Stuffed Like Sausages!

Don’t forget to enter my give-away !! It ends Saturday at noon.:D

When I first laid my eyes on this recipe, I thought my computer was going to be fried due to my drooling! ๐Ÿ˜€ Just kidding. But, really when I saw that Liz had made HOMEMADE Peanut Butter Cups I was beyond excited! Craig’s absolute favorite candy is Reese’s peanut butter cups, so I knew he would be thrilled. There was only ONE small problem….I didn’t have a mini muffin pan ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I put the recipe in my ‘MUST MAKE SOON’ folder (you should see that thing, it’s huge), and was going to buy a pan when we got back from Maryland.
Looks like my dreams came true- guess what someone got me at my surprise bridal shower?!? A MINI MUFFIN PAN! (& you can WIN one too from my give-away ๐Ÿ™‚ ) AS soon as I opened it I exclamed “YAYYYY I get to make those homemade Reese’s cups!!!” That got everyone’s attention pretty darn quick. They immediately requested that I make them while I was there….their wish was my command!

I followed Liz’s recipe exactly, well except that I didn’t have any mini muffin liners…but I learned my lesson. Buy those…you will be thankful.

(you’ll see I ran out of chocolate for a few…oops!)

These. are. PERFECT. They taste JUST like Reese’s! Everyone was commenting on HOW good they were, but I thought Craig was the funniest. He would sneak into the kitchen randomly, head to the fridge & eat about three of them…THINKING that no one saw him. Little did he know, I spotted him ๐Ÿ˜‰ He was REALLY bummed when they were gone. …looks like I’ll be making them again soon, VERY soon.

Before I left for Maryland, I asked Craig if it would be ok if I made dinner for his parentsย one night while we wereย visiting. He said OF COURSE, they would love it. I was set on finding a great meal to make, and I knew EXACTLY where to head….Jessica’s blog, of course ๐Ÿ™‚ She never lets me down with any of her recipes, so I knew whatever recipe I chose would be a winner.

First things first, appetizers! I saw this dip for ‘Hot Caprese Dip’ & wanted to make it the SECOND I saw it. I figured this would be a good time to try it out. It didn’t disappoint, that’s for sure! Everyone enjoyed it & the dip was GONE by the end of the night. I followed her recipe exactly.


For the main dish I decided upon Chicken Romano with Lemon Butter Sauce.
I changed things up just a TINY bit…you’ll see my changes indicated below.
The recipe is copied from Jessica’s blog.

Chicken Romano w/ Lemon Butter Sauce

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts ( I used 6 chicken breasts- the boys know how to eat ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 cup flour

3 eggs (I used egg whites instead of the whole egg)

3/4 cups romano cheese

3/4 chicken stock

1/2 stick butter (1/4 stick butter)

1 whole lemon

1/3 cup white wine

1/2 tablespoon dried parsley

Preheat oven to 350. Add olive oil to skillet on medium heat.

Tenderize chicken, then dredge through flour, egg and cheese. Place in skillet and brown on both sides. Once brown, turn off heat.


Melt butter in a small sauce pan. Add lemon juice and chopped up lemons. Try to discard all seeds. Add white wine and parsley. Let come to a boil. then pour entire mix into chicken skillet. Add chicken stock to skillet.

Cover and bake for about 20 minutes at 350. Serve with pasta or rice.

I served the chicken with some of my favorite noodles, which I happened to FIND IN THE GROCERY store up there-
Carba Nada noodles.

On the side- some fresh bread & a side salad.

Along with dinner we enjoyed some of Craig’s Dad’s HOMEMADE wine! He has all of the supplies to make wine at home. You should see their basement, it’s like a little wine workshop ๐Ÿ™‚ He has made three different kinds so far (I believe)- they take about a YEAR to make…EACH. I was shocked by that. He has made a Pinot Noir, a Blueberry Wine (SOOOOOOO GOOD) & that night we tried his newest- a Zinfandel.

Mmmmmm this was so good! He has quite a talent. I really think he should sell his wine- it’s THAT good.

Now, on to dessert. THE dessert that will be talked about for years to come.
For this one I chose Jess’ ‘Better- Than- Crack- Brownies.” I made these for his parents, but because there were so many in the recipe- there is no way 4 people could all of them in 2 days….well, ok, you could, but your belly would probably be on a sugar high for weeks! :)- so we had them at the Family Christmas party as well. I can’t tell you how many people asked for this recipe! No lie. They were BLOWN AWAY at how good these babies were!
I followed the recipe exactly how Jess had it. I copied the recipe from her site below.

Better-Than-Crack Brownies

1 batch brownies (boxed mix or oooey gooey brownies)

1/2 cup salted peanuts (if donโ€™t have salted, add sea salt)

1 cup chopped Reeseโ€™s peanut butter cups

1 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

1 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 tablespoon butter

1 1/2 cups Rice Krispies Cereal

Mix brownies according to directions, and bake for 20-25 minutes in a 9 x 13 baking dish. Remove and top with peanuts and peanut butter cups, and bake for 4-6 minutes more.

While they are finishing baking, melt chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter. Stir in cereal. Remove brownies from oven and evenly pour chocolate mixture over top.

Refrigerate for 2 hours before serving.


Needless to say we went to bed as STUFFED little piggies ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay tuned for the New Years Eve Re-Cap ๐Ÿ˜€

Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Drool city over here. The Reeses are BOMB! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad they were a hit. I’ve been wanting to make Jessica’s BTC brownies, too, lately! And you just reminded me of her chicken recipe… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  2. You seriously made so many of my favorite things! Glad you loved them. That romano chicken is SO good.

    Reply
  3. OH MY GOSH- from the pb cups to the dip to those brownies! this is one seriously good looking post!

    Reply
  4. Your dinner looks so good! You did a great job cooking for Craig’s parents. Those pb cups look amazing. I’m drooling over my computer now ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. Are you trying to make me drool over my keyboard? All these treats and dinners look fantastic. Holy moly. I’m seriously wanting to jump through my computer!

    Reply
  6. OMG. I am speechless with the amazing deliciousness in those photos. I am damn near salivating.

    Reply
  7. That caprese dip looks AMAZING. I’m making it the next time I have people over.

    Reply
  8. omg your food pictures today are killing me! everything looks so good! i thought you had me at the candy, but i am loving the chicken romano too!!

    Reply
  9. I love hard cheeses and dips; why have I never thought of melting the cheese? (anything with better-than-crack as a name must be good! that dessert looks amazing)

    Reply
  10. aww thats so sweet that you thought of the boy as soon as you saw the reeses recipe ๐Ÿ™‚ i think thats precious!!

    yours turned out beautifully though! YUM

    Reply
  11. Whoa Whoa Whoa – It should be a sin to have 300 good recipes in one post!! Um, if I win your give away could you send some pb cups to me? Haha…seriously NOTHING better than pb and chocolate!!

    Reply
  12. Can’t believe what I just read. This is awesome. Thanks for this great info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

