LAST Full Week!!

GOOD Sunday (funday) Morning!! ๐Ÿ˜€
LOVE these mornings. What makes it even better is that this week coming up is my LAST full week of work! YES! Bring on this week ๐Ÿ˜€

THANK YOU for all of the nice comments about my hair cut!! You all are the BEST โค

Let me back up a little & tell you about my Thursday.
Things started off with a great workout-ย I had a legs & running day. I started out doing an HIIT workout & then lots of leg exercises. I hope you don’t mind but I haven’t been posting exact details of my workouts lately. I think they might be boring to read…but if you really would like me to post them, then I can, but if not then I will just continue to do what I’ve been doing. Just kind of posting the muscles I worked & what kind of cardio I did. I will post workouts that I REALLY felt worked or that I really enjoyed. (ps: there’s one coming at you laterย in this post ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Dinner was kind of random. It was based offย of my twin’s recipe, aka- Liz @ The Blog is the New Black.
I saw her recipe for Ravioli with Spinach & Bacon and knew for a FACT that I HAD to make it. She posted it a while ago, but it’s been in my ‘must make’ list. I tell ya, this list is HUGE. But I do usually make everything that I have on there…even if it’s months after I wrote it ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s my recipe, idea from Liz:

BLT Tortellini

Ingredients

  • 1 package frozen tortellini
  • 6ย slices TURKEY bacon, I diced it before cooking it
  • Pam cooking spray
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 3/4 cup mushrooms, fresh or canned
  • 2 diced Roma tomatos
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons basil pesto (I had pesto to use up from making the Chicken Pesto Pizza, so I figured I would try it in this recipe)

Directions

  1. Cook the tortellini according to the package directions. Set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the bacon in a skillet over medium-high heat until crisp, 6 to 8 minutes; transfer to a paper towelโ€“lined plate.
  3. Wipe out the skillet and heat the oil over medium heat. Add the garlic & mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden, 1 to 2 minutes.

    Add the spinach, chopped tomatos,ย 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook, tossing, until spinach is just wilted, 1 to 2 minutes.

  4. Mix in the tortellini.
  5. Stir the bacon and pesto into the spinach. Spoon the mixture over the ravioli.


On the side we had the new Pillsbury Simply…Rustic French Bread– no artificial colors, no HFCS, all natural ingredients!


GET. THIS. BREAD. NOW. It is SOOOOOOOOO good!! I have a bit of advice though- what I did was cooked it on the bottom rack of the oven, and I cooked it a LITTLE under the time listed. I think it said to cook it for 25 minutes, but I think I only did it for liek 22 minutes. This bread was THE BOMB!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ No joke. Craig & I could NOT stop raving about it. It tastes like homemade French bread!


x 2 pieces of bread ๐Ÿ˜€ (too good NOT to have another!)

We both really liked this meal. It’s a great mix of flavors & I just love turkey bacon!

Friday’s eats were all of the typical things. No need to post- I think you get the idea ๐Ÿ˜‰
After work Craigย & I went to the mall to try to find some good deals. I picked up a couple of Christmas presents & we also picked out our New Years Eve outfits! Mike & Steph are holding their annual New Years Eve party again this year & the theme is ‘Friday’s Fine-ist’ for the attire. We are going to match in our colors & I picked out the PERFECT tie for Craig’s outfit ๐Ÿ™‚ (it’s one of the gifts I got.)

We also went to Elephant Bar for dinner. It was delicious! I had Seared Ahi Tuna for my meal. Sorry, no pictures.

On Saturday I woke up early to head out to get groceries. I LOVE going super early before most people get up. The stores are pretty much empty & I can just kind of browse thru the aisles. I got to Super Target when they opened & knocked out my grocery list. I thought I wasn’t going to have to spend much this week for groceries, but whenever I think that, I ALWAYS spend more. UGH! The bill this week:ย $115!!! Holy moly.ย (& that was JUST groceries- no clothes, or shoes or anything like that) I seriously need to try to only spend $50 a week for groceries. Maybe I’ll do that for the new year- try it out for the blog ๐Ÿ™‚

While there I picked up Starbucks coffees for the two of us. (I had a coupon for Starbucks- pretty awesome, no?!- $3 for a latte) I used the coupon for Craig- I got him a White Chocolate Peppermint Mocha & for myself- a grande iced coffee. It’s my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

His & hers coffee ๐Ÿ™‚

I ALSO found THIS flavor from Peanut Butter & Co:

CINNAMON RAISIN SWIRL!!! (it was on sale for$3.47- which is the same price as the dark chocolate dreams- normally it’s about $6- so I figured I would grab it!) I am in L.O.V.E with this flavor!! It is SOOOOOOO good. There are like chunks of sugar or something in the peanut butter that it almost tastes like big chunks of brown sugar! If you can find this, TRY it. There are not many raisins in it- I’ve only found 2 so far- but the cinnamon flavor- OMG, so good!!
(^ Can youย tell I’mย excited about it?! There are like a million exclamation points in there & lots of capital letters- lol!)

The best part is the ingredients:

No articial flavors, No HFCS, all NATURAL stuff. And it’s gluten free, vegan, and pure delicious- ness ๐Ÿ˜€

Remember when I’m said I’m a die-hard JIF girl?? WELL, Peanut Butter & Co has CONVERTED me. Yes, I said it. I actually do NOT even HAVE any JIF in the pantry! I NEVER thought I would convert to anything other than JIF. But Peanut Butter & Co ROCKS my WORLD!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Ok, I’m going a little overboard on my excitement over peanut butter. It’s really that could though, I PROMISE.
I’m even going to pack some of my favorite peanut butter flavors ย to bring with me to Maryland. There ya go, I’m a peanut butter addict ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, after eating a few spoonfuls of peanut butter, I was almost too full to eat breakfast. But I toasted up an English muffin with peanut butter (imagine that) & a half of a banana, sprinkled with cinnamon.
I was PLENTY full & ready for the gym!

