Baking In Between Naps.

Good Sunday Morning!

As you know, Sunday is my favorite day during the fall & winter months for ONE reason– FOOOOOTBALLL!!! But the cool thing about this time of year is that it is playoff time, which means NFL on BOTH Saturday & Sunday…ahhhhhh the best 😀 Yesterday was some great football- way to go Seahawks! Not going to lie, I honestly had a feeling that they might pull it off- not even kidding. As for the second game, well, we were pulling for the Colts (sorry Court!) – it was a close game, but the Jets pulled it off.

Today is the RAVENS v. Chiefs game- you know who I’m pulling for 😉

^that was right before Craig & I got engaged 😀
LOVE those guys!!! BLACK & PURPLE!

Ok, now that I’ve gotten all of my football talk out of the way (sorry, I have to do it every Sunday..)I’ll tell ya about my weekend..so far.
So you know how my Kitchen Aid arrived this week? Well I think I have set a record for Kitchen Aid use. I’ve used it more than 4 times for 4 different recipes in LESS than 24 hours & I’m SO SICK!

This should come as NO shock as to what I made first- my girl Liz’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscotti. This biscotti BEATS any other biscotti I have EVER had. No joke. This stuff totally ROCKED!
I followed her recipe EXACTLY. Why change something that is so perfect?!

Below is HER recipe- just copied from her blog 🙂

Makes about 30 biscotti

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips (or chopped dark chocolate)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Whisk to blend. 
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter, peanut butter and sugar.  Beat on medium-high speed until fluffy and smooth, 1-2 minutes.  Blend in the vanilla.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed between additions. 
  3. With the mixer on low speed, blend in the dry ingredients just until incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips or chocolate chunks until evenly distributed.
  4. Divide the dough in half.  Shape into logs on the prepared baking sheet, about 11- by 3-inches in size, spacing at least 3 inches apart. 

  5. Bake for 30 minutes.  Remove the pan from the oven while maintaining the oven temperature.  Let the logs cool for 10 minutes. 
  6. Slice the logs diagonally into slices about ½- to ¾-inch thick.  Lay the slices, cut side down, on the baking sheet.  Bake, turning once, until the slices are slightly crisp, about 20-30 minutes more.  
  7. Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool completely. 

I feel like I’ve been living at a resort this weekend. I mean who gets to wake up & enjoy PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP biscotti with their coffee!? We do 😀

You really NEED to make these IMMEDIATELY! I could eat the whole batch in one day if I had no self control…they are just THAT good! Thanks Liz- you’re the best 🙂

I also had a few flubs during my Kitchen Aid extravaganza….including this Lemon Blueberry Bread.

It might look good, but it was gross…to put it plainly. Just gross. Neither of us could eat it. I think I tried to ‘healthify’ it too much &  just turned it inedible. I also think it had too much lemon zest in it. The recipe I followed called for 2 tablespoons, so that’s what I added PLUS 3 tablespoons lemon juice. Let’s just say I don’t want anything lemon for a while.
And this:

cost me about $6!!!!! Ugh. What a waste. Oh well, I’m sure I’ll use it again, eventually. Once the lemon taste gets out of my mouth!

I also attempted to make homemade pizza dough with the ‘hook’ that they include with your Kitchen Aid.

I had a little problem though- my dough didn’t rise 😦 Ok, that’s more of a BIG problem- lol! I THINK I have figured out the problem though. I believe it’s a combination of having too hot of water (the temperature was about 120 when I added the yeast to it, and I think it needs to be between 105- 115) & not letting it rise in a warmer location. Also, I’m not sure if this made a difference- but I used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour..?

Any advice on how to make it rise?? HELP please!! I think I’m going to try again to make the dough tonight.

Instead of pizza I had chicken noodle soup & veggies.

Craig sure knows how to take care of me 🙂 He was like, “H, I’ll make you some soup for dinner.” I said “Perfect.” Then he goes, “do you want some veggies too?” Ahhhhhh he knows me too well 😀 I love my veggies, especially when I’m sick.

That gets me to my next point- no workout for me yesterday- which is RARE. Normally I workout when I’m sick because it tends to help me feel better, but yesterday just the THOUGHT of working out made me sleepy. I was exhausted…alllll day. In between my naps though, I was in the kitchen with my beloved Kitchen Aid! lol!

