Food Galore!

Good morning!

I have a lot to tell ya 🙂 First, here are those pictures of the hotel gym that I was telling you about:

full body weight machine

treadmill

You can see why both days at the hotel were pure cardio days. On Thursdays I did a bunch of running, incline walking & plyometrics. I was a sweaty MESS when I finished working out.
It was SO NICE to be home on Thursday night. Although  I got the WORST headache I have EVER had that night. I actually could not even watch the whole Ravens game (which was rather frustrating- due to the refs)- I went upstairs to lay down with all of the lights out because I was in so much pain. Any kind of movement killed me. It was the weirdest thing.

Friday was NON STOP. I didn’t even take any pictures of any meals because it was SO BUSY. I had an unexpected meeting with clients…but I am learning so much at work!! It’s a really good feeling & I really enjoy learning all that I am.

Saturday was a really fun day 🙂 First, we both woke up early- I grabbed 2 pieces of toast & then we hit the gym- HARD! After having limited availability at the hotel gym- only cardio workouts- I was ready to HIT THE WEIGHTS!! 😀

I did biceps & triceps yesterday. I did 5 sets of supersets- 2 exercises each set- 12 reps of each. Between each set I got on the treadmill & ran .5 miles. I also included some ab exercises & more running. Guess I can’t get away from running 😉 It was a great workout!! I felt SO good after.
Funny story about the gym- when I was on the treadmill between sets I was watching E! News & they kept showing previews for what was ‘upcoming’ on the show- well, the main topic was what Jessica Simpson thought of Nick Lachey’s new engagement to Vanessa Minnillo.

I definitely wanted to hear that story, so I kept running back & forth to my treadmill & to the weights- LOL! It also made me think of my friend, Jenna– who is a real life & blog friend. (we went to high school together) She LOVES Jessica Simpson & always has. 🙂

Anyways, after we were done working out & showering- it was almost lunch time..so we figured we would just kind of skip breakfast & go straight to lunch.

Craig wanted to go & look at new couches because he HATES the one we have. He complains about it every night. He happened to see a commericial that morning for couches on sale & asked me if I would go with him to look. Sounded like a plan to me & it would kind of break up studying as well. On our way to look at couches, he suggested we go to Bojangles. He really wanted to get the breakfast sandwich. Sounded good to me- I got a grilled chicken salad & had some fries too. (unpictured)

Bojangles has AWESOME food. I know it’s fast food & typically fast food restaurants do not have good salads- but this one was really good! I was impressed. The chicken was not all fatty- like I have found in most fast food salads- and there was a bunch of it.
Of course their fries are the BEST fast food fries, in my opinion! I could probably just eat french fries there, but I don’t think that would be too healthy 😉 Gotta balance it out!

After eating lunch, we headed to start our furniture shopping. The first place we went to had a nice sectional, and it was pretty much exactly what we were looking for, but it was just too big.
Then we went to Ashley’s furniture & found a sectional that was a PERFECT fit- literally. It will fit in the living room perfectly- any bigger & it wouldn’t work.
This is the one we picked out- in the same color:

Now we just have to wait for it to be delivered- which is not until November 24th. So it gives us time to sell our old couches & end tables. Hopefully we can sell it before the 24th!!

When we headed back home it was time to hit the books. Craig cleaned out the shed & made it look all pretty 😉 I wish I had gotten before & after pics- it is a HUGE difference! Most of it is my stuff…but I have a hard time getting rid of certain things.

I had an afternoon snack- since I was a tad hungry…and I needed some brain fuel 😉

favorite snack- apple & peanut butter

When dinner time rolled around, I knew exactly what recipe I wanted to try. Janetha’s Mexican casserole! It sounded really good- I loved the mix of things involved in the casserole. I changed a few things, which I indicated below in purple.  

ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey, chicken or beef ( I used 3 shredded chicken breasts- I just cooked them in the crock pot & shredded them)
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • ADDED in: 3/4 cup fresh mushrooms
  • 1 packet low sodium taco seasoning
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans
  • 2-3 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 (11 oz) can green enchilada sauce
  • 1 cup 0% plain greek yogurt (can sub sour cream)
  • 1 cup  1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 (4.5 oz) can diced green chiles
  • avocado or guacamole for garnish
  • serve with whole wheat tortillas I made homemade corn bread instead 

directions:

in a large, deep skillet, sauté your onion and bell pepper and mushroomsover medium-high heat.

when they start to soften, add your ground turkey Shredded chicken(omit if you are vegan/vegetarian.. this would still taste great!).

throw in the taco seasoning. i just put it in alone and ignore the directions on the packet that tell you to add water.  throw in your rice, tomatoes and black beans.

mix well.

next up: enchilada sauce. pour it in and mix well.

added the enchilada sauce AND a small can of chopped chile peppers as well- Janetha's recommendation 🙂

time to add your greek yogurt. again, you can omit this or use a vegan version if you don’t do dairy.

mix the yogurt in.
Pour into a greased 13x 9 inch pan. You can add cheese into the chicken mix, but I did not- since the dairy bothers me.

