The Right Combination of Flavors

When I arrived home yesterday from work I had a surprise waiting for me…

CHOBANI!! My favorite 😀



TWO of my favorites- strawberry banana–

And the one I’m most excited to try…

The nice people at Chobani contacted me last week & said they wanted to send me some of their AMAZING products!! I was BEYOND excited because I eat one of these every. single. day. (hence the blog name 😉 ) & the best part is, I NEVER get sick of it! Also Greek yogurt contains TWICE the protein of regular yogurt- another HUGE plus. One thing I have also discovered (& I don’t know if anyone else has) is that even with my lactose intolerance, I can still eat Greek yogurt & it doesn’t bother my stomach, unlike regular yogurt. Has anyone else noticed that?? I’m thinking it might be the way it is strained.
THANK YOU SO MUCH EMILY!!!  

Now on to dinner last night…

There was this recipe that I saw that really intrigued me. I wasn’t sure what to think at first…the flavors sounded really good, but I didn’t know how well they would go together. Well, I should of known- anything Jess posts HAS to be good!

Tonight I decided to try out her Gnocchi with Balsamic Reduction. I wanted to make something special because Craig’s flight was getting in early!! He actually wasn’t supposed to get in until around 10pm, but he got to move his flight up due to the crazy weather out west. When I got to thinking what I should make this recipe instantly came to mind. He loves gnocchi, and I really wanted to check out this recipe. So, that’s exactly what I did!

(the recipe below is copied directly from Jess’ blog, with my comments thrown in here & there 😉  )

Gnocchi with Balsamic Reduction

serves 2

1 pound gnocchi (fresh or packaged- I used packaged)

3/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 sweet onion, chopped

1/2 pepper, chopped (any color will do – I used red)

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

3 tablespoons garlic basil butter (I only used 2 tablespoons…& it was totally by accident)

Heat a small saucepan over high heat and add balsamic vinegar. Allow vinegar to come to a boil them immediately reduce to a simmer. Simmer until vinegar reduces by half of the amount – about 8-10 minutes. Set aside and let cool.

Heat a skillet on medium-low heat and add 1 tablespoon garlic butter. (I didn’t read this correctly, I didn’t realize it was only 1 tablespoon that I was supposed to add, so I put all that I had made, which was 2 tablespoons)

Add chopped peppers, onions and mushrooms and sauté until soft, about 5 minutes.

While veggies are cooking, boil water for gnocchi and cook according to directions – they only take a few minutes, so make sure the veggies are almost finished cooking.

Drain gnocchi and add to veggies in skillet. Add vinegar reduction and garlic butter and stir to combine. Top with parmesan if desired. Serve and devour!


Garlic Basil Butter

1/4 cup softened butter

1 teaspoon freshly chopped basil

1 teaspoon minced garlic (or however much you want)

Combine ingredients in a bowl and mix to combine.
This was REALLY good. Definitely different, but in a really good way 🙂 The fiancé actually went back for THIRDS. He was impressed. I guess it was a good recipe to surprise him with. The flavors just seemed to mesh so well together.

I’m off! TGIF!! 😀

This weekend we have some fun things planned involving LOTS of wedding stuff. Stay tuned!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. So glad you guys liked the gnocchi! We have made it multiple times since!

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 21, 2011

    Yay for a weekend with wedding fun! Jessica is my idol. Seriously!

    Reply
  3. Greek yogurt is awesome. But FREE greek yogurt?! What a great way to start the weekend!

    Have fun with the wedding stuff!

    Reply
  4. Woohoo on that stash girl. Can you believe I’ve never tried Chobani????

    Reply
  5. I love balsamic vinegar on salad so I figured I’d love this dish when I saw it on How Sweet It Is. But I was very wrong. I sort of hated it…and the way it made my whole apartment smell like vinegar. But, my boyfriend loved it. He ate his portion, mine, and finished all the leftovers the next day. I was very upset because clearly my taste buds were the problem=(

    Reply
  6. Gosh this blog has my name written all over it. I would love love love to get a huge supply of Chobani, I also eat it almost every single day.

    Have I mentioned my love for gnocchi, I also eat that a lot more often then I eat pasta.

    Reply
  7. I just go that box a week ago and I’ve been eating a Chobani a day. I am beyond in love with their yogurt. Here’s a tip…mix the plain with 1 heaping tbsp of pumpkin butter. It tastes like creamy pumpkin pie!!!!

    Reply
  8. OMG SOOO JEALOUS! I am not even kidding you! Straw and bana is my fav too! Honeyyyyy? sounds devine! I actually was yelled at before for eating 4 chabonnis one day lol opps

    Reply
  9. Lucky you Holly! I LOVE chobani. That gnocchi looks very good and I’d wanna try it because I’m so curious how the balsamic sauce tastes!

    Have fun with all your wedding planning.- It goes by so fast! My wedding was 5 months ago!

    Reply
  10. OH MY GOSSHSH GNOCCHI LOOKS AMAZING! and you are sOO lucky with chobani!

    Reply
  11. Wow, look at all those Chobani flavors! You are a lucky girl, make sure to tell us what flavors are amazing!

    Reply
  12. i have to make that gnocchi. yum. and i LOOOOOOVE emily @ chobani! she is a BABE.

    Reply
  13. I love Greek yogurt too? Is Chobani your favorite or Fage or Oikos? I really love them all! The gnocchi looks soooooooooo goood by the way… How did you get Chobani to send you stuff I need to do this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

