The Daily Routine.

Hey there!

I don’t have any recipe to share with you today. Craig was out of town last night- he flew out to St. Louis, MO yesterday, so I just ate leftovers- a big ol’ salad πŸ˜€ He’s back tonight….& I can’t wait! Sounds pathetic, I know, but I really do miss him…even when he’s gone for a night.

It just so happened that I had my hair appointment scheduled forΒ last night too. It kind of worked out..and I didn’t even plan it that way. Love when things like that happen. My friend Kayla, who does my hair (she’s the one that owns the salon – Studio K) was not too pleased with my decision to continue to wear hair extensions after she originally cut it. There are actually two little bald spots behind each of my ears, from where they clip in. They are just from always wearing the extensions- they just pull on my scalp when I have them in all day. She asked me why I decided to keep wearing them. I told her I was doing good for a few weeks, but then I REALLY missed the long hair, so I put the extensions in.

I was just being honest with her. She is determined to get me to stop wearing them. She asked me what it would take. I just told her that I was limited on different styles, and I just needed help with how I can wear it different ways. As I told her, IΒ am hair retarded! I really just cannot think of different cute ways to wear it. Maybe I need toΒ Google someΒ different looks.Β She definitely had a BUNCH of ideas & I can’t wait to try them! One of them was this—>

(NO photoshopping done/ limited make up, so excuse the ‘end of the day look’ πŸ˜‰ )

It’s like a wavy/ curly kind of style. I LOVE it. She did the curls with a straightener & then kind of combed them out. She also taught me how to curl my hair with the straightener….but that will definitely take time, thank goodness for curling irons in the mean time πŸ™‚

This whole thing got me thinking…I don’t think I’ve ever shared my typical daily routine with you. Honestly, it’s not too exciting, that’s why I love reading other tips for skin care & make up. Here are a few things about me πŸ˜€

First- I have AWFUL & I mean AWFUL vision. I am legally blind without my contacts in or glasses on.

That would be me in glasses πŸ™‚ I put theseΒ on at night…otherwise I’m in my contacts. (& yes, my eyes really are blue…people always ask me that when they find out I wear contacts)

Oh, if you’re wondering about my cool background, it’s our new shower curtain πŸ™‚ It’s all part of the bathroom set I picked out for our guest room. I love it, it’s so colorful!

Now for my EVER so exciting make up routine. (insert TOTAL sarcism here πŸ˜‰ ) I really have no make up routine, no favorite brands & no real idea of how to pick out make up.

^that would be my DISASTER of a make up bag.

Here’s a confession. I really have NO idea how to put make up on. Ok, I mean I know the basics, but I don’t know how to pick out eye shadow, or blush, or any of the ‘cool’ stuff. I think it’s because my Mom never really wore make up, just for special occassions & she told all of us girls that it was better to just be natural. I didn’t even own any sort of make up until high school! Actually it wasn’t even until 10th grade.

Here’s another confession– the FIRST time that I have EVER bought lipstick (like legitamate lipstick, not lip gloss, or chap stick) was RIGHT before Christmas!! (yes, Christmas of 2010!) I still never wear it, I only wore it a few times in Maryland. I just have no idea on how to pick out the right color..or what shade goes with what. I always think I’ll end up looking like a clown. I’m COMPLETELY clueless!! Haha πŸ˜€

One thing I am pretty good at, if I do say so myself, is doing my nails πŸ™‚ I LOVE all types of shades- including one of my favorites, black!

I’m actually ok with not having any idea of how to pick out make up. I guess since I really never learned how, I don’t know what I’m missing. I think another thing that doesn’t make me care about make up is that Craig always tell me that he really likes me just natural…with no make up.
I’ll just say it’s a good thing that I can hire someone to do my make for my wedding πŸ˜‰ And, yes, I’m having a ‘natural look.’ πŸ™‚

I do have ONE thing that I can recommend for skin care- this lotion —>

It’s Johnson & Johnson lotion! Yes, the stuff you can buy at Target! I have found this lotion works SO MUCH BETTER than any other lotion. I LOVE the stuff & the scent is a light & fresh scent…nothing too strong. I actually think it’s baby lotion. It makes your skin sooooo very soft, and it stays that way all day!

