I Broke ‘THE’ Rule.

Hey There ๐Ÿ˜€

Yesterday started out with a fantastic upper body (chest, shoulders & back) workout followed by about 30 minutes of cardio. I LOVE waking up somewhat early on Saturday & knocking out my workout early.

After the workout, we came home & had cereal for breakfast- OH so exciting, I know ๐Ÿ˜‰ A little while later I headed to Target to get some groceries for the week. While there, I just HAD to go & look at all of the Christmas items. I just LOVE decorating for Christmas- the house gets COVERED in decorations- including the front door. Normally I wrap the front door in wrapping paper & then put a big bow on it- like it’s a present. ๐Ÿ™‚ I swear I get all of this extreme Christmas decorating from my Mom.

Well, anyways, typically I do NOT put up any kind of Christmas items until the day after Thanksgiving. It’s just one of those KNOWN rules.ย There is also aย RULE toย not listen toย Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving too. ย Confession: Yesterday I broke the rule!

At Target I found some REALLY cute Christmas tree glass balls.

AND they are black & purple!! You know what that means— Rย Aย VENS Christmas tree ๐Ÿ˜€

NOT only are they Ravens colors, but they are also our Wedding colors ๐Ÿ™‚

Since we will not be in town for Thanksgiving (we’re spending it with my parents ๐Ÿ™‚ ), or a few days after Thanksgiving, I made THE decision to put up our Christmas tree yesterday.
I just figured that I would not feel like putting it up late on Sunday night, when we get back. I also just LOVE looking at the Christmas tree, so why not enjoy it a few days early ๐Ÿ™‚

It started out like this:

Confession: Yes, I do have a fake tree ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Although, one day we will put up a real tree instead. I just LOVE that smell.

Glass ball everywhere! (For some reason they look blue in the picture, but they really are purple.)

Mid way point.

No lights yet.

And the FINAL product ๐Ÿ˜€

& a little up CLOSE look ๐Ÿ˜‰

After getting the Christmas tree up, I figured I would start dinner. Tonight’s dinner was something new I found, based off of this recipe.ย I changed a few things, & below is my recipe.

Cheddar Cheese Cracker Turkey Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup minced red onion
  • 1/2 tsp. celery salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup crushed cheese flavored crackers

1. Prehead oven to 400 degrees.
2. Mix together all ingredients in a large bowl.

3. Shape into burger patties & place on a sprayed baking sheet.

4. Bake for about 20 minutes, flipping at the half way point.
If you want, add a slice of cheese to them, & let bake for about 2 minutes more, or until cheese is melted.

Cheese burgers for the boy ๐Ÿ˜€

I served these burgers on 100 calorie buns that I found. They were not the Sandwich Thins, but actual hamburger buns.


Along with the burgers I made spicy sweet potato fries & mixed baby veggies.

Neither of us were really feelin’ the fries, so we ended up tossing most of them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hate wasting food, but I also hate eating something when I’m just not feelin like it.

These on the other hand, were delicious ๐Ÿ˜€

Dinner, all together!

It was a good Saturday night meal. We finished up the night with watching Edge of Darkness.

Which was actually a lot better than what I expected!

This morning I woke up early to get started on breakfast.
Last Saturday we ate at Bojangles…and ever since, I have been determined to re-create that ‘Botato Rounds.’ Part of Craig’s meal that he ordered included these, and he was kind enough to let me try one ๐Ÿ˜‰ We both ‘oooooooed’ & ‘awwwwed’ at HOW good they were. While eating it, I was trying to pin point the exact seasonings & flavors that they used. Well, I’m happy to say, I think I might of NAILED the recipe exactly!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Botato Rounds- Re-created ๐Ÿ™‚
Ingredients:

-2 cups shredded potato
-1 egg
-1/4 cup flour
-1 tsp. celery salt
-1 tsp. seasoned salt
-1/2 tsp. pepper
-1/4 cup mined onion
-oil, for frying

1. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.

2. Shape the mixture into medium-sized hashbrowns.

3. Place just enough oil in the bottom of a pan- about 1/4 cup (if that) & heat it over medium heat.
Wait until the oil is bubbly & add the hashbrown rounds to the pan.

4. Cook the rounds on each side for about 3 minutes, or until golden brown. You will HAVE to keep your eye on these, as you are cooking with oil (Which is always scary because of the splattering), but also they can burn really easily.

5. After cooking on both sides, add the browns to a plate covered in paper towels, to absorb the grease.

6. Eat & ENJOY!! (they are good with some ketchup…or by themselves ๐Ÿ™‚ )

I also made breakfast sandwiches for both of us- For Craig: it was made with 2 eggs, 2 pieces canadian bacon, & some colby jack cheese.

