Engagement Chicken Minus the Engagement

Good Monday Morning…well, actually it is now afternoon- so YAY we made it thru the first part of Monday. They are just always so hard to get used to. But today started a little better than normal.
I went from this:

questionable about this Monday... & VERY sad about the Raven's loss 😦 😦

To THIS:

WOOHOO For Monday!!

Now if you have stuck around to read more of my blog after those two silly pictures, I commend you πŸ˜‰ I’m such a dork!

This morning it was initially a ‘case of the Mondays,’ but then I remembered that this weekend is my sister’s BABY SHOWER!! πŸ˜€ Which also means that a bunch of my family will be coming into town AND some are staying with Craig & I!! YAY! I also found out that we are going to all get together for dinner on Thursday night, my Mom & my sister will be staying with me!!

To top it ALL off, me, my sisters & cousins, along with my Mom & aunt will be going to try on bridesmaids dresses and see me in my dress πŸ˜€ (along with my shoes!!)

It is going to be ONE heck of an EXCITING weekend!!!! πŸ˜€

Let’s back track a bit to last night-
I tried something BRAND NEW. I decided to cook a WHOLE chicken. After seeing a recipe for ‘Engagement Chicken’ on Tina’s blog, it made me think ‘I have to do that!’ (Even though the engagement already occured πŸ˜‰ )

I NEVER realized how EASY it is to cook a whole chicken!! The worst part was just digging in it to pull out the heart- YUCK! I felt so bad for the little chicken while I did that. 😦

All you need is:
-1 whole chicken- this one was 3.5 lbs.
-3 lemons, cut in half
-Lemon Pepper seasoning
-Garlic or garlic salt
-Rosemary

First, preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
Do the gross part, and pull out the heart/ whatever else needs to come out & trim off the excess fat. Then take your sliced lemons & squeeze the juice over the chicken.

looks pretty funny with the seeds all over it

Then I took 2 of the halved lemons & stuffed them in the cavity of the chicken to give the meat a good lemon-y flavor.

sorry mr. chicken!

Then sprinkle the chicken with the lemon pepper seasoning, garlic salt, & rosemary- all up to you as to how much you use. I just sprinkled away until I was content πŸ˜€

seasonings

sprinkle, sprinkle, sprinkle

Then put your chicken in the oven for about 1 hour & 20 minutes, or until the skin is golden brown.

baked chicken

Then let it sit for about 15 minutes until carving.

sit patiently little chicken.

the chicken all nice & carved up!

Reviews: EXCELLENT! Craig was super impressed at how moist (<–I HATE that word for some reason) that the chicken stayed. I loved it as well- nice lemony flavor- kind of summery…but it in FL it’s like always summer– haha!

Along with it, I made homemade mashed potatos. Well, actually I used three regular potatos & 1 sweet potato (I had one leftover from last night & I didn’t want to waste it).

boiled potatos.

mashed potatos. topped with a bit of cheese

I’ve said this before, but the TRICK to delicious mashed potatos is adding about a tablespoon of sugar. Seriously, it’s makes all of the difference in the world! It is SO good. My Mom taught me that when I was a wee little girl πŸ™‚

I also made roasted broccoli that I saw on Tina’s blog as well.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large heads of broccoli
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil (I only used one)

Directions:

  • Cut broccoli into florets
  • Toss florets in olive oil and sugar
  • Cover baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray or tin foil
  • Spread broccoli florets on baking sheet
  • Broil for 5-7 minutes until edges of florets turn brown and crispy

SO SO SO GOOD! I know it sounds kind of strange, but the sweetness is oh so yummy! Try it, you’ll like it!

Sunday Dinner!

The best part of the meal was this:

WISHBONE!

This reminded me of when I was little. My sisters & I would always argue over who would get to break the wishbone. Since there were three of us, one was left out. Haha- how times have changed πŸ™‚

I also had some extra time in the kitchen to get some baking down. Craig’s co-workers requested some treats ‘from his fiancee.’ πŸ˜€ He said they LOVE when he brings treats in from home. I am now known as the little baker in his office πŸ™‚ And it doesn’t take much for me to get to baking! A special request for treats is a must for me πŸ™‚
I made them double chocolate chunk cookies with peanut butter swirled in.

coooookies! (said like the cookie monster)

Last night was full of football and a new Desparate Housewives! It’s still my favorite show, after all these years.

