No More Dairy.

It’s Sunday FUNday! šŸ˜€

Of course that means it’s TOTAL FOOTBALL DAY.
Today it’s Dolphins v. Ravens.

Our neighbors are Dolphin fans. I have a feeling this will be one loud cul-de-sac today! You know who we are rooting for šŸ˜‰

Yesterday I WAS able to get a long-ish run in- did 7 miles in under an hour. The whole time I felt REALLY strong, which was an awesome feeling. I think my ankle was acting up on Friday due to the weather change. Do you notice that you muscles/ body kind of react to a sudden temperature change? It dropped over 20 degrees from Thursday to Friday…so I think my body was just kind of reacting. I didn’t want to push it TOO much- I was going to do 10 miles, but JUST in case my ankle wanted to act up- I kept it to 7 miles.

For lunch I made myself a protein shake. I really don’t like eating right after a run- I have to let my hunger kind of kick in first, but we had plans to go & register at Bed, Bath & Beyond, so I wanted to get some kind of fuel in my belly.

In the mix:
-1/2 scoop Elite Whey Protein powder- chocolate
-1/2 scoop Dessert protein powder- banana
-1/2 a banana
-1 cup almond milk
-1 tbsp. dark chocolate dreams peanut butter
-about 10 ice cubes

This shake ROCKED! I was SUPER impressed with it. It was PERFECT…if I do say so myself šŸ˜‰

After downing the shake, we headed to Bed, Bath & Beyond.
Here are some of my favorite things that we picked out for the registry:

ALL CLAD 10 piece set!! This is LOVE @ first site šŸ™‚

Tangarine Kitchen Aid Mixer šŸ˜€

Chop & Scoop Cutting Board- these are AWESOME!

Craig's gag gift- Shake Weight for men- HAHAHA

new comforter/ sheet set

We decided to switch the one that we picked out yesterday. (it was teal) We both liked this one more. Our other color in our room is black- so purple & black…yep, you guessed it šŸ˜‰ (you can totally tell me to shut up about the Ravens šŸ˜‰ I’ll keep it to myself if you are getting annoyed with it..I just love that team!)

We picked out a bunch more. We both had fun. We were like two little kids in a candy shop šŸ˜€ While shopping I ran & grabbed us both some iced coffee. We needed it- we had a two hour adventure at Bed, Bath & Beyond.

Now I have a question for those that are married, & if you’re not married- you can DEFINITELY share too- but I was just wondering, what are some things that you wished you had put on your registry, but forgot to add? I know there are always a few things that people forgot. Would love your thoughts šŸ™‚

The soup that I had started cooking Saturday morning smelled SO GOOD when we got back home from the store. We ended up having a late dinner, just because our lunch was kind of late too. We had dinner around 8pm.
I added the pasta & turkey kielbasa to the crock pot about 30/ 45 minutes before eating.

Doesn’t it look SO delicious?!?!!

dinner for two

served it with some buttered toast

Random Holly fact: I eat soup with a FORK.

I always have eaten it with a fork. I HATE broth.
My parents would always get upset with me for throwing out the broth growing up, but I think it’s disgusting. I know for most people it’s their favorite part, but not for me.

This morning my body did not recognize that it SHOULD be getting an extra hour of sleep, instead it got up me up bright & early.

I decided not to fight with it, and just came downstairs, made coffee & caught up on some of my shows šŸ™‚

Craig slept for a good hour or two more, and when he came downstairs he mentioned he wanted to try the new Subway breakfast sandwich.
I ran out & got the two of us breakfast.

breakfast to go

I got him the double bacon, cheese & egg sub.

breakfast for the boy

I got the egg white flat bread sandwich- with tomatos, bell peppers & lettuce. No cheese.

my breakfast flat bread

take a look on the inside...

It was good, but nothing that I would make a habit of getting. It was nothing that I couldn’t make myself. I only got something because Craig wanted to try the sandwich. He said it was good too, but nothing too special. I could of also made his sandwich myself.
Oh well, everything’s worth a try, right?!

So I have some news: I am officially lactose intolerant. Honestly, it’s not a big deal. I try to kind of stay away from dairy as much as I can anyways…but it kind of sucks too.
I can’t really enjoy one of my favorite things anymore: Frozen yogurt šŸ˜¦

Lately whenever I ate any kind of dairy, even like 4 small squares of cheese- my stomach goes bazerk. I get the WORST cramps & lots of other stomach problems- won’t go into it.
But, I found out that it actually come with having Crohn’s disease. Of course it depends on how drastic you have it..but that is what my lactose intolerance is caused from.

