Eggplant Lover.

Good Morning & Happy Mid- Week 😀

Sorry for the lack of posting yesterday, I was busy at work & then last night we went to meet with our DJ to go over some things. Thankfully everything for the wedding that needs to be reserved is reserved. Whew, sigh of relief 🙂
We have the main things done:
Location, reserved
Photographer, reserved (BIG thank you to Julie! She recommended Ashley to me, & I fell in love with all of her examples. And she is SO sweet! We both cannot wait to work with her 🙂 )
DJ, reserved
Wedding dress, bought 😀

I have also gotten a lot of little things done too. I’m still looking for a florist, I got a few recommendations for our DJ last night- so I’m going to have to contact them to see what I can find out.

Yesterday’s workout was kind of a crazy mix of things- LOTS of cardio moves & plyometrics & lots of full body kind of stuff.

I also don’t have any exciting new recipes to post from yesterday- we didn’t get home until around 8pm (with STARVING bellies) so we decided to go with some leftovers we had in the fridge. I needed food STAT. After dinner we called it a night- we were both pretty tired!

BUT I do have a NEW recipe to share with you that I made on Monday night. I found it in my Redbook magazine, which is a free subscription that I happened to get..I really don’t remember how I got it for free…but hey, I’ll take it 🙂 It’s great for recipes & random reads.

The recipe that I found is called Pasta alla Norma. I only changed a few things from the original recipe.

Pasta alla Norma

  • 3 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 clove(s) garlic, sliced (I just used minced garlic)
  • 1 1/4 pound(s) eggplant, peeled and cut into 3/4-inch cubes

    MOUNTAIN of eggplant

  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) kosher salt
  • 1 can(s) (28-ounce) fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon(s) tomato pasta
  • 1 pound(s) garganelli or whole-wheat penne
  • 1/2 cup(s) chopped basil
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Crushed red pepper flakes

all of the ingredients needed, ready to go!


Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to boil for pasta. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 3 minutes.

    2. Add eggplant and kosher salt.

    3. Saute over high heat 5 minutes longer, or until eggplant is lightly browned.
     Add tomatoes and tomato paste; cover and cook 3 minutes longer, until eggplant is tender.

 4. Add the pasta to boiling water and cook as package directs, about 8 minutes. Drain pasta; return to pot.

5. Add eggplant sauce and chopped basil. Top servings with dollops of ricotta cheese and a sprinkling of crushed red pepper flakes.

tomato + eggplant mixture

all together now

overhead shot of dinner 🙂

& a dollop of ricotta 😉

& that was that 🙂 It was quite delicious. I actually really LOVE the flavor of eggplant. After this meal, it confirmed my love even more!

This morning I got off to a great start- did 7 miles in under an hour!! 🙂 Since my half marathon is coming up, I don’t have too many more long runs to do. Even though I don’t really consider 7 miles a ‘long run,’ but it’s a fair amount of milage 😀

I’m such a nerd & totally did not realize that I had hit the incline button on the treadmill, so I was actually doing some incline work as well- as I was running. I happened to notice around mile 5 that I had incline on …but I figured hey, I didn’t notice, so I’ll just leave it 🙂

This morning’s breakfast was the usual- egg whites, & an English muffin with peanut butter & 1/2 of a banana…oh & I threw on some low sugar grape jelly too! (HOW exciting, I know– JK!! ;))
 

So, GUESS WHAT?! Tomorrow my two cousins are coming into town & we are all going to go to dinner- me, my sister (who’s having the baby), my two cousins & my aunt!!! (my Mom & other sister might come too- but they aren’t sure yet) I’m SUPER excited!! I haven’t gotten to see them all in about a year- well, my cousins that is. I’m REALLY close to one of my cousins, she is more like a sister. We all got together last year for her wedding- which was a cruise- how cool, right?! And I can’t believe it has already been a YEAR since we’ve seen each other. Oh how time flies.

Well, I’m off- gotta do some work…booooo 😀

Enjoy the rest of your day!!!!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Well, I still consider 7 miles a long run 😉 Though it’s getting easier for me. Nice job!! I love eggplant. I think it’s one of those misunderstood veggies. Hope you have a great rest of the day!

    Reply
  2. um yummy i love eggplant! come visit me in jax 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love eggplant. We grow them in our garden and they get to be huge. They are so filling with all that fiber too. 7 miles in under an hour? Great work!

    Hope work was well. 🙂

    Reply
  4. What marathon are you doing?

    Reply
  5. i like that recipe!! especially with the hunk of ricotta on top! MMMM! good for you for getting the main stuff done. oh my gosh i’m the same way – i have so many random magazine subscriptions that i’ve signed up for free somehow. when they come i’m like “what the?!” …like men’s health..uhhh. but i’ll take it!! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 20, 2010

    Looks great- I heart eggplant!

    Reply
  7. I have never tried eggplant–looks like a simple way to use it though!

    Reply
  8. have you heard back form the doc about all your tests and stuff?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

