Crunchy Perfection

OH Monday, how I kind of, somewhat, HATE when you arrive.
I don’t know what it is, but Mondays just really seem to be a bummer lately.
THANKFULLY this one only has like ONE more hour of work left in it- woo. hoo.

Ok, anyways, now that I’m done with my ‘Monday rant’ I have to tell ya what I made for dinner for the four of us last night. (Craig’s parents are here until Wednesday morning.)

I happened to come across Jess’ recipe for Crunchy Chicken Fingers last week, and I knew that was definitely in my ‘must make soon’ list!ย As I’ve said before, her site is one ofย my go to blogs for dinner recipes. Not only are they ‘healthified’, but they are delicious, and I have a fiance that LOVES her recipes. He always eats like 4 servings whenever I make something off her blog. It’s a win, win all the way around ๐Ÿ˜‰

Crunchy Chicken Fingers (Via Jessica ๐Ÿ™‚ )
(I just doubled theย recipe for all 4 of us- I have some HUNGRY men on my hands!!)

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken tenders

2 cups low-fat buttermilk

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

3 cups panko bread crumbs
I used this kind:

1 cup corn flake crumbs

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon pepper

For 2-24 hours, soak chicken tenders in buttermilk. I do this in a 9 x 13 baking dish.

Preheat oven to 450.

Lay a wire rack on a baking sheet and spray it with non-stick spray. In a separate bowl, mix flour, panko, corn flake crumbs, salt and pepper.

Dip the chicken tender in the panko mix and coat thoroughly, then lay on the baking sheet. Repeat with remaining chicken.

Spray each chicken piece lightly with cooking spray (it will help them crisp) and bake for 12 minutes. Flip and bake for 12 more. Let cool.

halfway there...

& Done!

Along side the chicken fingers, I served Chipotle Sweet Potato fries & green beans with mushrooms.

Dinner was a HIT & LOVED by all!!
Make those chicken fingers, you’ll love them! The combination of the panko crumbs & the corn flakes makes the PERFECT crunch ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve been the cooking queen these last couple of days that I have forgotten to share with you my workouts! No good! I have to say they have been pretty intense & I’ve become quite the sweaty beast ๐Ÿ˜‰

Friday: TOTAL upper body workout + plyometrics between each set of reps
Saturday:ย 4 mile run with Craig & lots of lunges & abs @ the end
Sunday: Park workout/ Speed workout- Sprints, tricep dips on the park benches, incline push ups on park benches, lunges around the park loop, squats @ the end of lunge sets.
Is it just me, or does anyone else just LOVE park workouts??? I think that they are so fun, even though people give you CRAZY looks– LOL! They are like what the HECK is that girl doing?!!? I love the light post to light post speed workout, using the different things in theย park for workout moves. (like benches to do dips)

The weekend was full of good food & great workouts ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s all about the balance in life ๐Ÿ˜‰

This morning’s workout was from Miss Gina, herself ๐Ÿ™‚
I did the Bridal Bootcamp- Week 1. (the workout is copied from Gina’s page, my changes/ what I did are in pink)

-Warm up 5 min cardio of choice
(I did 5 minutes at 6.5)

Superset 1: Bicep curl and tricep dip (15 of each, repeat 3 times)
(I used 15lb. DB- each hand & then did tricep straight bar pushdowns instead- using 50lb.)

Superset 2: Step-ups on the right (10), on the left (10), sumo squat and crunch (10), left (10)โ€“ repeat 2 times
(I used 15lb. DB each hand for the step-ups & a 6lb. medicine ball for the sumo squat & crunch exercises)

Cardio blast: 5 min. Start at an easy jog or walking pace with 5-6% incline. Add 1% incline every minute until you have reached 5 min (if you need to take it down before then, do it)
(I started at 5.7 pace with a 5% incline, then increased the incline each minute until I was at 9%- which was 5 minutes)

Superset 3: Pushups (12- start in full plank and drop to your knees to finish if you need to), bent-over wide row (15)- repeat 3 times
(For the bent over row, I used a 30lb. barball)

Superset 4: Stability ball back extension (12-15) and Stability ball crunch (hold a weight at the ends with both hands,keeping your arms close to your ears to make it more challenging- 15)- repeat 3 times
(For both of these exercises I used a 10lb. weight)

Cardio blast: 5 min sprints. Go for 1 min at an easy pace, 30 seconds at a very challenging pace, alternating for 5 minutes total.
(For the easy pace I used 6.5, and for the challenging pace I used 9.0)

Bent over fly and dumbbell front raise (15 of each)- repeat 3 times
(I used 8lb. DB- each hand for the flyes & 5lb. DB each hand for the raises)

-Cool down (5 minutes), stretch.

AWESOME workout. I LOVED every minute of it. I actually lost track of time, and was done before I knew it…and felt good!! I LOVE the combination of full body weights & cardio- those are always my favorite workouts.

I can’t wait to try Week 2 Bridal Bootcamp!! Printing that off today ๐Ÿ˜€

This morning’s breakfast:

the usual- egg whites & a light english muffin with peanut butter & 1/2 of a banana

Lunch:

again, the usual: greek yogurt (strawberry) with 1/2 an apple chopped up & 1/2 a sliced banana- topped with Fiber one flakes & bran

Sorry about my repetitive breakfasts & lunches. I know it’s never exciting to read about them…but they work for me, that’s why it’s hard to change. But I do change the fruit, depending on the season ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, I just found out that Randy Moss was CUT by the Vikings! Can you believe it!??!?!?! Craig always keeps me updated with the latest sports news & he just texted it to me. I was in SHOCK! I mean, he JUST joined the Vikings.

Crazy, I tell ya, just crazy!!

Anyways, I’m back to work..for a bit.
I think tonight we are having leftovers…or getting take out. (One tonight, and the other tomorrow) I need a cooking break for a bit & we have a fair amount of leftovers!

Catch ya later!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I think it’s great you’ve been cooking so much. Kind of fun sometimes. Girl I am queen of boring when it comes to breakfast and lunch. Guess that’s why I make dinner so much more difficult ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  November 1, 2010

    Jess’ recipes are da bomb! I heart her.

    Reply
  3. I get repetitive with my eating too sometimes. I’ll go a week eating the same things for breakfast and lunch. It’s usually because I’m trying to use food up or because I found smething that keeps me satisfied and I don’t want to change it.

    Reply
  4. I have a yogurt mess for breakfast every morning and the past couple of weeks have noticed my nectarines slowly going out of season. They are my absolute favorite yogurt mess fruit ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think this will be the last week, then it’ll have to be on to something else. Probably apples? Bananas? I don’t even know.

    Reply
  5. I just heard about Randy was cut! I can’t believe it either…Aram was rambling about it like it was his job.

    I love that chicken fingers recipe. It makes me want to make them right now.

    Reply
  6. I ADORE workouts like that – with cardio and weight workouts all in one. I haven’t done one at a park though. I used to hit up a local high school track for things like that a lot though. Fun stuff!

    I totally plan on making chicken tenders next week now. I always forget how much we like them!

    Reply
  7. I made those chicken fingers last Friday! They are soooo great! Matt loved them as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

