Getting Paid to Bake!

Happy Monday!

I have already started counting down the days until our holiday vacation! This Christmas Craig & I are going up to Maryland to spend it with his family. We are leaving December 23rd & not returning home until January 3rd, 2011! LOONNNGGG trip up there- but we have a lot planned to keep us busy- including MYSELF getting OLD! In less than 1 month I’ll be the big 2-4!

Now that we are engaged, and soon to be married we are going to split the holidays- like this year we did Thanksgiving with my family & will do Christmas with his, then next year we will do Thanksgiving with his & Christmas with my family. We will switch it up every year until we have kids. Once the kids come along we will not be doing any traveling until they are a bit older. Everyone is MORE than welcome to come to our house πŸ™‚

How do youΒ spend holidays if you are married? / engaged? / long term boyfriend or significant other?

My dinner dilemma was solved last night. It was pretty easy- 3 minutes to be exact. Yes, you guessed it- POPCORN!

Sometimes it just feels ‘right’ to have popcorn for dinner πŸ™‚

Last night was pretty uneventful. We just watched more football & then I called it an early night..or at least tried- I knew this morning’s wake up call was going to come quick!

Before going to bed last night I figured out what I am going to do this week for my workouts.

Normally I plan out my workouts the night before, but I figured I would get an early start & just do it all Sunday night. It’s much easier that way…and it just seems more organized to me.

As you can see, this morning was biceps/ triceps & running in between each set.

Here’s the breakdown:

Warm up- 5 minute jog @ 6.5mph on treadmill

Bicep curls with barbell on an incline- 30lb. barbell- 3 sets of 12
Bench dips- body weight- 3 sets of 12

Run/ jog on treadmill for .3 miles- at 6.5mph (a bit under 3 minutes)

Hammer curls- 15lbs. each hand- 3 sets of 12
Straight bar pushdowns- 50lb.- 3 sets of 12

Run/ jog on treadmill for .3 miles- at 6.5mph (a bit under 3 minutes)

EZ Grip Bicep curl- 30lb. barbell- 3 sets of 12 reps
Tricep extension behind head- 25lb. – 3 sets of 12 reps

Run/ jog on treadmill for .3 miles- at 6.5mph (a bit under 3 minutes)

Cross body hammer curls- 15lb. each hand- 3 sets of 12
Tricep kickbacks- 7.5lb. each hand- 3 sets of 12

Run/ jog on treadmill for .3 miles- at 6.5mph (a bit under 3 minutes)

Bosu ball crunches- pulling 40lb. behind head- 5 sets of 12
Hanging abs- bringing legs up each rep- body weight- 5 sets of 10

Run/ jog on treadmill for .3 miles- at 6.5mph (a bit under 3 minutes)

Cool down: 3 minutes walk on treadmill @ 3.5

Ahhh! It felt great to get back to the gym. As much as the two of us wanted to stay in bed this morning, I was SO glad we didn’t πŸ™‚

Breakfast was something thrown together since I had not made it to the grocery store yet.

That’s low sugar strawberries n’ cream oatmeal with an English muffin- one side with Dark chocolate dreams, the other with regular peanut butter.
Have I mentioned lately how MUCH I am obsessed with Dark chocolate dreams!?! And I truly do mean OBSESSED. As in it’s all I want to eat. I eat it by the spoon full, topped on nearly everything, & I even brought it with me to my parent’s house…gotta be prepared πŸ˜‰
And I had not had that oatmeal in a while, but that’s my favorite flavor.

It was really good! I needed a different breakfast..and this hit the spot.

Today’s lunch hour was spent grocery shopping for the week for the two of us, but ALSO for all of the goodies that I have to bake for Craig’s holiday breakfast that he is having on Thursday morning.

The funny thing is that the people in his group asked him ‘if his fiance would mind baking goodies for them to bring in as well.’ They were happy to pay me, if I wouldn’t mind taking the time to buy the ingredients & bake everything.
They made my day!! I was ALL over that idea. I LOVE baking & cooking…so of course I said I would do it. Craig has been collecting the money from everyone- just $10 each- just needed some money to cover the cost of the ingredients necessary- I only buy the best πŸ˜‰

Here’s what I have on the list- I’m making 6 items for the event- these are what I have planned:
1. Monkey bread: last year this was a HIT! Some people had never had it before & Craig said everyone raved about it.

2. Christmas Mice cookies– again a HUGE hit last year & the year before. People did not want to eat them, they were taking them home in cups to show their family. When I used to make these for my Dad’s holiday party people always said how cute they were. πŸ™‚

3. Berry Coffee Cake– found a new recipe for this…so I’m hoping for the best πŸ™‚

4. Pumpkin Gingerbread– again something new! I have an OVERLOAD of pumpkin at the house- my aunt gave me TEN cans, yes 10 cans, at Thanksgiving! Any one need any pumpkin!?! πŸ˜‰

5. Strusel Topped blueberry muffins

…and last but definitely not least…
6. Reindeer cookies– I have a feeling these might be right up there with the Christmas mice cookies πŸ˜€

Looks like I have my hands FULL of baking & cooking these next few days. I tried to plan out pretty easy dinners- some even crock pot dinners- so that I can spend most of my time getting these things ready for Thursday!

Tonight though, we have a VERY special guess- my soon to be sister in law- Steph!! πŸ˜€ I can’t wait! I’m going to make dinner for the 3 of us…and I think I have a pretty good recipe picked out. I’ll post it sometime soon.

Be back later with some more recipes!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I like the berry coffee cake!

    Reply
  2. Hope you have a great night girl!

    Reply
  3. I need more pumpkin ha.

    That Monkey bread looks amazing. I have always wanted to try making it. What recipe are you using?

    Reply
  4. I love monkey bread!! Remember when we used to make it in our home ed class back in high school? Gosh it was so good!!!!

    I wish we could have hung out when you were here but Saturday night I had no energy to go the Beaches. Haha that placed killed me Wed and Friday so I needed a chill night. Ew but I did go to Monkey’s Uncle for a little. Grossssss. I hate it there.

    You know what is funny? I am flying to PA on the 23rd! We both go north together πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • hahaha- YES! Ms. Sullivan- LOVE her πŸ™‚
      We never made it to the beaches- Kel went out, but the group of us just went to Chili’s & we called it an early night- we had to get on the road early on Sunday morning. I HATE Monkey’s Uncle too!
      I’m going to Philly while I’m in Maryland!! πŸ˜€ Maybe I’ll run into ya!

      Reply
  5. The reindeer cookies are too cute!!! I want one!

    Reply
  6. Totally agree with you..popcorn is completely acceptable for dinner sometimes!

    My hubby and I have family in VA, WI, and FL that we try to visit, but this year we are staying in Cali and telling them that if they want to see us, they need to fly our way =)

    Reply
  7. Popcorn is more than a perfect dinner πŸ˜‰ It is sooo good sometimes πŸ™‚ I like the berry coffee cake mmm

    Reply
  8. Yummmmm! Have fun doing all that baking…I’m jealous! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. Just Call Me the Baking Queen ;) « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

