoy!

nice & browned

MAKES 4 SERVINGS

 
  Serving Size: 1/4th of recipe, about 5 shrimp
Calories: 164
Fat: 4.5g
Sodium: 266mg
Carbs: 12g
Fiber: 2g
Sugars: 3.5g
Protein: 19.5g

 

Our side dishes were courtesy of:

Roasted pecan & garlic grains

I will NOT be buying this again. Neither Craig or I liked it. We both ended up throwing most of our portions away 😦 I hate wasting food, but I just did not like it.

good ol' stand by: green beans!

 And then dinner was served:

minus the rice mix, PLUS more shrimp 🙂

The shrimp were really good- both Craig & I liked them a lot! Oh, I forgot to mention that before sticking them in the oven, I gave them a good sprinkle of Old Bay. You see Craig is from Maryland & he believes that seafood of any sort should have Old Bay on it NO MATTER WHAT. So, I had to appease the boy 😉

This morning I decided to hit the gym, even though my partner is still out. He decided to take another rest day since his neck is still not 100% & that is not something you want to mess with. So I headed out alone- I gotta tell ya, I definitely missed him! I really like working out together now. Oh well, guess I’ll survive a day 😉

Today’s workout was 3 rounds of this workout that I found on the Women’s Health website. It was a workout for ‘2 in 1 toners.’ I did 3 rounds of it, using different amounts of weight, and in between each circuit I ran .3 miles & then a round of ab exercises.

It was a good overall workout. Definitely back to heavy lifting tomorrow!

It was a bit chilly out this morning in Florida, I actually debated wearing boots, but I just could not figure out a cute outfit, so I just said forget it!

This morning’s breakfast was a usual one, but quite tasty 🙂

Egg whites and a Light English muffin with about 1 tbsp peanut butter & 1/2 of a banana

I had a few animal crackers before I left for work too 😉

This afternoon was another GORGEOUS day outside. Of course I took FULL advantage of this & did another 2.5 – 3 mile fast walk (with my dumbbells 😉 ) around Lake Eola. I just LOVE being outside this time of year- I can’t get enough of it. Today I saw some more interesting things, but I didn’t grab my camera before heading out 😦 bummer! I just worry that I’ll drop it, or it will fall into the water, etc.

My lunch was waiting for me when I got back inside- I changed & then headed back to my office for my veggie feast 😀 I had roasted squash, roasted zucchini & some of the leftover green beans. Along with that I added tomato sauce & a Tomato basil veggie burger- for some protein.

Veggie Feast!

While I was heating up my lunch, people in the office kept commenting on how good it smelled- I think it was that tomato/ basil veggie burger- those always smell SO good!

all mixed up- looks disgusting, but it didn't taste disgusting 😉

I had a few people look at my plate like ‘WHAT is THAT?!!’ I told them, and then proceeded to tell them it was just another one of my weirdo creations! I also included a slice of bread strictly for ‘soaking up’ purposes- I HATE to waste tomato sauce. Craig always laughs at me for soaking up every bit of it..but it’s too good to waste 😀

Now I’m off to think of dinner ideas. I’m pretty sure I know what I want to make, but I might just have to come up with something different 😉 My mind always changes, even when I plan things out!! 😀

Hope you have a wonderful rest of your day & evening!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I was the same way with “The Office”…I don’t watch it regularly but I do find it hilarious…”that’s what she said!”

    Reply
  2. Thursday night TV gets me through the day on Thursday! I watch 30 Rock & The Office, then scoot to watch the last hour of Project Runway. Now The League!!! It’s just sooo good. And I catch Jersey Shore on weekends 🙂

    Reply
  3. Kelly

     /  October 7, 2010

    I saw that recipe and bookmarked it…glad to know it was good. I love coconut shrimp…it is one of my favorite things to order out!

    Reply
  4. I LOVE THE OFFICE!!! SOOO good! I have FCA on thursdays so I watch it online- but it gives me something to look foward to in the weekend!

    Reply
  5. You know.. I wanted to watch the office for a while now and I am going to do it soon. The recipe is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

    Faith

    Reply

Leave a Reply

