New Recipe & Food OVERLOAD.

Happy Sunday FUNday 😀
Even though it IS a Ravens bye week this week, we still find ourselves SURROUNDED by football..not that it surprises you I’m sure! 🙂

I have LOTS of food pictures for you, & some recipes!

On Friday we took Craig’s parents to Winter Park to go to the Wine Room & then took them to 310 (the place I went last weekend where my surprise bridal party was) for dinner. It was really good- Wine Room was definitely my favorite part 🙂 There are about 100 different wines that you can try- you get a card when you come in- you put money on it, then you can go around & get samples from any wine that you like. You just put your card into the machine, then punch on how much you want (1 oz, 2oz, or 4oz) and each wine sample is priced differently, depending on what you pick.

wine room- the different wine machine(source)

 This place is SO cool- if you are ever in the area&  you like different types of wine & beer, then you will LOVE it here.

Dinner was really good too- I had the same as last week- seared tuna salad. DELISH! 😀

Saturday my parents came down & I made lunch & dinner for everyone.
On the list for appetizers/ lunch:
-Deviled eggs (everyone raves about mine, not trying to be cocky or anything- but I honestly think it’s the addition of the chopped celery & a sprinkle of Old Bay- just in case you wanted to try it 😉 I also use garlic powder, salt, pepper & parsley. )
-Pigs in a blanket
-Chips & French Onion Dip
-Tortilla chips & my Easy chicken buffalo dip
-Assorted cheese & Ritz ‘munchable’ crackers- they are SO good! Just found them at Publix & figured I would try them.
-Baby carrots & celery slices with roasted garlic hummus & regular hummus

the big ol' spread!

assorted cheese & those munchables

the pigs in a blanket were a big hit! (served them with ketchup, mustard & sweet chili sauce)

Now for dinner- I tried something that I have never made before- Basil Pesto! I have had pesto before, and I wasn’t a fan, but it wasn’t BASIL pesto. This stuff ROCKS! & pesto is SO easy to make- gotta love that too 🙂 I found the recipe on Erin’s Food Files blog, & I modified a few things to make it enough for 6 people.

Basil Pesto Chicken Pasta with Sundried Tomatos

Ingredients:

PESTO:
Pesto: (all amounts are approx)
1 1/2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
5 Tablespoons Parmesan-Reggiano
2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
6 Tablespoons pine nuts
8 garlic cloves (I LOVE garlic, so it might be a bit extreme for some people, but I always like triple the amount needed)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

REMAINING INGREDIENTS:
1  1/2 boxes of whole wheat pasta (I used a mix of medium shells & penne pasta)
4 chicken breasts
2/3 cup sundried tomatoes
italian seasoning

Directions:

PESTO:
Combine all ingredients except oil in food processor. Add half the oil, and process until smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl when necessary, and slowly add in as much of the remaining oil as you desire to reach your desired consistency. Set aside.



SIDE NOTE: I CANNOT believe how much this TINY bag of pine nuts cost- $6.99!! For freakin’ NUTS! I was amazed, but I had to ge tthem to make the pesto. I was just in SHOCK!! I wonder why they are SO expensive.

PASTA:
Cook pasta according to package instructions.

Meanwhile season chicken with italian seasoning, and heat grill or skillet over medium high heat (I used the trusty George Foreman Grill). Cook chicken breasts until done. Slice chicken into bite-sized pieces. I marinated the chicken breasts for about 30 minutes in an olive oil vinegarette before roasting them at 425 degrees for 30 minutes, or until the juices run clear. Then I cut them up into bite size pieces.

Toss chicken, pasta, & sundried tomatoes in a bowl until well combined.

Ok, this stuff is SO good! Everyone was RAVING about how good it was!

I was really happy with how it turned out- quite DELICIOUS flavor!! If you like pesto, TRY this. If you don’t like pesto, TRY THIS too 🙂 I think you’ll be impressed. I know I was. (& it’s hard to mess up ;))

For dessert I made two different pies- one that I found on The Pioneer Woman’s site & the other was found on the back of Libby’s canned pumpkin.

The First:
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, courtesy of The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

  • FOR CRUST
  • 25 whole Oreos
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter, Melted
  • _____
  • PEANUT BUTTER FILLING:
  • 1 cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 package (8 Ounce) Softened Cream Cheese
  • 1-¼ cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 package (8 Ounce) Cool Whip, Thawed

Preparation Instructions

Crust:
Crush the Oreos until they’re fine crumbs. Pour melted butter over the top and stir with a fork to combine. Press into pie pan and bake at 350 degrees for 5 to 7 minutes, or until set.

Remove from oven and allow to cool completely.

Filling:
Beat the peanut butter with the cream cheese until smooth. Add powdered sugar and beat until smooth. Add in the thawed Cool Whip and beat mixture until smooth, scraping the sides as needed.

Pour filling into crust, evening out the top with a knife or spatula. Chill for at least an hour before serving.

