Casper + Delectable French Toast

Happy Sunday!! My favorite day of the week….and, just to get this out of the way early: GO RAVENS!!!! Those are my boys, and I love them dearly 😉 I have a feeling this house is going to have some loud noises coming from it today- it’s Patriots v. Ravens…& after last year’s KILLER of a game versus New England (Ravens blew them out) supposedly it’s going to be one heck of a game today. All I have to say is BRING IT ON! 😀

Ok, now let’s rewind to Friday….(well, first Thursday night- I promise this all has a point 🙂 )
So, Craig gets home on Thursday night & says that he found a really cute dog on the company’s ad site. (His company has a website like Craigslist.com, but it’s strictly for the employees only) He happened to see this ad for a bichon frise, which we thought would be ok for his allergies.

He sent me the ad on Friday morning & I instantly emailed the owner.

I asked the lady if he was still available or if she had already found a home for him. She said he was still with her, no home yet, and that we were welcome to meet him any time. I texted Craig the minute I received the message to see when would be good for him. He said that Friday evening would work- after we got out of work. She said that worked for her, and at 5:30pm we headed to meet Casper.

My first thought when I met him was that he was so ENERGITIC! You could NEVER tell that he was 10 years old. He was running around & barking & going nuts when we first got there. I was so happy that he had so much energy, that was kind of what I was hoping for. Craig had a list of questions for her: (her responses are in blue)

1. Is he house trained? Does he ever have accidents in the house? Yes, he is house trained. No accidents in the house.
2. Is he crate trained? Yes, he goes in there when I am not at the house, and he even sleeps in there at night. He is not allowed in my room. He has slept in there since he was a puppy.
3. Does he bark a lot? No, he only barks when he hears people or sees them outside, or when someone initially comes into the house.
4. How active is he? When I get home from work, I take him on a little walk- not for long- and then he plays fetch for a little while with his toys (hmmm..a bischon that plays fetch, never head of that one) & then he calms down & sleeps in his chair.
5. Does he beg for food? (This is HUGE for Craig) No, he does not beg at all. He does not even eat people food.I have never given him people food. The only thing that he likes are French fries. If you eat French fries, then he will beg. My grandson even came over, and he dropped a bunch of Cheerios, but Casper did not even try to eat them. He left them totally alone.

After all of this, I was ready to take him right there. He seemed like a fun dog, full of energy. But Craig wanted to wait a little bit & discuss it. He doesn’t like making decisions on the spot.

As soon as we got into my car, we both started talking about it & we agreed to kind of do a trial run on this weekend. We wanted to see how the dog would react being just around us & then how Craig’s allergies would be affected by the dog. I went back to get Casper, and we were on our way home.

Once we got home, we were playing with him for a bit. We also gave him a special bone, the lady told us that he would really like it & it would kind of comfort him.


Things were going GREAT & I thought we would have a new little addition to our family….and then IT happened. We told him that it was bed time (she told us just to say that, & he would go to his kennel) and he just looked at us like we were nuts. Then I picked him up & carried him over to the kennel, and as soon as I put him in the kennel, he went NUTS. He yelped, barked, cried, etc. We both just figured we would leave him out & let him kind of roam the house.

That helped a little bit, but he followed us upstairs & started crying again. Craig cannot sleep with the dog because his allergies would go absolutely crazy, so there was no way we were letting the dog in our room. He eventually fell asleep right out side the door.

I woke up around 6am to take him out & to give him dinner. Well, I woke up to a nice puddle on the floor. Lovely, huh!? Potty trained? YA right.

Whatever. I figured maybe it was nerves. Give him the benefit of the doubt, right? I took him out & fed him, then headed back upstairs to maybe get some more sleep. Well, the dog went nuts again. He started barking like crazy & going ba-zerk. I came downstairs again & layed on the couch with him. He still was not calming down at all.

When Craig got up, he said his allergies were REALLY bad. Like itchy eyes, running nose & LOTS of sneezing. I THOUGHT bischons were supposed to be hypo-allergenic…so I figured I would do some research on the topic. Well, come to find out, bischons actually have an UNDERCOAT & FUR. The undercoat is what causes pet dander, which is what he is allergic to. We had no diea, we figured it was the same hair as a maltese. But maltese do NOT have an undercoat & they have HAIR, not fur.