Oh, and absolute FAVORITE daily product is my Sonicare toothbrush. I’ve used a regular toothbrush for years…but then I was introduced to this & forever my toothbrush will be a Sonicare toothbrush! πŸ˜€

This baby is the BEST! I have noticed SUCH a difference between a regular toothbrush, & now using this. It is TOTALLY worth the money. My dental check ups have been much better too. The dentist definitely knows when you switch your toothbrush, I swear they have a radar or something for these toothbrushes πŸ™‚

Anyways, hope you have enjoyed learning about some of my daily routine πŸ™‚ Now, I have to know, what’s one thing that you use daily that you just LOVE??

Have a great day! πŸ˜€ Don’t forget, it’s a BRAND NEW ‘The Office’ tonight on NBC! WOOOHOOOO!

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. ahah oo good question!! one thing i use daily that i love is either my face wash.. or my floss… floss and facewash make me feel so refreshed and clean!

    Reply
  2. Oh man that nail polish color is cool, that’s it I’m going to get my nails done today! πŸ™‚ I think that you have gorgeous eyes by the way! I really really think your fishy curtains are cute too for the shower! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. P.S. You’re so pretty with no makeup on, WOW! πŸ™‚ model for living or what?

    Reply
  4. Eyebrow shading pencil. I can leave the house without any makeup besides that. Actually, I really think I need to go on the show strange addictions. But um really, you look beautiful, can I be as beautiful as you with limited makeup.

    I love your hair. I wish I had thinner curler hair-not an afro style ha.

    Reply
  5. your hair looks adorable! hmm i love my vanilla lotion from b&bw. so creamy! i smell like a sugar cookie all day long.

    Reply
  6. Your hair looks so cute!!!!

    Reply
  7. Wear your hair short!! It’s so cute. Makes you stand out from all the long haired sisters.

    I was so confused because I thought you cut your hair and then I saw long hair. Extensions make sense now! haha

    Reply
  8. Your hair is so cute! Love it! My only must-have of my makeup routine is mascara. I have super dark eyebrows and my eyes tend to disappear if I don’t put something on my lashes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. I wish my hair had some sort of body to it. I like your hair short – kind of sassy πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  10. i’m glad you recommended that lotion. they just quit making my FAVORITE curel lotion and i nearly cried, so i’m in the market for a good replacement.

    Reply
  11. you look great with the wavy hair!!!!

    I too can paint my own nails pretty well..I can do a mean French mani on myself πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  12. Love your hair, love the shower curtain, want your toothbrush!

    Reply
  13. If I ever attempt to paint my nails it looks like a 4 year old did them… yikes.

    Your hair looks amazing – Not many people can pull of that look but you look great!

    The one thing I use daily that I love is my clarisonic face brush!

    Reply
  14. Your hair is adorable! I seriously would love to have short hair if I could make mine look like that!

    Oh, and don’t worry about the whole make-up thing. I’m completely clueless on how to put on make-up as well. Don’t even try to get me to use eyeliner! haha

    Reply
  15. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 20, 2011

    So many things to comment on… ok first, that explains why you had long hair after I thought you chopped it in a bob (like me! twins!)… and, I think it looks really cute how your friend did it, and I think you should do a tutorital when you get good at it. JUST SAYIN’. Also, you are great a nail painting, mad props H! And I think it’s cute/funny tha you are make-up clueless! I don’t wear a lot of makeup, but I own a ton… i sweat Sephora/useless products. I’m a big fan of the Benefit cosmetics brand. Their bronzer is awesome, ans I like their mascara. I assumed your eyes were real, but they are seriously so crazy/stunning that they look fake! (And- twin!- people ask me the same thing ALL the time!) Can you come to Boston to meet up? Haha! And… scones are on the agenda this weekend! All for you, lady!

    Reply
  16. Your hair looks so cute!! I love the curls and waves your stylist did for you! I am in love with my electric toothbrush too! I feel like my teeth are much cleaner after brushing with the electric one than they are with a regular toothbrush! I’m totally hooked! I want to try that lotion your recommended too…the harsh winter takes a toll on my skin and I haven’t found a good lotion that I’m 100% satisfied with yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