This morning, as you know, I got off to a great start, which also included a GREAT workout! I always start my day off by looking at this sign, which hangs on my bathroom mirror:

"Run Yourself Better"

Please ignore the HORRID wallpaper. I HATE it. It was in the house when Craig bought it. That is our next project to tackle. It’s going to be tricky because the ceiling in there is vaulted, but it WILL be done. IΒ can’t stand seeing it every morning.Β But, besides that little fact, I love this sign πŸ™‚ It reminds me to GO HARD at myΒ workouts πŸ™‚Β 

Today was biceps & triceps day, and lots of ab work.
I started with aΒ 10 minute jog (@ 6.7) to warm up & then it was time to build those muscles!Β I finished up with a TON of new ab exercises that I found in the latest issue of Oxygen. <– that is my favorite magazine by far. I have cancelled all of my other subscriptions, except for this one! I always find the best advice in it & GREAT new exercises. I love that it promotes being FIT & having muscles, rather than being a twig. Such a nice chance of pace.

Once I got to work, I made my usual breakfast:

egg beaters, light english muffin with peanut butter & half of a banana

Not that anyone will be surprised, but I also had my regular lunch today too πŸ˜€

I ran to a few stores at lunch time today- I had to get a few more things for my sister’s shower. (for the scrapbook I am making her) And I happened to see CHRISTMAS stuff EVERYWHERE. The WHOLE back of one of the stores I went into was all Christmas decorations. I was hoping to find a cute centerpiece for the kitchen table, but the fall stuff was LONG gone & what was left was already picked through. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Christmas time, but good grief, Halloween isn’t even here yet! Nothing like rushing the holiday.

Ok, just had to do a little rant πŸ˜€ Hope you don’t mind πŸ˜‰

Now I’m back to work! Hope you have a great rest of your day!!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Yay on putting things into perspective and turning the Monday around. It’s great to be able to start the week off on a positive note!

    Reply
  2. I love Monday posts! I’m glad your day was fabulous. I didn’t know cooking a chicken was so easy as well-I may have to give that a try sometime.

    Your photos are so cute by the way. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. dmcgirl37

     /  October 18, 2010

    Whoa lady, you are cookin up a freakin storrrrmmmm!!! haha looks awesome!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

    Reply
  4. I love Oxygen magazine too! It has awesome workout tips and great clean recipes! Love your motivational sign in the bathroom…that’s a really good idea!

    Happy Monday!

    Reply
  5. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 18, 2010

    Yesterday my BF asked me what my “blogger friend who loves the Ravens thought of the game!” NO LIE. I’m like, she already blogged today but she’ll be sad. too funny that he knows you HEART the Ravens. πŸ˜‰

    The chicken looks divine, your brownies look delish, and I love how your ring is sparkling in the picture of the chicken!!!!

    Reply
    • LOL!!!!
      This made me laugh πŸ˜€ I was very SAD 😦 about the game, but we’ll be back next week! And, if it goes the same as last year- where the Patriots beat us during regular season, then we won in the Playoffs πŸ˜€ I’ll definitely take a playoff win any day over a regular win πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. First of all, LOVE the shoes, they are gorgeous!

    I love cooking a whole chicken, but I can’t bring myself to do the “dirty work” of pulling the insides out…

    Yum, those cookies look amazing! Can you post the recipe?!?

    Reply
    • You got it- SUPER easy!
      All I did was use a bag of the ‘betty crocker’ double chocolate bagged cookie mix, and then followed the directions & added about 1/3 cup of peanut butter. Then I baked them @ 350 (I think that’s what it was on the back of the package) but for about 2 minutes less so that they were nice & soft πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. I should have made that when I was engaged, but I loathe touching nekkid chicky. Gives me the willies!

    Reply
  8. That does look really good. I’m always so scared to cook a whole chicken though!

    And what an exciting weekend coming up. I love when you have fun things to look forward to during the week.

    Reply
  9. oh wow that chicken looks so good and SO easy!!!! and so do the cookies! love everything on here!

    Reply
  10. I love the sign on your bathroom mirror! Great motivation πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Hahahaha loved the start tho this post – you are such a goofball! You remind me so much of some of my best friends.

    That chicken looks great, and I really dug the engagement ring + engagement chicken picture! Cute juxtaposition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