Sprinkle a little cheese on top. Then cover with foil & bake at 350 degrees for about 30- 45 minutes.

BAKED & ready to DEVOUR!

If you like guacamole, you should make it to go with your casserole. It is delicious! All I did was take two avocados, smash them, add one chopped tomato & some onion powder, fresh garlic & salt- mix well.

if you leave the avocado stone IN the guacamole it stops it from turning brown!

Along with this I made homemade cornbread! I’ve never made cornbread from scratch, I typically use Jiffy brand. I was feeling the urge to try something new, so I ventured out & headed to my Betty Crocker cookbook for some help. 🙂

thanks, Betty 😉

Ingredients:
-1 cup milk

whenever a recipe calls for milk, this is what I use- Almond Milk

-1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
-1 large egg
-1   1/4 cups yellow corn meal

-1 cup all purpose flour
-1/2 cup sugar (or, splenda)
-1 tbsp. baking powder
-1/2 tsp. salt
-honey

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease an 8×8 pan.
2. Mix together milk, egg & butter. Once it is well mixed, mix in remaining ingredients.
3. Pour into the greased 8×8 pan & drizzle it with honey.

Bake 20- 25 minutes until golden brown.


Dinner is served:

This casserole is AWESOME!! We both went back for seconds 😀 I was STUFFED when we finished dinner…but so worth it!

I also made Craig a martini for a pre- dinner drink- no drinks for me though 😦 Had to keep my mind sharp for those books 😉 I’m getting these Gin martinis down to a science!! I always have to figure out which is 2 parts to 1 part. I need to remember 2 parts GIN, one part Vermouth.

This morning I ran to the grocery store around 7:30am, but when I got there, I saw they didn’t open until 8am so I had to hang out in my car for a bit. I LOVE going grocery shopping early- it makes it SO much nicer. No crowds to fight, clear aisles & just so much less people. SO NICE.
I got our groceries for the week, and I also got some WHOLE bean coffee for our new coffee grinder!!



MMMMM fresh coffee smells SO good!! I LOVED using the new coffee grinder. We both thought it just tasted so much better & more fresh. I think I MIGHT just make more this afternoon..it was that good 😉

I made a re-created Egg McMuffin for Craig, for breakfast this morning.
It’s super easy to make & I knew he would like it.

Ingredients:
-1 English muffin
-2 eggs, scrambled
-2 pieces Canadian bacon
-1 slice Provolone cheese (or cheese of your choice)

ingredients

1. Cook canadian bacon for about 2 mintes each side over medium high heat.
2. In the same pan, cook the eggs- NOT breaking them up- just cook them as one whole piece- like an omelet.

3. Put cheese in the middle of the egg.
4. Put one slice of Canadian bacon on each side of the English muffin.

5. Fold egg up so that it will fit onto the English muffin. Put the other half of the English muffin on top of the egg. Eat & enjoy!

I didn’t eat this, since I don’t eat pig, but Craig said it was really good 😀

For my breakfast, and the other half of Craig’s breakfast I made silver dollar pancakes! I love little pancakes- it reminds me of when I was growing up, my mom would always make them for us 🙂

chocolate chip & peanut butter chip pancakes for Craig

My mini breakfast 😀

Yummmmm! 🙂

today will include a lot of studying & some running or maybe some incline walking today- I’ll play it by ear & see what I feel like doing 😉

Hope you enjoy your Sunday!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. janetha

     /  November 14, 2010

    Yum! Everything looks great–especially the pancakes. I love That casserole and wish I could put shrooms in mine! Good luck studying 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love your couch! It looks like it will be comfy. All the food looks great… especially the casserole.

    Reply
  3. I hear you on hitting the weights after having to take a break b/c of travel. Sounds like you had a migraine and those suck. Congrats on finding the perfect couch. That’s always such a great feeling – find the right piece of furniture or decor.

    Reply
  4. That Mexican casserole dinner looks DEEEElish! Lovin’ the cornbread to go along with it too. 🙂

    Reply
  5. And did you see that Jessica is now engaged too!

    Reply
  6. Um – HOLY COW that Mexican casserole looks to die for!!! I need to make that one time. Hahah and I love my Jessica Simpson shout out. I was so crazy about her…I mean I still am but you know 🙂 Now she is engaged too. How funny!

    Hope you have a wonderful Monday!

    Reply
  7. I have the same plates at my house. Well-my housemate does and I steal them from her sometimes ha. I love your mini pancakes-so cute. I always feel changing the size of the pancakes makes a difference in how fluffy they are…might just be in my mind ha.

    All your food looks so good. I also love Starbucks fresh coffee. Once I began that addiction-it’s hard to go back.

    Reply
  8. Cornbread is my absolute FAVORITE!! And those pancakes look awesome. Yum!

    Nicely done!

    Reply
  1. I Broke ‘THE’ Rule. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