Here is some interesting information on the CAUSES of Lactose intolerance. I found it on Mayo Clinic’s website:

Result of illness or injury (secondary lactose intolerance)
This form of lactose intolerance occurs when your small intestine decreases lactase production after an illness, surgery or injury to your small intestine. It can occur as a result of intestinal diseases, such as celiac disease, gastroenteritis and an inflammatory bowel disease like Crohn’s disease. Treatment of the underlying disorder may restore lactase levels and improve signs and symptoms, though it can take time.

It just means that I really have to watch my dairy intake…otherwise my body will make me PAY BIG TIME for it. Anyone else have lactose intolerance? How do you deal with it? Any good substitutions?
My mom is actually lactose intolerant too. She drinks soy milk, rather than regular milk, and try to avoid dairy as much as she can. Sometimes though, she just takes the cost of eating dairy…I mean, sometimes it is just necessary to have it..once in a while šŸ˜‰

The weird that is that Greek yogurt doesn’t bother me when I eat it, but I think it is because of the way that it is processed..?

Well, I hope you have a FANTASTIC day šŸ˜€ Enjoy your Sunday!!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Oh no! I’m glad you found out now though instead of figuring it out years earlier.

    The shake and weights have always made me laugh. I wonder if they actually do work? Ha.

    I was debating actually trying subway or Quiznos breakfast a few days ago but turned to pancakes once again instead. One day I’ll be more daring.

    Reply
    • I know, I wonder if they work too.
      Everytime I look at our registry I laugh when I see the shake weight!! haha šŸ˜€
      If Quiznos breakfast is like Subway’s, I’d say skip it…totally not worth it. I’d stick to the pancakes- those are always guaranteed good šŸ˜€

      Reply
  2. Hope you’re having a great day. Good job on the run and listening to your body and not pushing it. Sometimes that’s the hard part. Interesting that Greek yogurt doesn’t bother you. My hubby was told he has dairy allergies last year. He’s taking shots for all of his allergies and if he has dairy, he takes some lactaid pill. Wonder if that might help you? I can’t think of anything that I wished we put on our registry actually. Ours was mostly about upgrading our stuff.

    Reply
  3. Nellie

     /  November 7, 2010

    Try the Lactaid pills. I’ve been lactose intolerant since my early 20’s and those pills are a lifesaver. Without them, the smallest amount of dairy makes my stomach go crazy for days but with them I have no issues whatsoever. I just take 2 right before eating anything dairy and keep taking 1 every half an hour after if I’m still eating dairy. The pills aren’t cheap but they are so worth it! Oh, and greek yogurt doesn’t bother me a bit either.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the advice! I will have to look into those- do you use the Lactaid brand? I googled them after reading your comment to read about them. I would love to give them a try, because my stomach does the same- it is in SO MUCH PAIN after eating any kind of dairy. I would love to find a remedy for it, since I LOVE frozen yogurt šŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Greek yogurt has less carbs (less sugar) meaning that there is less lactose in it. That’s why it’s usually easier for people with lactose intolerance to digest šŸ™‚ My boyfriend’s mom is extremely sensitive though so she doesn’t eat any yogurt or milk and only some hard cheeses that she can tolerate.

    Reply
  5. that is crazy that yogurt doesnt upset your tummy!! i mean i guess that is awesome tho!! šŸ™‚ hehe. i am def adding a FRENCH PRESS to my wedding registry!!! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I do not know how you manage to keep your Crohn’s under control with so many restrictions. Kudos to you! I love the tangerine Kitchen Aid mixer on your list, so cute!

    Reply
  7. She’s showing me breakfast sammiches when I’m STARVING right now!!! Okay, okay. I’ll calm down. It’s not your fault my stomach is raging hungry.

    Reply
  8. the only reason i would get married right now is so i could have the green apple kitchenaid. hahaha

    Reply
  9. WHAT!!! lactose intolerant?? Ugh that is horrible! I don’t know what I would do without greek yogurt, soft serve, cottage cheese or milk šŸ˜¦ that’s so sad!

    On a happier note – I will be so jealous of your kitchen mixer šŸ™‚ that will be on my wedding registry for sure!! First step though, I should probably get a boyfriend haha.

    Reply
  1. So Good That We’re Having Them Again « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