I don’t know what my sickness is- hopefully just the common cold. I got my flu shot- I thought I was taken care of! It all started on Friday- I woke up with a sore throat & through out the day it just got worse- sniffles, dizzy kind of feeling & an upset stomach. I was hoping when I went to bed on Friday, after taking two E mer gen C’s, that I would wake up on Saturday refreshed & ready to go. Not the case. Definitely worse. I did manage to take down the Christmas decorations..after that I took another nap…and after that nap I met up with my kitchen for another date 😉

I wanted to research the question ” should you work out when you are sick, ” so I turned to Google to help me answer that question. This is what I found on CNN.com:

Experts like to cite a rule of thumb known as the “neck rule.” If your symptoms are all located above your neck (stuffy nose, scratchy throat, headache), you almost certainly have a head cold and can hit the road or treadmill safely. If, on the other hand, you have a fever, congestion in your chest and lungs, or feel achy, it is probably a sign of flu, bronchitis, or another more serious ailment, and you should rest up. (Exercising with a fever will make you more vulnerable to dehydration, among other ill effects.)

** Even if it is ‘just above the neck’ it is important to USE common sense too! If your body is screaming “NO” to working out- then listen. Missing one workout WILL not cause you any harm or make you can weight. Also, if you do choose to go to the gym for a workout (if you’re feeling up for it) make sure you wipe off the equipment after use. You don’t want to spread your germs.**

Today I’m going to try to do a light workout. Maybe some light jogging & incline walking. We’ll see how  my body reacts. I’m definitely NOT 100% yet, but I would really like to get some kind of exercise in today. Sometimes working out really does help me feel better. BUT if at any point during my workout my body says NO, then I will stop & get some rest. I’m just hoping this sickness is gone, or almost gone by tomorrow. I really can’t miss work. I need to save up my vacation days for my bachelorette party/ wedding/ & honeymoon!

My questions to you are: Do you workout when you are sick? What if you are sick for a few days & you haven’t been able to workout, do you try to do something light even if you aren’t feeling 100%? When you do workout again, after being sick, do you go right back to your intense workouts or do a lighter workout?

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I want to try that biscotti so bad! I need to go get the ingredients asap!

    Reply
  2. Haha, don’t apologize for your football Sundays! They are awesome 🙂 Yesterday’s games threw us for a loop.

    I have had more baking flubs than you know. Also, I think dried lemon peel is much stronger than regular lemon peel. http://www.aces.edu/pubs/docs/H/HE-0585/ That might be it?

    Reply
  3. I cant believe the lemon blueberry bread was gross! It sounds and LOOKS delicious!

    If I’m feeling sick, I usually just dont work out. Just wait until I am feeling better.

    Reply
  4. I actually have a headcold now and don’t want to workout.

    That blueberry bread looks so good. I want to try it anyways ha.

    I’m actually watching the Ravens now YAY!

    Reply
  5. Hope you feel better soon! It’s no fun to be sick! Glad you are enjoying your new KitchenAid mixer!

    Reply
  6. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 9, 2011

    Sorry the lemon blueberry bread wasn’t good… it looks heavenly! Try again and report back, mmmkay?! So glad you liked the biscotti… so delish! So, I found MINI Reeses at the grocery store today… i think I may make them with those next time! And, I ordered vanilla beans JUST for you… to make the scones. I’ve never had them from Sbucks, so I’ll have to go try one… all in the name of research, you know?! 😉 xo

    Reply
    • You got it 🙂 I gotta try to correct whatever it was that went wrong. I swear it’s lemon OVERLOAD. Yes, the biscotti- OMG- beyond delish 😀 I can’t stay away from them. I will drink three cups of coffee just to eat more biscotti, so I can dip them in. This morning I was buzzing around like a loon! lol! I’m SO excited about those scones!! I’m emailing you now. Hope you have a good week! xoxo

      Reply
  7. I really need to try to make biscotti again. The one and only time I made it didn’t turn out well but I love it and would love to wake up and have it with my coffee!

    Reply
  8. I’m moving to Florida so I can be tan like you. Oh and you know…so we can be real life friends.

    Sometimes I don’t even work out when I’m healthy…so I usually don’t work out when I’m sick. Dedication at it’s finest. Lol.

    Reply
  9. if im sick.. i maybe do a very short run.. or def a walk! but i just listen to how im feeling..! love that biscotti!

    Reply
  10. That bread would fool me because it does LOOK very tasty!! And yes, I work out when I’m sick. I don’t get sick very often, but when I do, I usually go swimming. Might be TMI, but swimming really clears everything out. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Catherine

     /  January 10, 2011

    Go Ravens! Want some more purple in your life? Check out my friend’s post about painting the town purple! http://champaynewishes.wordpress.com/2011/01/10/paint-the-town-purple/

    Reply
  12. Laura

     /  January 10, 2011

    please don’t workout when you are sick! you risk passing it on to others in the gym! If you want to workout do something at home, or jog outside….

    I’ve never made biscotti! they look yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

