Cheesy Pierogie Casserole

BEST part of yesterday—–>

Finding these!! Ahhhhhh! Cannot wait to try them. It’s the new Chobani Black Cherry 0%, Lemon 0%, & Mango 2%. I think this only begins to show my LOVE of Chobani. I HAD to buy these, even though I JUST got a HUGE box of 12 delivered to me from the wonderful people at Chobani! I was just too excited 😀 I’ll let you know what I think as soon as I try them!

Do you ever have those days where a recipe just kind of comes to you?? Yesterday was one of those days..and I love those days 🙂

First things first- my workout yesterday- PURE cardio. I usually dedicate at least 2 days during the week to just doing cardio, all other days incorporate both weights & cardio. I like to do random things though because sometimes the treadmill can get really boring…especially at 5am- there is nothing good on tv, just the news. Here’s what I did:

-10 minutes elliptical, 5 resistance, 20 crossramp

-10 minutes running- alternating each minute between 6.5 & 7.0

-10 minutes incline walking- 5 minutes @ 15%, 3.2; 5 minutes @ 7.5%, 4.0

-5 minutes stationary bike- alternating each minute between 1-5 resistance

-5 minutes Arc trainer- 5 resistance

I finished my workout with some ab exercises- including incline situps with medicine ball & incline crunches with medicine ball.

Now…on to the good stuff… 😉

Can you believe that I was just introduced to one of my favorite foods only about 2 years ago?! My good friend told me about pieorgies & how she cooked them. (she stir fries them with some vegetables) They just sounded too good, so I had to try them. For then on I think we have pieorgies at least every other week. They are delicious! I think they are such a great idea- mashed potatos stuffed inside little shells?!! ummmm, yes please 😀

I was trying to think of a good recipe to use pieorgies because I had a box in the freezer that were just staring at me. I got to thinking & I didn’t want to make anything with tomato sauce because I already have a meal planned for later in the week with tomato sauce.

Here’s what I came up with- it’s kind of like a Cheesy Vegetable Pierogie Casserole, so that’s what I’ll call it. 🙂

Cheesy Vegetable Pierogie Casserole

Ingredients:
-1 box frozen pierogies

-assortment of fresh vegetables (I used 1/4 red onion, 2 zucchini, 2 yellow squash, & about 1 cup fresh mushrooms), chopped
-1/2 cup cheese sauce, this is what I used–>

-1 can diced tomatos, with green chilis

Prep:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Spread fresh vegetables out on baking sheet, spraying both sides of veggies with cooking spray. Sprinkle with salt & pepper (if desired) Put in oven & bake about 30 minutes, flipping half way.

2. While the vegetables are baking, get the pierogie ready to bake. About 10 minutes into the vegetables cooking, I prepped the pierogies, according to package directions- Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray, then add pierogies to pan. Then spray both sides of pierogies with cooking spray.
3. When there is about 16 minutes left of cooking time for the veggies, add the pieorgies to the oven & bake for 16 minutes, flipping half way. Once they are both finished baking, pull the pans out of oven & set aside.

4. Take the cheese sauce & the diced tomatos & combine in a small bowl.
5. Pour the pierogies & veggies into a sprayed 9 x 13 inch pan & mix to combine. Add the cheese sauce over top of the pierogies mixture, then stir to combine. Make sure it is all even in the pan.

6. Sprinkle with cheese if desired & put casserole dish back into oven for about 10 minutes.

Eat & Enjoy 😀

…try not to go back for seconds, I dare ya 😉

I REALLY enjoyed this & it is SO easy to make….perfect for a Monday when you just want to relax!

The rest of the night looked like this–>

Last night we sealed & stamped all of our invitations!!! They are going out today- can’t wait 😀 It’s all really coming together now….c’mon May 27th!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Wedding invitations how fun! I want perogis so badly right now!! 🙂 I won a give away witha bunch of Chobani so pumped!

    Reply
  2. I’m so jealous ha. I wish I would be delivered more Chobani yogurt. I actually can’t even go get any because my car has died bahh. Seriously can you come be my chef? I’ll make you breakfast if you can make dinner.

    Reply
  3. i can’t wait to find those chobani flavors!

    Reply
  4. I wanted to say the invites look great! My sister is getting married in May also (Purple is her color too), and we’re still working on the invites. The site she’s using keeps giving her design problems, I think it’d be so much better to do it herself.

    That dish looks so good, now I must try one.

    Reply
  5. I love pierogies! Go Poland! hahaha

    Reply
  6. you are SO lucky about chobani!!! and wow… that ragu sauce does look pretty darn delicious!

    Reply
  7. OMG…I love, love, love pierogies! I had never heard of them until I went to college in Central PA. My mother-in-law makes the absolute best homemade pierogies! Potato, cheese and dough…what’s better than that! I will definitely try the casserole…we always saute our pierogies in butter on the stove.

    Reply
  8. Ordering perogis this week because of you!

    Reply
  9. woah, mango??? sweeeeeet!

    Reply
  10. Perogies AND Chobani?! AHHH I wanna try the newbies SO bad! And those perogies…omnomnommm!

    Wanna share? 😉

    Reply
  11. I’ve never had a pierogie!!

    Mango chobani looks SO good. Where did you find them!?

    Reply
  12. Not going to lie…I sort of cringed at the bottle of cheese sauce but it looks amazing! I have like/hate issues with processed cheesi-ness. Some brands it’s yummy and other times it is just plain yucky! Clearly i might have to try Ragu because this looks like something my boyfriend would devour!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