Craig Sandwich.

My sandwich: just 2 egg whites & a TINY TINY sprinkling of cheese. (otherwise it KILLS my belly)

It was QUITE the Sunday breakfast, if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now, I have to comment on something that has been bothering me a lot lately.
You see, I am supposed to have my half marathon on Thursday! WOOHOO!
But, I’m REALLY going to have to listen to my body. Yesterday I woke up with some pretty bad knee pain. My knee has been KILLING lately, but it has been in spurts- it’s never constant. On Thursday it was pretty bad…but yesterday it was worse- like it hurt to walk..but it got better as the day went on. Like I was fine to workout at the gym.

Another issue that I’m having is the on-going, constant battle with this Crohn’s disease. I know all of you know all about my battle with it, so no need to go into it. But here’s the deal (& PLEASE forgive me, if you find this to be TMI) but everytime I have done a long run, I have ran on the treadmill. I have YET to venture outdoors to run my long runs. It has nothing to do with running on cement, or ANYTHING to do with that…it’s ALL about my STOMACH. I am TERRIFIED to get stuck in the middle of a run with the feeling of having to ‘go’ NOW. (& by go- I think you know what I mean…again, sorry, TMI) And, I have to admit….everytime I have done a long run, I have been SO thankful that I am inside on the treadmill…and that the bathroom is RIGHT there…because, YES, I have used it…EVERY. FREAKING. TIME. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I FREAKING HATE HAVING THIS CROHN’S DISEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, I’m done ‘yelling’ now. The race just worries me because WHAT IF I HAVE TO GO in the middle of the race?! What am I supposed to do!? On the other hand…I could be COMPLETELY fine. It’s all a gamble I suppose.

You see the worst part is that I have NO problem with the distance. I run 13.1 miles at least once a week during my long runs. So it’s nothing about the distance. It’s just my stomach & if it will co-operate.

I have already paid for the race..and REALLY want to run it! I LOVE the course, I’ve ran it before- it’s so pretty.

So, now I ask of you for advice/ thoughts/ ideas/ anything.

Love you all! โค & Thanks for letting me ramble!

Now, I’m off to go & work on a SPECIAL surprise recipe that I have for you later ๐Ÿ™‚
I also need to get my tush on the treadmill- looks like I will be doing some kind of HIIT workout today- wooohoo- love those! ๐Ÿ˜€

xoxoxo

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I suppose you have a valid excuse for breaking the rule ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve already seen lights up on houses so I think you’re fine. As for the race, I have no real advice. Don’t most longer runs have potties along the way? Maybe you could contact someone and find out about that? sorry, wish I had some advice or some helpful words of encouragement.

    Reply
  2. Those turkey burgers look delicious! We picked up some ground turkey at the store this week and I had not decided what I was going to make with it yet…decision is made…I will be trying those burgers!

    I can not wait to decorate for Christmas! I will start next weekend but we won’t be getting our tree for a few more weeks yet since it’s a real one. I’m anxiously awaiting the Christmas music on the radio too!! I just LOVE the holiday season!!!

    Reply
  3. Elizabeth

     /  November 21, 2010

    I know people that have “gone” mid-marathon and they don’t have Crohn’s disease. I know it’s that much more difficult for you but don’t let it hold you back!! Good luck!!

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  November 21, 2010

    All your food looks awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ You are so cute with your Ravens tree. I just told my bf about it, hahaha.

    Good luck with the race girl- what a pain!

    Reply
  5. I have given up on the Panthers this year ha. So I can’t be too upset the Ravens won, since they are my second favorite team ha.

    Don’t let Crohns hold you back. I would ask about it at the starting line and if nothing else-I’m sure there is somewhere you can go hide in bushes or something. Trust me-been there and done that. Most long races have them though and if not, it is certainly a valid point to bring up. Believe me, anything above 7 miles girl you better believe I find myself some woods.

    Reply
  6. love the tree! target has the best seasonal stuff!!! NICE breakfast!!

    Reply
  7. I can’t wait to get our tree. I love Christmas decor! Your burger dinner looks awesome. I am so sorry about your treadmill woes. I know Marshall can relate and always has to be near a bathroom ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hang in there.

    Reply
  8. I broke one of the rules too! I have been listening to Christmas music for the past few weeks ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re getting me so excited about putting the tree up and decorating!

    Reply
  1. Half Marathon Re-Cap « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

