What’s YOUR Health IQ?

Whenever Sunday comes I ALWAYS look forward to it…not only because of FOOTBALL, but also because I get the Sunday paper. The Sunday paper is the best- full of ads & my favorite, coupons!! Woohoo! It’s free money, so why not use it?! 😉

While looking through the ads, I noticed an intriguing title on the Parade magazine— “What is Your Health I.Q?” I had to check it out, and surprisingly I learned a few new things! I figured I would share the information with you, maybe you will learn something too 🙂

(these are taken directly from the magazine, my own comments are added in)

1. Drinking milk will make a cold worse– FALSE.

there is no correlation between dairy intake & more phlegm. <– ew, that word is disgusting!

2. Honey can help burns HEAL!

According to a study, honey helped wounds heal faster than some antibiotic creams.

3. Gargling with salt water will help a sore throat.
I always heard this, but I wasn’t sure if it actually did help. It’s so gross I didn’t want to use something that I didn’t know for sure would work. But, 1/4- 1/2 teaspoon of salt dissolved in 8oz of warm water can temporarily relieve a sore or scatchy throat.

4. The MOST dangerous place to gain weight is in the BELLY.

New research from the Mayo Clinic has shown that lower-body fat is not biologically the same as a roll around the middle. The ‘roll’ is made up of visceral fat, which is linked to a higher risk of diabetes, heart disease, & some cancers. Moderate aerobic exercise can help reduce belly fat; crunches…not so much.

5. To decrease your chances of catching a cold, avoid watching too much tv.

Surprisingly, what your Mom used to tell you about walking around with a wet hair & catching a cold is really just an old wives tale. (my mom used to tell me that ALL the time because I would walk around with my wet hair in a towel for hours…lol!) But, EXERCISE is the key to stopping a cold. Spending too much time in front of the tv leads to less physical activity. So get moving! 🙂

6. Being able to touch your toes is a good way to test your flexibility & your risk of heart disease.

Lack of trunk flexibility may mean that your arteries are as rigid as the rest of you. Stiff arteries can be a precursor of heart disease! (<– didn’t know that. did you?)

7. Cranberries help to reduce cavities.

Cranberries may also inhibit bacterial growth in your mouth, a leading cause of cavities and periodontal disease.  

8. The BEST source of more energy in the afternoon is a NAP!

The occassional nap when necessary can help raise energy levels, which can lead to a more active life.

9. The kitchen sponge is the GERMIEST item in your house.

These soak up bacteria from food & countertops. Solution? Moisten them, then pop them into the microwave for 2 minutes.

10. The best place to store your vitamins is in your linen closet.

The high humidity in bathrooms can cause vitamins to lose their potency. Stash your vitamins in a cool place away from sunlight & humidity.
*I keep mine in my desk at work- that way I’m sure to take them because it’s a drawer I open right when I get to work. I also have vitamins at home to take on the weekends.

Hope you learned something new 😀

I had a nice surprise on my porch when I got home…my package from Crate & Barrel finally arrived!!!! Anne, my giveway winner,– your package will be going out this afternoon! 😀 Here’s what it looks like:

I LOVE the measuring spoons, I almost had to keep them 😉 I hope you enjoy it!!

I also got a few things for myself…

Some cute little plates. Since our new dishes that we got as a wedding present from my Mom & sister did not come with little plates- like ones for bread- I found these, which are plain white, & they seem to make perfectly.

I also got a cake tester for myself, the same one that I will be sending to Anne.

Too cute, right?! No more need for toothpicks to test baked goods.

Last but not least….we have a small problem with having a TON of utensils. Our utensil holder is OVER flowing! I saw this bamboo holder online & thought it would be great. I read all of the reviews & they said that it was bigger that they thought it would be. Apparently it’s not big enough for me…we still have to keep two utensil holders. Maybe one day I’ll find something big enough that it’s too hideous. 🙂 If you have any ideas for a better way to store utensils, please let me know! 

Oh, I did this workout yesterday & really liked it– it’s a cardio/ leg combination workout.

*10 minute sprints on treadmill:
Minutes          Pace
0-1                    6.0
1-1:30              9.0
1:20- 2             8.0
2-3                     6.0
3- 3:30             9.0
3:30- 4             8.0
4-5                     6.0
5- 5:30             9.0
5:30- 6             8.0
6-7                    6.0
7- 7:30            9.0
7:30- 8            8.0
8-9                    6.0
9- 9:30            9.0
9:30- 10         8.0
10- 12              6.0

*10 minutes incline walking- 3.2 speed, 15% incline

*10 minutes on arc trainer- 5 resistance

*Leg circuit- 3 sets of each, 12 reps each- did this circuit style
-inner thigh press- 40lb.
-outer thigh press- 40lb.
-leg press- 90lb.
-leg extension- 40lb.
-leg curl- 40lb.

*cool down with stretching

Before leaving, I must say TGIF!! Looking forward to this weekend- the RAVENS play tomorrw- please cheer them on!!! 😀
<– that’s my boy, Lardarius Webb 😀 (I hugged him!)
<– hoping for LOTS of this.
<– Suggs!!

Ok, I’m done. 😀 I think you get the picture. Go Ravens!!!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 14, 2011

    I love those little IQ tests about health, etc. That pic of the belly… gross! Hahaha. Look at all your goodies!

    Reply
  2. I love that cake testing device ha.

    I had no idea cranberries killed germs in your mouth, I’m going to have a lot more of those guys.

    Reply
  3. Holly! Why did you put that gross picture of my stomach on your blog???? lol lol lol

    Phlegm is the grossest word ever. And the grosses thing ever.

    Reply
  4. Hey! I did a fun quiz thing on my blog too! Not nearly as fun as your quiz though haha. Btw I love the first express dress you showed me! I actually have had my eye on it for sometime and since express is around the corner I may go sweep it up! But thank you so much for the links! You are a dolly! 🙂

    Reply
  5. love those fun facts.. they were great to read! i have that cake tester 🙂 have a great weekend!

    Reply
  6. loved the facts, especially the honey one!

    Reply
  7. Those fun facts are great. I really like #6…I’m not very flexible but it’s something I’m working on! I totally hate the word phlegm too..it’s such a weird word!

    Reply
  8. yay i can touch my toes!!! have an AWESOME WEEKEND GIRL!!!

    Reply
  9. Anne

     /  January 15, 2011

    SO excited =) hope you’re having fun with your new goodies tooo!
    and it seems like honey can do ANYTHING aha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