Warning: This is ultra, ultra-rich. Cut small slivers—your guests will thank you!

topped it off with Hershey's syrup & Hershey's kisses 🙂

 I made the last comment BOLD for a reason, this stuff is RICH! I had a tiny piece, just to try it & boy it is SUPER delicious, but oh SO rich! My Dad went to have a second piece of it, and was down to his last bite, but could not finish it! I was impressed with how much he could eat of it, but asked him to please not make himself sick eating it 🙂 That’s how good it was- back for 2 pieces 😀

The second: The MESSED Up, but will now only use my mess up Pumpkin Pie Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) Libby’s Canned Pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 fl. oz.) Evaporated Milk
  • 1 unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell
  • Whipped cream (optional

Directions

MIX sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk.

POUR into pie shell.

BAKE in preheated 425° F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350° F; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate. Top with whipped cream before serving.

See the RED ingredient- the evaporated milk? Well, I accidently ONLY grabbed sweetened condensed milk & had NO time to run to the grocery store, so instead I substiuted the can of evaporated milk with 1/2 of a can of sweetened condensed milk.
I had my Mom try it, to be the guinea pig, and she said it was actually BETTER than normal pumpkin pie!
Craig’s Mom said that it made it a tad sweeter, but not too much, and she agreed, that I should use my ‘mess up recipe’ instead from now on 😀
Sometimes a mess up in the kitchen can turn into a good thing 🙂
We all had a really good time & enjoyed each other’s company.
My parents left around 9pm, and then I headed up to bed shortly there after, I knew I had an early morning today.
This morning I got up early to make brunch for everyone- my parents, Craig’s parents, and my Sister (Erin) & brother in law (Hank). We were going to go to a restaurant for brunch, but I just said I would make it instead 🙂
Brunch was early for a ‘brunch’ though- 9:30am, so I was limited on time.
On the menu for brunch:
-Mix of fruit (sliced apples, banana chunks & sliced strawberries) with fruit dip I found on Janetha’s blog. (all it is, is Light Cool Whip & 1 Chobani greek yogurt- I used blueberry)

mix of fruit

blueberry fruit dip

Monkey Bread/ Monkey Ball Cake (I’m sure everyone has this recipe, if not let me know & I’ll send it to you- it’s guaranteed to impress! It’s usually what I make for Craig to take into work if he has a company breakfast)

Banana Bread that my Mom made:

the spread (before the quiches)

another shot

I also made two quiches.

Two potato shells for the quiches

The Potato shell is really easy to make.
ingredients:
-3 cups shredded potato, thawed & patted dry
-1 tablespoon melted butter
-seasoned salt (eyeballed- like 1 tsp.)

mix all ingredients together, then pat into greased pie pan.

Bake at 425 for about 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

baked & ready for the toppings

Manly Man Quiche:

MANLY MAN quiche 😉

I combined:
-1 package ground pork sausage
-3 slices fried bacon
-1 cup half & half
– about 1/4 cup chopped onion
– about 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
-4 eggs
-a mix of cheddar cheese & colby jack cheese (about 3/4 cup)
-salt & pepper, to taste

Bake at 425 for about 20- 25 minutes, or until golden.

Full of meat, eggs & cheese

I definitely did not try that one, but I got GREAT reviews all around. The quiche was GONE in a matter of about 30 minutes!!!

& I made an egg white & veggie quiche for those that don’t eat pig 🙂 (including myself)
I used one of the potato shells then mixed together:
-5 egg whites
-about 1/4 cup onion
-about 1/4 cup bell pepper
-1/2 chopped tomato
-and about 1/2 cup sliced cheese (on top)
Baked it at 425 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes.

before baking

Ready to eat!

This one was a hit too 🙂 I love just making recipes up, and then having them turn out well!

I tried a bit of this, had some fruit & a piece of banana bread. I really am NOT hungry after I cook a TON of food- I kind of have to relax first, and then I can get hungry. Does this happen to anyone else?

I also made some Bloody Mary’s for everyone. I’m not a fan, but they enjoyed them 🙂

That’s all I have for now 🙂

I’ll be back later – I have something new to try for dinner. I found the recipe on one of my favorite food blogger sites 😀 (I’m sure you can guess who! 😉 )

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. aw, it all looks so good. I love anything pesto 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, all of your food pictures look so, so good!!!

    Reply
  3. I love your oreo cake that looks so Delicious. You were a baking champion this weekend. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  October 31, 2010

    The thing thing sounds so good!! I LOVE pesto. Yours looks delish and I KNOW with pine nuts- I am always horrified when I have to but a bag of them. They’re so pricy!

    Reply
  5. You’re a cooking fool! You go girl. I am the same way after I do lots and lots of cooking. Sounds like you had a good weekend. The wine bar sounds right up my alley 😉

    Reply
  6. love the new layout!
    and WOW you are a cooking machine!! your family is sooo lucky!! get it girl!

    Reply
  7. That is some great looking food! I love the “manly man”quiche 🙂

    Reply
  8. WOW, overload is right! But it all looks so good 🙂

    Reply
  9. Oh the pies look delicious! What a spread! And I’m the same way – if I make a big meal/party food I need to relax for a bit before I eat OR i go completely hog wild on all the food I just made. 🙂

    Reply
  10. I’ve been to the Wine Room and love it =) My Mom lives near there and we go every time we visit her!

    Reply
  1. Half Marathon Re-Cap « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

