What Started Out So Perfectly..

Yesterday started off so nicely….

After having my usual for breakfast, I headed to the gym for an AWESOME workout. When I first saw this workout I KNEW I wanted to do it ASAP. It’s a FULL body weight workout & I got the idea from Workout Nirvana. I changed a few things- including the warm up. Instead of a light warmup, I decided to do a little HIIT run.  (I was feelin’ a bit crazy 😉 )

Warm Up

On treadmill:
0 – 5 minutes- run/ jog @ 6.5  
5 – 15 minutes- sprint for 30 seconds @ 9.0, then run/ jog for 1 minute @ 6.5
15 – 16 minutes- cool down- walk @ 3.5

Legs/Glutes- 3 sets of 12 reps each- done circuit style

  1. Dumbbell Walking Lunges with lift (<– similar to that, but add walking & thanks Gina for the video 🙂 )- holding 15lb. DB each hand
  2. Stiff Legged Barbell Dumbbells – using 30lb. barbell
  3. Sitting Calf Raises (on machine)- with 55lb. weights
  4. Leg Press- 50lb. each side

Chest & Back Supersets- 3 sets of 12 reps each- done circuit style

SUPERSET 1

Barbell Bench Press- 55lbs. on bar

Superset with:

Barbell Row (with palms reversed)- 30lb. barbell

SUPERSET 2

Cable Crossovers- 30lb. each side

Superset with:

Reverse Dumbbell Flyes- 5lb. each hand

Shoulders- 3 sets of 6 reps

Iron Cross exercise– 5lb. each hand- these are KILLER!

Biceps & Triceps Supersets- 3 sets of 12 reps- done circuit style

Standing EZ bar curls- with 20lb. barbell

Superset with:

Tricep Pushdown- 50lbs.

Abs- 3 sets of 12 reps- done circuit style

Hanging Ab Leg Raises- using body weight

Incline Sit ups- holding 8lb. ball

Incline side to side oblique crunches- holding 8lb. ball

Finish up by stretching.

This workout is KILLER & I mean KILLER. You might not think it’s too bad when you read over it, but you will feel it later in the day & then the next day you will REALLY feel it. I am DEFINITELY feeling it today!! I would suggest doing this workout on a day before you have a rest day, that way you can recover. Today is not my rest day, but my workout today will be something on the ligther side. (maybe some jogging & incline walking)

Once I got home & took a shower, I made myself a protein shake for lunch & caught up on reading blogs 🙂

We kind of relaxed & took it easy until 4:30pm. GAME TIME!
During the first half of the game we were THRILLED, but we knew it wasn’t over. Still a half left to play.
Well, that second half was AWFUL 😦 I feel like the team just FELL APART. We were both really upset, but we also realize there is always next year….even though we wanted to make it to the Superbowl THIS year.

The only thing that cheered us up was a FANTASTIC dinner.
I happened to see this recipe on Kristen’s blog for this breaded buffalo chicken. I liked her idea of marinating the chicken in the marinade rather than glazing it over the top of the chicken. Here’s what I did:

Sweet n’ Sour Buffalo Chicken

Ingredients:
-1/2 cup hot sauce (I used Frank’s- Hot Buffalo)
-1 cup (NOT PACKED) light brown sugar
-2 tablespoons honey
-1 lb. chicken tenderloins or chicken breasts
-panko bread crumbs (about 1 cup)

Preparation:

1. Take the first 3 ingredients & combine them in a medium bowl.


2. Add chicken to mixture & let marinade at least an hour, if not more. (I did it for about 4 hours)

3. When you are ready to prepare the chicken, preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Then put the panko crumbs in a bowl. Dip each side of chicken into the panko crumbs, then put coated chicken on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.

4. Bake about 15 minutes, flipping half way through.

Serve with ranch, if desired. Or just eat them by themselves…which is what I did! 🙂 SO good! Perfect combination of that sweet & spicy flavor. YUM!

I must admit, these helped our moods a little bit. But the best part of the night was right after the game when Craig came over & gave me a big hug & said…”H, you’re my superbowl ring.” 😀 (a big “Awwwww!” lol!) He sure knows how to cheer a girl up 😉

Stay tuned to see what I made for breakfast for the morning after a loss…..I promise it’s worth seeing 😀

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Awwww what a sweet guy! Sorry your team didn’t win, but next year right 😉

    Reply
  2. I just had buffalo chicken dip and boy was it delicious. Can we please talk about my love for it? I just want to bake anything and everything buffalo chicken related.

    I was upset about the Ravens as well but I think they will do better next season. Next up draft time.

    Reply
  3. Oooh, I love the sweet & sour combo here. Honey AND hot sauce!? Has to be a winner 🙂

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 16, 2011

    Lloyd asked how you were dealing with the loss! ;0) Sorry about the Ravens. Your dinner looks spectacular, though!

    Reply
  5. Sorry to hear your team lost! It’s always such a big letdown when that happens. I’m sure your spirits will be lifted soon enough. 🙂

    Reply
  6. that seriously is a killer work out! wow!

    Reply
  7. That workout looks awesome!! I’m definitely going to try that one! I was totally bummed about the Ravens loss too : ( Hope the rest of your weekend was great!

    Reply
  1. The ‘Morning After’ Breakfast « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

