Half Marathon Re-Cap

Hi!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Sorry I have been MIA in the blog world for a bit, I have been enjoying some great time with my family & friends.

On Wednesday afternoon we got our new couch! YAY! We were told that the delivery would be between “12pm & 4pm,” (might I add the mostย BROADEST time EVER)ย so I figured that we would not get it delivered until around 4pm since I wanted to get on the road. But, much to my surprise, they got here around 2pm. It only took about 15 minutes for them to move everything in & we were on the road by 3pm. Not bad, huh?! We arrived in Jacksonville around 5:30pm, and only hit a little bit of traffic.

When we got to my house, my Mom got to making dinner for us. She made a special dinner for me, since I had my half marathon the next day- only the BEST food for pre-race- Pasta & tomato sauce..plus garlic bread. Delish ๐Ÿ˜€

HEADS UP: There are no pictures of food in this post. I really just didn’t feel like taking pictures of everything I ate, I really just wanted to enjoy the time with my family, I hope you understand.

The rest of the night was spent catching up with them & playing with their 4 legged ‘kids.’ My parents have 3 cats- Bradley, B.C & Sandy. They now have to feed them all separately since one of them (Bradley) is a little porker. (but he’s super cute) So the cats now KNOW what time exactly they are to be fed, and they get breakfast, lunch & dinner. When it’s that ‘time’ they are all like little sharks- they just swarm the kitchen.

There’s two of them (B.C is on the far left, couldn’t get her in the picture)- Bradley is on the left & Sandy on the right. They look like twins. The two of them are known as ‘heckle’ & ‘jeckle’ because they are ALWAYS into something.

That’s Mr. Porky himself, Bradley ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s really notย that big, he’s just got a little belly. He’s quite a funny little thing!

The next morning, Thursday- THANKSGIVING– was the BIG day- Half marathon time!

^ that’s my race number (had to black out some info)

Ok, I lied- one picture of food- my pre-race breakfast:

That would be an English muffin with Dark chocolate dreams peanut butter & a half of a banana. 2 cups of coffee were not pictured.

Craig was my photographer for the day ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are some shots he got…

Start/ Finish line– it was a bit foggy that morning!

Cop car that lead the race

And we’re off!

Runner’s Everywhere!

View of the last stretch.

And, that would be ME. I have to give Craig props for this photo, it’s like a perfect mid-stride shot.

My overall time was 2 hours & 3 minutes. I missed my goal time to be ‘under 2 hours’ by three minutes, but overall I’m really happy with my time.

Here’s a list of the pros & cons of the race:
PROS
-started on time
-lots of shady parts in the course
-water stations about every 1.5 miles (water & gatorade)
-GU @ mile 9- although I did not take any
-Nice ‘finisher’ medal

CONS:
-very HOT. the temperature was around 80- 85 degrees. (although they couldn’t help that)
-not a lot of crowd/ fan support…I GUESS I could give them a break…I mean it WAS Thanksgiving morning ๐Ÿ˜‰
-more port-o-lets would of been nice….

Which leads me to my next story…
Remember when I told you about how I was debating the race..due to my Crohn’s disease & might of having to ‘GO’ during it?
Well, I did have to stop once ๐Ÿ˜ฆ & of course there was NO port-a-potty in site. Thank goodness there were LOTS of woods along the course. It was around mile 6..I tried to run it off, but my body would NOT let me. I was just really sad because I was thinking how much I wish I didn’t have this issue…and I kept seeing runners going past & that just made me even more depressed. But thank goodness I got myself back into the race & finished strong.

After the race I was pretty sore. My legs were dead. They did not even want to walk, but I forced them to because I knew the last thing I needed to do was to sit down.

My stomach was REALLY weird after the race too. Even though it was Thanksgiving & there was a ton of food around when we got home, I did not even want to think about food! It took me a good 3 hours to even consider eating anything. I think it was just a combination of the heat…and my current stomach issues.

