The Urge to Bake– ALL day

Happy Monday!

I don’t know about you, but my day fleeeeewww by today. I think it’s because I was beyond busy, but I don’t mind. It seemed like every thing I check the time an hour passed. Love those kind of days.

But I must rewind to yesterday. Sunday was FULL of awesome football, great workouts & FANTASTIC food! I’ll start where I left off- Sunday afternoon. I was in the mood to bake…so I found one of my ‘must make’ recipes- it happened to be Julie’s Powdered Sugar Sugar Cookies.  As soon as I saw this recipe I was immediately intrigued. How much better could cookies get?! Powdered sugar in place of sugar- sounds PERFECT to me 😀

They sure did not let me down one bit!!
Here’s the recipe, copied from Julie’s blog, I only had to make one change. I was out of baking soda (oops!) so I googled ‘baking soda substitute’ and it said that I could use about 3 tsp. baking powder instead. Baking soda is just more concentrated, hence the need to use triple the amount of baking powder.

Powdered Sugar Sugar Cookies (‘borrowed’ from Julie 🙂 )

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. M&Ms

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Combine flour, salt and baking soda in a bow and set aside.
  • Beat butter, sugars and vanilla together until creamy. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  • Slowly beat flour mixture into sugar mixture until fully combined. 
  • Fold M&Ms into dough.

    (notice no RED M&M’s- these were the M&M’s leftover from the Rudolph cookies I made last week 😉 )
  • Drop small spoonfuls of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for 8 – 10 minutes until edges are golden brown.


I also made Craig a special cookie- since there wasn’t much dough left in the bowl, I just mushed it all together & made him one BIG cookie.

(^ size comparison 🙂 )

I have to tell you, these cookies are AWESOME!! They taste JUST like cookies from Great American Cookie Company. I’m not sure if you have ever had one from there…but I have to say, they are by far my favorite cookies that you can buy. I don’t know what it is about using powdered sugar instead of sugar…but it sure does some magic to that cookie dough 😀 I normally don’t even eat cookies, but I ate TWO of these in a matter of minutes. (they were THAT good)

After eating those two cookies, I wasn’t really hungry for lunch…but I wanted to eat something…so I went for egg whites with salsa & toast.

Then it was time to get my workout on! Normally on Sundays I tend to do a long run…or something similar. But while I was on Julie’s blog, I happened to find this great workout for a type of HIIT workout.
(hope you don’t mind, Julie, I just copied this from your blog)

You see those ’10’ sprints on there?? Those are TOUGH. Definitely thought I was gonna fly off the back of the treadmill!
It was one heck of a run! Once I finished the run, I did this random- ness of a workout:
-50 Jumping Jacks
-20 Alternating Lunges
-10 Tuck Jumps
-20 Squats
-10 Kick your butt Jumps
-25 Pushups
-30 sec. plank hold
-30 sec. left plank hold
-30 sec. right plank hold
-60 (each side) bicycle crunches
-60 sec. wall sit
-20 tricep dips
-Donkey Kicks- 20 each side
-Kick outs- 20 each side
-20 Frog Lifts on stability ball
-20 Glute lifts- each leg
-20 V-ups

This felt GREAT! It was like a full body kind of workout 🙂

After taking a shower & getting cleaned up, I came downstairs & got dinner ready. Tonight’s dinner was a repeat of something I have made beforeMozzarella Stuffed Bruschette Turkey Burgers, which is a recipe I found on Kristen’s blog- Iowa Girl Eats. (no need to post the recipe- since it’s on here before 🙂 )

Cheese on Craig’s burgers 🙂 I also added sun dried tomatos to the burger mix- it was a nice extra touch.

For the sides- tator tots (don’t you just love them?!) & green beans.



That bruschetta recipe is sooooo good.

While dinner was baking, I had the urge to bake something else! I spotted a recipe on the side of my Cinnamon Corn Flakes box.

The recipe was for a simple Cinnamon Apple Crisp using these corn flakes for the topping. I figured why not try it!? I decided to ‘health-ify’ it though. You’ll see my changes below.

Ingredients

  • 5 cups thinly sliced, peeled, cooking apples
    **Note to self: put apple peeler/ corer on registry!**
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar Splenda
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg apple pie spice
  • 1/2  1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Splenda
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose  whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup 2 tbsp. butter or margarine
  • 2 cups 1 & 1/3 cups  Kellogg’s Corn Flakes® Simply Cinnamon cereal
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • Vanilla ice cream or frozen non-dairy whipped topping (optional)

Directions

1. In 8 x 8 x 2-inch baking dish toss together apples, granulated sugar and nutmeg.


2. In small bowl stir together brown sugar and flour. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in KELLOGG’S CORN FLAKES SIMPLY CINNAMON cereal and walnuts. Sprinkle over apples.


3. Bake at 375°F about 30 minutes or until apples are tender, loosely covering with foil during the last 10 minutes of baking to prevent overbrowning. Serve warm with ice cream or whipped topping, if desired.

SERVE up the good stuff!!! 😀

& if your feeling a little bit frisky- add some ice cream….;)

We both loved the crisp! You could not tell that it was a healthy verison either. The cinnamon corn flakes are delish 😀

Well, I’m off to watch the RAVENS game!! GOOOOOOO RAVENS!

I’ll be back soon with another recipe to share with ya 😉 Hope you didn’t have recipe overload tonight.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I haven’t made an apple crisp in eons. I can just smell it now. Yum. Love it when I have a busy day that makes work go faster. It sucks when it’s busy but drags 😉 Hope you have a great night girl!

    Reply
  2. That apple cinnamon crisp looks amazing. I want to try and get more fruits mixed into my desserts versus just chocolate. God I’m addicted-I swear.

    Expect a blog soon about me baking your cookies too. Holy moly those look yummm.

    Reply
  3. YOU=the baking QUEEEEN! I ❤ it! you make the best dinners! I want to come over to eat!!!!
    That crisp looks awesome- def going on my list of TO TRY!
    love you!

    Reply
  4. Dang girl — two fabulous recipes in one day! I love the twist on the applecrisp and really want to try it!

    Reply
  5. I love to bake on the weekends!!!! It’s my stress reviler for sure. Um and that apple crisp looks so good.

    Haha I know this sounds random but whenever I see tater tots I think of Napoleon Dynamite 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  6. YUMMMM at these recipes!!!! I love the apple crisp!

    Reply
  7. MMmmmM!! I’m drooling over this post and already regretting the bowl of honey sunshine I had this a.m. I wish I’d gotten my crisp on instead! ;D
    I’m home in Florida for a whole month! I’d love to do some kind of a blogger meetup somewhere ❤ ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

