Chopped.

Sorry for the lack of postings lately, I’ve just been pretty busy with this thing called life 😉 This post might not be too long either, but I wanted to check in with ya.

As for my weeks food & workouts. The usuals have been seen pretty much all week. Breakfasts:

Egg whites with an English muffin, a bit of peanut butter & 1/2 of a banana.

Lunches have been yogurt messes. Best. Lunch. Ever. Sorry..don’t think that will ever change. I just REALLY love them. And for me, they are the perfect size. Honestly if I eat more than that, I get a really sick feeling in my stomach.
Lately I have had to eat a lot more smaller portions- my stomach can’t take anymore. It’s just the Crohn’s disease- pretty normal with that…I’ve just been noticing it a lot more. If I eat more than a ‘small’ portion of something, I am IMMEDIATELY in great pain. So, I figure I’ll just stick to small portions. I would rather it be that way than to be in great pain.

I have a VERY easy dinner recipe for you. Sometimes I love having those super easy recipes on stand by, just in case I don’t have time to cook a big meal, or if I just really don’t feel like cooking. (<– which is rare 🙂 )

Turkey Sausage & Rice

Ingredients:
-2 packages Uncle Ben’s Cajun Flavored Rice
-2 cans diced tomatos, with green chillis (14.5 oz cans), drained
-1lb. turkey sausage (or there abouts)
-1 tsp. garlic powder
-1 tsp. onion powder
-1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper

** PREHEAT OVEN to 350 degrees**

1. Take your rice & pour it into a casserole dish, or 13×9″ pan.

2. Pour the two cans of tomatos on top of the rice.

3. Chop up the turkey sausage, then place that on top of the tomatos.

4. Grab your spices. Pour each of the amount of the spice over top of the sausage.

5. Mix, Mix, Mix.

6. Place in preheated oven & bake for about 30-45 minutes. (I covered mine with a glass lid, you could always use foil)

7. That’s it!! Eat & enjoy 🙂

On the side I made corn bread…of course. I HAVE to have it at least once a week. I’m obsessed, I tell ya, obsessed! 😀

As I’ve said before, the trick is drizzling a little honey over the top before baking 😀

And for some close up shots…

The best part of this dinner was that it was SUPER quick to put together & it tasted good too 😀

Ours was a bit spicy- when I was making the recipe I actually used 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper instead of 1/2 teaspoon- and I think they two of us were on FIRE!! haha! (that’s why I reduced the amount 🙂 )

Tonight I’m planning to try to come up with another new recipe…we’ll see what I can get into 😀

Workouts have been good-
Wednesday was biceps/ triceps day with lots of running in between my sets.
This morning was legs/ HIIT workout kind of day. I was quite the sweaty mess at the end of it!!

All of us Floridians are missing our warm days- the highs here have only been in the 50s!! ahhhh!! With a LOT of wind. It’s supposed to warm up to about 70 this weekend, but then ANOTHER cold front is coming thru…just in time for Monday morning…ugh!

In other news…

I got my hair cut!!!

I really love it!! (& it’s MUCH easier getting ready in the morning 🙂 )

My hair was REALLY dry & just unhealthly, and I wanted to get it in good condition for our wedding. My friend Kayla owns a hair salon, Studio K, and she told me that she would be more than happy to help me get my hair into good condition for the wedding.

It was time to get it chopped! She said there was just a lot of dryness to it, so she used a special treatment. I will have to go about every 4 weeks for baby trims & the treatments. But in my mind it’s TOTALLY worth it. I really want to have pretty hair for my wedding day 🙂 My hair is just SO thin & fine (I got my Dad’s hair) that it really needs lots of TLC! 😀

She recommended I get new shampoo- specifically for thinning/ fine hair- the brand is called ‘Awaken.’ It is all organic and has things in it that help stimulate the scalp, which helps the hair to grow.

Do you use a specific kind of shampoo? What type of hair do you have? Anyone else out there have very fine/ thin hair? Any product recommendations?

She also told me that I pretty much need to ditch the straightener I have now- I just got one a while ago- it was ‘ConAir’ brand & I think I picked it up at Target. She told me it is AWFUL for my hair. She recommends that I get a Babyliss straightener, so something similar to that.

What straightener do you use? Do you like it? How does it do with your hair?

Any hair advice would be great!! Also a recommendation for a ‘volumizer’ product would be much appreciated 🙂

I’ll be back soon to catch up 🙂 Enjoy your night & DON’T FORGET- the Christmas Office is on tonight at 9pm! YESSSSS!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. you look so freaking cute!! i love the hair cut!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love your hair cut-it looks adorable.

    That recipe looks so simple, I will have to try it. I have some turkey sausage that I have to use up before break.

    Reply
  3. LOVE IT!!

    first of all, i swear by morroccan oil. get it.

    second of all—i use a chi. Ive used a paul mitchell straightener and liked it too!

    Reply
  4. Love the haircut!! It look so cute!!

    Reply
  5. Aw, I love your hair – so cute! I used to have fine hair, but somehow over the years, it’s gotten a bit thicker and healthier. No idea how – I swam my entire life, so I’d have thought the chlorine would have done the opposite! I’d try a volumizing/thickening shampoo.

    I feel the same way about lunches – I just can’t eat a ton or else I feel sluggish. Yogurt is a go-to for me as well.

    Reply
  6. Cute hair cut. I have super fine, but thick hair. I recently stopped using conditioner and it’s made all the difference in the world for body and texture. And 70 degrees? I’d kill for 60 right about now…heck, 50 if I’m being honest 😉

    Reply
  7. I love your hair cut! It’s so cute!

    Reply
  8. OHHH my gosh i LOVE your hair! your eyes are BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!
    love that dinner!!! easy and delish! I need to make cornbread now!

    Reply
  9. Jen

     /  December 10, 2010

    You’re lucky you look so good with short hair! I have really fine hair as well. I find that almost any shampoo and conditioner from Biolage makes a difference in the volume. I used to straighten my hair, but I just don’t anymore. It was really just getting fried. Another thing I love for volume is the Purology root lifting mousse. It has a little nozzle that you spray directly into your roots, and if you work it in the right way you can get MAJOR oomph!

    Reply
  10. Your hair looks great! And you have SUCH a beautiful smile!

    That dinner looks like awesome — very warm and comforting 🙂

    Reply
  11. I also have really fine hair and using bleach only made it thin out more. The shampoo/conditioner that really made a difference for me is Nioxin. Sally Beauty Supply carries a great generic version too!

    Reply
  12. You hair looks fabulous!!! And you have gorgeous eyes 🙂

    I love that meal you showcased…quick, easy, filling, tasty!

    Reply
  13. I’ve never heard/thought about drizzling honey of the bread before baking, but that looks delicious! I LOVE corn bread, too!

    Reply
  14. Ahhhh, it’s the other sweater! I have that same color one!!! 😀
    All your dinners are looking soooo good and making me so miss my kitchen. 😦

    Reply
  1. The Daily Routine. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

