The Holiday Is OFFICIALLY Here!

Hmmmm…what do I put for a greeting?! I always feel like I say ‘hi’ or ‘hey’ or ‘good (you pick the time of the day),’ I really need something original! 😀

…since my creativity level today is at a low, I suppose I’ll stick with a ‘Hello’ today..hope you don’t mind!

Last night, as you know, we had a very special guest- Steph!! It was SO good seeing her, even if it was for a short time. We got to catch up & hear about what they did for Thanksgiving.

When it came to planning dinner, I picked out a recipe before going to Publix for groceries. I wanted something different, and nothing with pasta. We are kind of ‘pasta-ed out,’ if that is even possible. 🙂

I decided to make my own version of Szechwan Shrimp. I wasn’t in the mood for chicken, and we had not had shrimp in a while. Seemed like a double winner!

Here’s the recipe & instructions- adapted from this recipe.

Szechwan Shrimp with Rice

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 6 tablespoons ketchup
  • 3 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper (it’s SPICY!!)
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb shrimp, tails removed
  • 1 lb cooked broccoli (I just bought a steamer bag of it & cooked it in the microwave)


Directions

  1. In a bowl, stir together water, ketchup, soy sauce, cornstarch, honey, crushed red pepper, and ground ginger. Set aside.

    red pepper galore

    all mixed up
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in green onions and garlic; cook 30 seconds.
  3. Stir in shrimp & broccoli and toss to coat with oil. Stir in sauce. Cook and stir until sauce is bubbly and thickened.


Serve atop of rice, if you want. I just heated up some Uncle Ben’s ready rice.

I mixed the two flavors & they were delicious!

I also made some vegetable egg rolls to go with our at home ‘take out.’ 🙂 It really did taste like something you would order at a restaurant, just better..if I do say so myself…and healthier! Win- Win!

All together now:

You should try this, really you should 🙂 It’s super easy & it’s REALLY good.

This morning’s workout was all 2-in-1 toners. I found the workout on Women’s Health.
For a nice description of each move & how to do it- check out the site. I’m just going to go thru my workout.

I did this workout THREE times thru:

-Deadlift & bent over row combo- with 15lb. each hand-12
-12 jumping lunges, each leg, alternating

-Swiss ball pike with pushup- 12
-Jump rope: 30 seconds

-‘Thruster’-12
-Plie jumps- 15

-Pushup Row with Core Hold-12
-Box jumps: 30 seconds

-Sumo Squat & Curl- 12 with 8lb. weights
-Side to side box jumps: 30 seconds

-Row & back extension- 12
-Jump squats- 15

-Step up & Single Arm Press- 12 each side
-Mountain climbers- 30 seconds

-Dumbbell Press & Core Roll- 12
-Run / jog on treadmill for .3 miles (about 3 minutes)

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE doing 2-in-1 workouts! It really gets your heart rate up. I had actually forgotten about this workout, but I’m glad I found it in my big book of workouts 🙂

Breakfast was the usual- egg beaters & an English muffin with peanut butter & 1/2 a banana.

Lunch was also the usual- I know, I’m a TOTAL bore today 😉
Yogurt with 1/2 a banana, 1/2 an apple & some Fiber One cereal thrown in there.

Today I have been really sleepy- I did not get much sleep last night…I have been having a lot of tummy issues. I think it’s just getting back into the normal routine of things- you know my body was out of it’s normal routine during the Thanksgiving holiday.
So….I’ve been doing something bad today- to help with the sleepiness…I’ve been drinking this:

Oh yes, that right there is Diet Mountain Dew…my old love. I used to DOWN this stuff like no one’s business..and by that, I mean like a 2 liter a day!!! AWFUL! I really don’t drink much soda AT ALL anymore, except for special occassions..and when I’m like a walking zombie- ie today. I could easily go back to my bad habit of drinking this stuff..it’s just that good…but, I know that I won’t. It is FULL of unknowns! LOL! How lovely is that?! 😉

We are both so excited about tonight. Do you know what tonight is!??!!?
It’s time for RUDOLPH THE RED NOSED REINDEER!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

YAYYYYYY!! I LOVE Rudolph!! I look forward to it EVERY year. I swear I’m such a kid at heart.
Oh, just in case you were wondering- it’s on CBS at 8pm.

The GRINCH is also on tonight- 8pm – on ABC. This will definitely be DVR’ed so that we can watch it after Rudolph!! 😀

The grinch is probably my ABSOLUTE favorite holiday classic. It ALWAYS makes me smile, no matter how many times I could possibly watch it. Oh, and I want MAX! How cute is he?!

What’s your favorite holiday show/ movie?? It’s so hard for me to pick a favorite, but I’m going to have to say The Grinch, followed closely by Charlie Brown Christmas 🙂

Well, I’m off to finish up my work day- 30 minutes left..and I’m running purely on Diet Mountain Dew- lol!! 😀 I’ll catch up with you later.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. omg the grinch and rudolph are on at the same time! that’s a hard decision – I’ll have to take some time to think about it 🙂 My favorite though is the year without a santa claus because i love to sing along with the miser brothers. haha i’m still a kid at heart!

    Reply
  2. I want that shrimp. Garlic and red pepper are my best friends! Awe I love Christmas movies!!!!! On the way to work I listen to 96.1 and it is all christmas tunes. 🙂

    Geeze way to make me feel bad about the soda thing haha jk but drink 2 diet cokes a day. eeekkk.

    Reply
  3. The Grinch is my absolute favorite Christmas movie too!!! I love the message that it sends!! The girls always ask to watch it and I always say yes : ) Enjoy the movies tonight…we will be tuned in as well!

    Reply
  4. I think I start my posts off often with “So” LOL. You just reminded me that I haven’t made egg rolls in eons. Hope you’re having a nice evening!

    Reply
  5. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  November 30, 2010

    I love The Grinch, and esp the Jim Carey one. I also am OBSESSED with Elf!

    Reply
  6. I am glad that you like diet mountain dew. It is one of my dirty obsessions ha.

    Reply
  7. i love that shrimp recipe!! ugggg i missed rudolph tonight! i’m sure it’ll be on again 🙂

    Reply
  8. OH girl i feel you with the diet mtn dew!! I USED TO BE OBSESSED! now i get HUGE cravings every now and then, and i def give in! haha.

    Reply
  9. I love love looove Grinch!
    And Rudolph 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

