Jalapeno Tears

Happy Saturday to you 😀 I CANNOT believe it’s only ONE week until Christmas! Is it just me or has this year just FLOOOWWWN by?!

Next year is going to be rather CRAZY with all of the wedding planning…but I cannot wait. I don’t know if you read her blog (but you should, if you don’t 🙂 ) but Julie is doing re caps of her wedding & I just LOVE reading about them. The one about her Dad really got to me. The pictures are just perfect & I keep thinking about my upcoming wedding day & how my Dad & I will be. We have a very special relationship. He was there for me for the beginning, and always has been right by my side through think & thin. When my biological Mom walked out on the two of us when I was 2 years old, it was just me & my Dad for about 3 years, until he met my AMAZING step mom (who I refer to as my Mom).

me & my step mom, but REALLY my Mom 🙂 (October 2009)

I just know the two of us will be a mess on my wedding day, especially when it comes to the father-daughter dance. It’s funny because if I really start to think about it, which sometimes I do on my drive to work, I actually start to cry. NOT tears of sadness, just of pure happiness. I am just so grateful to have such a wonderful Dad that has never let me down, always has been by my side, and will always be there for me.

My Dad has just been on my mind, especially after reading Julie’s post, I just wanted to mention that 🙂
 
Anyways, this past week has been full of WONDERFUL things, like my NEPHEW being born!! I woke up yesterday & was SO happy to know that I am now an AUNT! It’s just the best feeling. My sister is doing GREAT, she is supposed to be going home today. You can see how much she just loves little Ethan, it is ALL over her face:D My brother in law is MORE than thrilled. I know they just can’t wait to take him home & introduce Ethan to the world!
 
I have a great recipe to share with you that I made on Monday. I found the recipe on Lindsay’s blog for Buffalo Chicken Chilli. Anything Buffalo sounds GREAT to me 😉 I did use the link to the recipe she included on her blog, which was for the original recipe by Rachael Ray. I did follow Rachael’s recipe though, because I’m sure by now you all know that I LOVE my Jiffy corn bread!! 😀
 
I changed some things from her recipe, like instead of using butter & oil- I just used Pam cooking spray. I put my recipe below, but you can click the link above for the original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Pam Cooking spray
  • 2 pounds ground chicken
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1& 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander (I didn’t have any ground coriander, so I had to use whole- but I just used a few sprinkles.)
  • 6 ounces beer (your favorite brew)
  • 1/2 cup FRANK’s Hot Buffalo Sauce
  • One 15-ounce can tomato sauce
  • One 8.5-ounce Jiffy-brand corn muffin mix
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon chives
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat bleu cheese crumbles
Directions:
  1. First, chop up all of your veggies, if you haven’t already.
  2. Heat a medium Dutch oven or large skillet over high heat. Spray the Pam into pan. Add the chicken and cook, breaking up the meat, for 6 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic, celery, onion, carrot and jalapeño. Season with salt, pepper, cumin and coriander, and cook for 5 minutes.
     
  4. Add the beer and scrape up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Concentrate the flavor of the beer by reducing the mixture over medium heat for 2 to 3 minutes.
  5. Stir in the hot sauce and the tomato sauce. Reduce the heat to low and simmer the chili for 30- 45 minutes.

  6. Prepare the corn muffin mix with the milk and egg according to package directions for corn pancakes.
  7. Stir the scallions and the blue cheese into the pancake batter. Heat a nonstick griddle pan or large skillet over medium heat. Spray Pam on the griddle or pan to prevent sticking. Drop rounded tablespoons of the batter into the pan. Cook the pancakes until bubbles form at the edges, then flip them and cook until golden all over, about 2 minutes per side. You will have enough batter for about 20 pancakes.


  8. Serve 2 pancakes with each bowl of chili. I put one on the bottom & crumbled one on top as well.  


This was SOOOOOO good!! We both went back for seconds 🙂 The pancake toppers REALLY made the dish. They were so good I could just eat them by themselves, but then again, it’s cornbread & I just LOVE the stuff! 😀

Now I have ONE warning if you choose to make this dish. You see this guy–

THAT guy caused me some SERIOUS pain later that night. You see, I was DUMB & did not use gloves when taking the seeds out of the middle. I honestly just forgot that you should use gloves WHENEVER working with jalapenos. After dinner my hands started BURNING so bad. I was in crazy pain. I was googling how to get rid of the pain- I was trying everything. Dumping oil over my hands, soaking them in milk, trying to scrub them with soap & hot water…pretty much everything I could find as a solution. It really never went away until the next morning…and BOY did I get a SHOCK when I went to put my contacts in my eyes that morning. I knew that I still had the jalapeno oils on my hands, so I went to use my pinky finger to put my contacts in, but they must of still gotten some of the ‘jalapeno juice’ on them as well. As soon as my contact hit my eye it was SEVERE pain. It felt like my eye was ON FIRE!!! I just stood at the counter jumping up & down because I couldn’t get my eye open to take the contact out..so I just  closed it really tight & the pain finally went away after 2 minutes. My poor eye looked like I had been crying for days!
All I can say is- LESSON LEARNED!!!

On another note, I got a new camera!!!!! 😀 Craig & I decided that we were not going to exchange Christmas gifts this year so that we could save for the wedding..and really both of us agree that we are just more excited to be able to spend Christmas TOGETHER instead of in separate states. (I used to fly up to Maryland after Christmas, usually on my birthday- the day after Christmas) It will just nice to be with one another 🙂 But, since it is my birthday the day after Christmas- he did get me a birthday gift, which I requested early 🙂 Luckily he gave me my new camera the day BEFORE Ethan was born, so I got to use it to take pictures of him.

It’s the Canon PowerShot with 14.1 megapixels. So far I love it. I’m still trying to figure out all of the settings, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out in due time 🙂 I’m excited to have it for pictures of Christmas & New Years! 🙂

What’s on your gift list this year??

Well, I’m off- we gotta get our butts to the gym this rainy, chilly morning- it’s always harder to get motivated when it’s pouring outside! But we WILL get there 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Ouch on the jalapeno hands. I have to be careful b/c I wear contacts. I’ve had to cut my nails off before b/c the juice was soaked into my nails and I couldn’t get my hands cleaned at all.

    Reply
  2. i;m salivating like CRAZY over those pancakes at the moment!

    Reply
  3. I want a nikon SLR camera.

    Corn pancakes? What a great idea-I shall call them corncakes and I’m going to have to give those a try real soon.

    PS: Your dress from October 2009 in your photo, where did you get it because it is fabulous.

    Reply
  4. YAY for the new camera and the wonderful recipe 🙂

    Reply
  5. I was just thinking today how I have never made any chili! Now I have no excuse not to 🙂
    Enjoy your new gift!

    Reply
  6. I agree! This year has totally flown by!
    I have not even started Christmas shopping! YIKES!!!!!:/

    Reply
  7. aww. i love that you have such a great relationship w/ your mom & dad. you are very blessed! xo

    Reply
  1. Buffalo Chicken Sliders « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