Thanksgiving was great! I made desserts- I made two homemade pies- a pumpkin & a pecan pie. I had never made a pecan pie before, but I have to say, it turned out GREAT!

Our thanksgiving dinner was small, but PERFECT! It was my parents, my Aunt Sissy, myself & Craig. We had a really nice time together ๐Ÿ™‚

Friday morning was spent sleeping in & then stretching my legs like crazy. My hips were very sore, along with knees. I figured I would take the day off from running…and would get plenty of walking in later.

My Mom, Craig & I headed to the Christmas Made in the South craft show. My Mom & I have gone every year since I was a little girl & we asked Craig if he wanted to go..and he said ‘sure!’ ๐Ÿ™‚

After the craft show, we continued our tradition & headed to the Jacksonville Landing to watch the lighting of the Christmas tree..and the firework show ๐Ÿ˜€ You HAVE to get there early because seats fill up fast at the restaurants..and the good seats are taken EARLY. So we got there around 4pm, even though the show wasn’t until around 8pm. We got a table at one of the restaurants & had drinks, appetizers & then dinner. The firework show was SO pretty.


Look, they even shot ‘Raven’ fireworks off for us ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just kidding. But they sure do look like the colors, huh?!

It was a great night! We all had a lot of fun. ๐Ÿ˜€

Saturday morning Craig & I got back to the grind & got to our workouts. I did a bunch of running & upper body/ abs for my workout. It actually made me feel better to run, rather than rest of legs. I think it just loosened them up…and helped the muscles.

The rest of the day was spent with my parents & then at night we caught up with some of my old high school friends. (Sorry, no pictures- totally forgot ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

This morning we got on the road at 9am, we didn’t want to hit any traffic..and we had a LOT to do at home today. I washed my vehicle, got the rest of the Christmas decorations up, caught up on all of our laundry…and even made time for some RAVEN football. (of course, right?!?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

No idea what we are doing for dinner- since we don’t have much in the house. I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow…it might be a popcorn kind of dinner night ๐Ÿ˜€ …or even cereal. who knows!

Tomorrow I get to see one of my favorite people- STEPH!!! She’s coming down for work & we are going to all go to dinner tomorrow night- I can’t wait!!

This picture is from Craig’s 30th birthday party- it makes me laugh. That’s Mike, Steph, Craig & me ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, I’m off- gotta solve this dinner dilemma ๐Ÿ˜‰ …and catch up on my blog reading! I feel SO out of the loop.
Have a great night!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Girl, I could care less about food pictures, so it doesn’t bother me one bit that you don’t have any in here.

    As far as the race, GOOD JOB! That’s a great time!!

    Do you have plans for others?

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa ๐Ÿ˜€
      I wanted to run the Flying Pig Marathon in Ohio in May…but that was before we got engaged…now our wedding is in May & my Mom thinks it will be too much to squeeze into May- can’t say I disagree! But that one is DEFINITELY on my bucket list! I MIGHT do a full marathon in February..but that’s a BIG might.

      Reply
  2. Girl I am so freaking proud of you for doing that race despite knowing you were going to likely have some issues. And to stop and still make that time??? Congrats! I’m very impressed.

    Reply
  3. WOW I am sooo proud of you!! thats a great time and you did so incredibly awesome and conquered so much!!!
    No food, no problem! blogs are about personal thangs ๐Ÿ™‚ i like it that way!
    love that pic of yall at the end!

    Reply
  4. Dang girl you rock! A half marathon on Turkey day! Way to go =)

    Glad you were able to eat some good food later in the day!

    Reply
  5. Great job on the race!

    That breakfasts looks YUM.

    Reply
  6. Great work! 2 hours and three minutes is awesome!

    I totally understand about taking weeks and days of blogging. There are so many other more important time commitments.

    Reply
  7. Congratulations on completing the race! That right there is a huge accomplishment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  1. Pumpkin Overload « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. My Beliefs. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

