Baby Shower & Big Surprise

Well, I’m baaaacccccckkkkk 😀

What an EXCITING weekend! I cannot wait to share with you ALL of the surprises that happened! It sort of felt like Christmas, but in October.

First things first, I got a great workout in before work on Friday (Legs + cardio day) & I decided to break out my NEW jeggings & wear them to work. (We are allowed to wear jeans on Fridays.) I was unsure as to how I would feel about wearing them, but I actually ended up REALLY liking them, they are SUPER comfy! & they work will with long shirts/ tunics & flats.

new jeggings

Worn with flats:

cute flats

Friday was my follow up doctor’s appointment. I left work at 3pm so that I could make it to my appointment at 3:30pm. Thankfully my boss is REALLY understanding about doctor’s appointments & anything else related…which I am VERY thankful for.
I got ‘ok’ news- pretty just as I said before, still a lot of inflammation- but the good news is that it is all indicating JUST Crohn’s disease, no signs of cancer! But the bad news is that my options for new medications are kind of limited. The side effects are pretty severe in the new medication he was thinking of putting me on. The current medication that I’m on does not seem to be controlling the Crohn’s, which is why he wanted to switch it. But he upped the dosage, so I am going to go back in a few weeks to see how I’m doing with just changing my dosage on my current medication. The side effects are very mild on what I’m on now.
We shall see what happens. I’ll keep you updated, as I know 🙂

After my appointment, I came home & finished cleaning up the house & getting dinner prepped for my Mom & sister who were coming into town to stay with us! I decided to make a homemade chicken pot pie & some of the Pasta alla Norma I had just made, since we both really liked it. I also texted my sister Friday morning & asked her what they would like, and she said ‘pasta or chicken.’ I figured I would give them both 🙂

I also made some appetizers- one including the EASIEST buffalo dip EVER.

ingredients

Only THREE ingredients needed:
-1 jar cheese dip (near the salsa in the grocery store)
-10 oz can of white meat chicken
-1/2 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce.

Mix all ingredients together & bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.

I also made ‘Dump Cake’ for dessert. Again, EASIEST recipe ever.

ingredients

-1 can pie filling (your choice, I used ‘Lite Cherry’)
-1 box yellow cake mix
-about 1/4 cup sweetened coconut
-about 1/4 cup chopped pecans

All you do is literally DUMP everything into a greased baking dish, (your choice as well). Layer it- fruit, cake mix, coconut & pecans.

Reduced sugar cake mix

coconut & pecans sprinkled on top

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes, or until browned on top.

I also made some Sangria for my Mom to enjoy. She LOVES the stuff! Normally I make it ALL homemade, but this time I grabbed some of this at the store:

And added my special ingredients to this mix- including some brandy, triple sec & sliced apples 🙂
Of course I had to sample a little before they got here 😉

it got the smile of approval 😉

We spent the rest of the night enjoying each other’s company. Craig had his basketball draft around 9pm, so we got to have some Mom + daughter + daughter time. We were only missing ONE other daughter…but we would be seeing her in the morning.

Saturday morning Craig & I got up & headed to the gym. Saturday was a FULL BODY weight workout day. My workout included arms, shoulders, legs, & back! It felt good to start my day off with a workout, since I knew we had big plans for later.

After our workout, I ran home to get ready for my sister’s baby shower! I grabbed a protein shake to drink in the car for breakfast, but I just really wasn’t feeling it…so I just drake a little bit of it. Then it was time to go & set up everything for her shower. Here are some of the before pictures.

Cake for baby Ethan- the top part was Key Lime Cake & the bottom was Carmel Machiato!

The center pieces

The room it was held in

Shower favors- sugar cookies in the shape of baby things 🙂

my cousin Amy & sister Erin

my sister & cousin Betsy

the gift table that kept growing & growing 🙂

Some of my favorite pictures of my sister opening her gifts:

"Daddy's Hugs are the Best" haha- Love her face 😀

her little helpers 🙂

"Chicks Dig Me"

Isn't my sister BEAUTIFUL??? (FSU Towel & Bib. Hank, her husband went to FSU)

My Mom & My Sister

All the ladies- Jen, Amy, Erin, Bets & Me

Jen, My Mom, Erin & Me

Sisters

Her shower was AWESOME. We all had a great time. She felt so blessed & was so surprised by all of her gifts. I was so happy to have us all together to celebrate the soon to be birth (December 11th is her due date) of little Ethan!

After the shower, the girls decided to go ahead & try on the bridesmaids dresses that I had picked out for them. We headed to David’s Bridal after dropping off all of the gifts at my sister’s house.
They actually had THE DRESS in stock that I would be having them wear, in the CORRECT color. Normally they only have the teal in stock, but they actually had the ‘regency’ one as well. There was only ONE of the color, but we still got to see it on.

My cousins 🙂 Amy is the dress I picked. (But NO flowers on the side of the dress)

3 out of 6 of my bridesmaids!! Jen, Amy, Bets

All of my girls are soooooo beautiful 😀 😀

I also tried on my dress for them to see. They all thought it was really pretty & I got to see if with my shoes on 🙂 I just LOVED putting it on again, I cannot wait to wear it ‘for real.’ LOL!

Now, after all of the trying on of the dresses was when they all TOTALLY CAUGHT ME BY SURPRISE!

With that, I’ll leave you in suspense 😉 But, here is a LITTLE preview of what is in store…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 24, 2010

    Your eyes look so pretty in all the pics! Your sis is adorable… guessing you had some type of shower?!?!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like the shower was a success! Love all the pictures. Thanks for sharing. I guess OK news is better than bad news right??? Hope you have a great evening.

    Reply
  3. I love that picture of you at the end, it is so cute. Gosh-I would want to be a bridesmaid at your wedding the dresses are beautiful.

    I may have to take your buffalo chicken recipe for football parties my boyfriend always throws.

    Reply
  4. you really do have the prettiest eyes! LOVE these pics!! and those dresses are GORGEOUS! and that dip- yum! great weekend girl!

    Reply
  5. I just made my first dump cake a couple weeks ago and used blueberry filling! It was awesome 🙂

    Reply
  1. My Beliefs. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