That was kind of it for the idea of keeping Casper. The main thing was to make sure that Craig was ok.
Then things got a WHOLE lot worse. Remember all of those questions?? Ya, ALL LIES. He was NOT potty trained, he was NOT crate trained (he barked & cried the second you went to put him in the kennel), he ALWAYS barks & WHINES NON stop, he does NOT play fetch (I didn’t think he would), and he constantly begs for food.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, when I called the lady to explain the situation with Craig’s allergies, she was not home & said she would give a call when she got home. She said she was at Home Depot & that she would be home in the afternoon. Ok, so I called at 10am. By 3pm, we had heard NOTHING. I called her back. She said that she still was not home, and that she was still at Home Depot. Ok, how long can you REALLY spend there?!?!? She said she would be home around 5pm! 5pm!?!?!!? REALLY!?!? If it were me, and I KNEW someone was SUFFERING due to my dog, and they could not keep him, I would IMMEDIATELY head home & then proceed with my errands.

We were both just kind of frustrated, not only with her, but Casper was just whining- I think all bischons do that-just that like whimper/ cry kind of thing. I know another one & she CONSTANTLY whines. I guess it’s just the nature  of them.

We just went to the gym to kind of clear our heads. Today was chest & back day.
Here’s my workout:

Bench Press (12 reps @ 55lbs., 10 reps @ 65lbs., 8 reps @ 65lbs., 12 reps @ 55lbs.)

Run/ Jog @ 6.7 for 5 minutes (.55 miles)

Incline DB Press (3 sets of 12 reps – holding 15lb. DB each hand)
One Arm Rear Delt Row (3 sets of 12 reps- each hand- holding 20lb. DB)

Run/ Jog @ 6.7 for 5 minutes (.55 miles)

Barbell Rear Delt Rows (3 sets of 12 reps- holding 30lb. barbell)
DB Flyes (3 sets of 12 reps- holding 5lb. weights- each hand)

Run/ Jog @ 6.7 for 5 minutes

Chest Cable Crossovers (3 sets of 12 reps- 25lb. each side)

Seated Row (3 sets of 12 reps @ 50lbs. )

Run/ Jog @ 6.7 for 5 minutes (.55 mies)

Lat Pulldowns (3 sets of 12 reps- 50lb.)
Chest Press machines (3 sets of 12 reps- 30lbs. )

Finished up with ab work:
50 Bosu ball crunches pulling 30 lb. behind my head
Kneeling Cable Crunches – 3 sets of 12 reps @ 70lbs.

On our way home from the gym, I called the lady to see if she was finally home. She was, and we packed all of Casper’s stuff & headed to her house to drop him off.

Bye bye Casper

 I REALLY do hope that he finds a good home. I know it has to be hard for a dog, after 10 years, to find a new home. But I really hope that she does not lie to the people. It’s just not right.

Once we got home, we cleaned the house & I got a delicious meal a-going. Last night’s dinner is brought to you by Kristen @ Iowa Girl Eats. I saw this recipe for Mozzarealla Stuffed Bruschetta Turkey burgers with a Balsamic Glaze & that sounded like a WINNER! I followed her recipe exactly. I think you should go to her post to see much prettier pictures 😉 & she does a step by step photo demonstration as well.

Mozzarella-Stuffed Bruschetta Turkey Burgers with Balsamic Glaze

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

Burger:

1 lb 99% lean ground turkey breast

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon dried basil

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1 cup mozzarella cheese, divided

1 cup balsamic vinegar

Bruschetta mixture:

5 Roma tomatoes, chopped

2 cloves minced garlic

1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup fresh basil, sliced

Salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. In a large bowl combine turkey, salt, pepper, basil and parmesan cheese. Divide mixture into 8 portions.

2. Line a peanut butter jar lid with foil, then plastic wrap and press 1 portion of the turkey mixture into the lid. Heap 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese into the middle, then top with another portion of turkey. Press down to seal, then invert the patty onto a plate. Continue until you have 4 burger patties. (So creative right?! To use a peanut butter jar 🙂 )

3. Grill burgers for 3 to 3 1/2 minutes per side over medium heat. (I baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes instead of grilling them)

baked burgers!

 

4. For Bruschetta mixture: combine all ingredients, and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly.( This mixture is so good that I plan on using it for when I make actual bruschetta.)

Bruschetta mixture

5. For Balsamic Glaze: heat balsamic vinegar in a sauce pan over medium heat. Let simmer, and stir frequently, until the vinegar has reached the consistency of thin maple syrup.