Yesterday’s workout was based on a workout I found on Janetha’s blog ๐Ÿ™‚ This is one of the AWESOME workouts that I just have to share with you. When I read her post about this workout, I knew I had to try it. She started out talking about how this workout gave her DOMS & that ‘oh-so-good achy’ feeling afterward.

I changed things up a bit, but the overall style is based off of Janetha’s original workout.

WARM UP: 5 minutes jogging/ running on treadmill- 6.6 speed

shoulders/biceps superset

move weight reps muscle worked
lateral dumbbell raises 7.5# each hand 12 shoulders
dumbbell curls 15# each hand 12 biceps
front dumbbell raises 7.5# each hand 12 shoulders
dumbbell curls 15# each hand 12 biceps
lateral dumbbell raises 7.5# each hand 12 shoulders
dumbbell curls 15# each hand 12 biceps
front dumbbell raises 7.5# each hand 12 shoulders
dumbbell curls 15# each hand 12 biceps
lateral dumbbell raises 7.5# each hand 12 shoulders
overhead dumbbell shoulder press 15# each hand 12 shoulders
dumbbell curls 15# each hand 12 biceps
hammer curls 15# each hand 12 biceps

ย Run on treadmill- 3 minutes- @ 6.6- about .3 miles

triceps/chest superset

move weight reps muscle worked
tricep pushdown 50# 12 triceps
bench press 45# 12 chest
tricep pushdown 50# 12 triceps
bench press 45# 12 chest
tricep pushdown 50# 12 triceps
bench press 45# 12 chest
tricep pushdown 50# 12 triceps
bench press 45# 12 chest
tricep pushdown 50# 12 triceps
bench press 45# 12 chest
pushups body weight 24 chest

ย Run on treadmill- 3 minutes- @ 6.6- about .3 miles

back/chest superset

move weight reps muscle worked
single arm dumbbell row 15# 12 each arm back
cable crossovers 50# total 12 chest
single arm dumbbell row 15# 12 each arm back
cable crossovers 50# total 12 chest
single arm dumbbell row 15# 12ย each arm back
cable crossovers 50# total 12 chest
single arm dumbbell row 15# 12ย each arm back
cable crossovers 50# total 12 chest
single arm dumbbell row 15# 12 each arm back
reverse flyes 10# each arm 12 back
cable crossovers 50# total 12 chest
pushups body weight 12 chest

ย Run on treadmill- 3 minutes- @ 6.6- about .3 miles

I finished my workout with abs:
3 sets of 12 reps- each exercises—-

incline situps with 10lb. medicine ball
incline side to side crunches with 10lb. medicine ball
bench tuck crunches
bosu ball crunches, pulling 30lb. behind head (this was 3 sets of 20 reps)

FANTASTIC WORKOUT!! My upper body is pretty sore this morning, but the good sore feeling ๐Ÿ™‚

When we got home I made myself a protein shake for lunch:

In the mix: 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 teaspoon peanut butter & 1 scoop banana cream protein powder. This shake tasted like liquid banana pudding. DELISH! Cannot wait to have this mix again. Maybe for lunch today ๐Ÿ˜€

I cleaned the whole house yesterday, and when I finished up around 4pm, I was hungry for a little snack-

fuji apple.

Last night was spent watching all of the best Christmas shows- Rudolph, The Grinch, and Frosty the Snowman! …it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas ๐Ÿ˜‰

Not much has been accomplished this morning. I made breakfast for the two of us. My breakfast was the same as Saturday morning. Now we are just watching ESPN trying to figure out what is going on with the Vikings v. Giants game. Craig is FREAKING out- he has Eli Manning for his fantasy football quarterback, so he doesn’t know whether to start him or not. He’s been going nuts all morning. (it’s kind of amusing to me though ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Today’s workout will be the Sunday usual- a long-ish type run ๐Ÿ˜€

I also plan to bake cookies for Craig & his co-workers. I have a new recipe that I found on the blogworld this week that I can’t wait to try out.

Hope you have a GREAT day!! & if you made it through this entire post, props to you…it was a long one ๐Ÿ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness. I was thinking about bringing a budget aspect into my blog as well. I just keep spending on the most pointless and random things.

    I think I’m seriously addicted to tortellini. This recipe will have to go on my must make list hehe.

    Reply
  2. squigglefloey

     /  December 12, 2010

    Hi girlie ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve got to try that bread out! When I’m in a rush during the week I always want fresh bread but NEVER have the time to make it.
    Happy last week of work for u!!

    Reply
  3. Happy Sunday to you too. I sooo want to try that cinnamon PB, but I am afraid it’d be so dangerous to have on hand ๐Ÿ˜‰ Can you imagine PB cookies made with that????

    Reply
  4. Hi, my name is Karen and I am a peanut butter addict. We should start a peanut butter addiction support group : ) I can’t find the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl anywhere around me and I’m dying to try it. I might just cough up the $6 and order it online.

    Reply
  5. I love tortellini and I love hot, crusty bread. I will definitely try some out!

    Reply
  6. That pasta dish looks fantastic! I was thinking of making ravioli this week and love the idea of adding bacon and spinach to it! I’d definitely go the turkey bacon route too ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you had a great Sunday!

    Reply
  7. yayyyyyyyy for domsssssssssssss. that pasta looks fanfreakin tastic. my grocery bill is like $45 every other day. i suck at budgeting lately.

    Reply
  8. I have a serious soft spot for JIF…right now I’m eating the reduced fat omega-3 JIF and it’s simply delicous ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  1. Bring Your Own Sunshine « ChocoLatte

Leave a Reply