6. Top grilled burgers with Bruschetta mixture and drizzle with balsamic glaze.  

Along side, I made ‘coined’ sweet potatos & sugar snap peas. I got the idea for the ‘coined’ sweet potatos from Heather. It’s SO much easier to cook them that way, rather than cutting them into fry shapes.

sweet potato coins- so much easier to cook them this way than trier to cut into fry slices

dinner is served!

These were DELICIOUS! The minute Craig ate a bite of one, he looked over at me & said, you know I’m going to eat TWO of these right H!? 😀

We spent the rest of the night watching DVR’ed shows- including Fatal Attractions on animal planet. Have you ever seen it?? It is REALLY interesting. It is about people’s fascination with exotic animals- including VIPERS, tigers, etc! Absolutely NUTS.

This morning I woke up with a GREAT breakfast in mind. I KNEW I wanted French toast & I wanted it to include peanut butter & bananas in some way. It made me think of Julie’s Banana Almond Stuffed French toast, which I have made before & it ROCKS! I figured I would just add the peanut butter too it 😀

Peanut Butter & Banana French Toast Sprinkled with Coconut
Ingredients:
-6 slices bread
-3 egg whites
-2 tsp. vanilla, divided
-2 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, divided (or as much as you would like :))
-1 1/2 bananas, sliced
-2 tbsp. peanut butter (melted- I microwaved it for about 30 sec.- but that will depend on your microwave)
-1/4 cup sugar free syrup (or more, depending on your preference)
-about 2 tbsp. sweetened coconut 1. Combine egg whites, 1 tsp. vanilla, & 2 tsp. cinnamon, mix to combine.

2. Take each slice of bread, and dip each side into the mix until they are coated.

3. Cook over medium high heat (on the stove) in a greased pan. (I just used cooking spray) For about 3-4 minutes each side, until they are golden.

4. Once the French toast is done, I keep it warm in a toaster oven- just set it on low so that they would stay warm, but not high enough to actually COOK them.

5. Take the sliced banana, 1 tsp. vanilla & 1/2 tsp. cinnamon & cook it over medium high in a greased fry pan until heated.
 

6. Take the banana & divide them into 6 equal portions. Top each slice with a portion of the banana & drizzle all of the slices with the melted peanut butter.

7. Then take the sugar free maple syrup & drizzle all of the slices with this as well. Take sweetened coconut & sprinkle a bit over each slice.

Eat & ENJOY!!

Money shot 😉

After I let my breakfast settle for a bit, & setting up my fantasy football line up- I headed out for a little run. I was going to use the treadmill, but it was SO nice out that I totally took advantage of it. I wanted to do speedwork, which is why I was planning to use the treadmill, but then I figured I would just do light post to light post speed work. Have you heard of that? Just do a warm up run about about 5 -10 minutes, then when you get to a light post- SPRINT all out, and then at the next light post- JOG, then repeat. It’s a GREAT thing for speed work.

I did 3.5 miles in 30 minutes, then finished up with lunges & will be doing some ab work this afternoon.

Now I’m watching the Ravens Game- this post has taken me about 4 hours to do– haha! oops- I got a bit distracted & wanted to do my run. 🙂 

If you have made it through this entire post, you deserve a trophy of some sort. This was the LONGEST post ever, I do believe! Thanks for listening 🙂

Have a great rest of your weekend!!!!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Nice workouts! So sorry Casper didn’t work out. 😦

    Reply
  2. It’s so sad when the owner lies to you, to try and find the dog a home. We actually got my black lab when she was eight and they had told us she was people friendly-come to find out she had bit two different children on different occasions.

    Wow on a side note, I’m going to have to make french toast tomorrow.

    Reply
  3. Awwwwww Im sorry girl!! that dog is adorable tho!!
    YOUR french toast sounds DELISH! and those burgers! YUMMMM

    Reply
  4. Oh now..poor doggie. I gotta say that I would give her a bit longer if you haven’t already taken him back. I’ve had a lot of animals and sometimes they take a week to relax into their new environment and all the not obeying is just a sign that they are scared..good luck!

    Reply
  5. oh my gosh crazy story! i love bichons – too bad it didn’t work out. but we can’t have craig sneezing just for a dog! that’s weird too bc we had a bichon when i was in high school bc all of us were allergic to other dogs! we had a poodle too. so cute.

    Reply
  6. Oh my gosh Holly, that french toast looks phenomenal!!!! Come cook for me! 😀

    Reply
  7. Total bummer about Casper!!! Hopefully he can find a good home. At least you tried!!

    And glad you liked the burgers – they’re one of my faves! 😀

    Reply
  1. The Urge to Bake– ALL day « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

