Making Use of Blueberries

The other day I went to Publix on my lunch break & was pleasantly surprised that blueberries were on sale for $2.99! What a steal! Of course I grabbed some & then I got to thinking how I would use them. I really wanted something sweet. I haven’t made a dessert to have after dinner in a while. Typically I have something before bed, usually some kind of quick bread (like banana or pumpkin bread), but a REAL dessert sounded good!! I created a ‘heathified’ blueberry crisp/ crumble. You can use whatever substitutions you would like, it’s pretty much all according to taste. I do not mind using sugar substitutes in baking, but I know that some people do.

Blueberry Crisp

Ingredients:

-3 cups blueberries (use can use fresh or frozen)
-1 tablespoons brown sugar 
-1 tablespoon sugar substitute
-1 tablespoon whole wheat flour
-1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
-2/3 cup whole wheat flour
-1/4 cup loosely packed brown sugar
-1/4 cup sugar substitute
-1/3 cup regular oats
-1 teaspoon ground cinammon
-3 tablespoons margarine, divided
-1 teaspoon ground cinammon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Combine the first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl; spoon into an 8 x 8 inch baking dish. 


Combine 2/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup sugar substitute, oats, and cinnamon, and cut in 2 tablespoons margarine with a pastry blender or two knives until the mixture resembles coarse meal.


Sprinkle over the blueberry mixture. Divide up the remaining tablespoon of margarine & sprinkle it over the top of the crumbles. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

& then top with your choice of toppings, if so desired 🙂

DEVOUR 😀
If you try it, let me knowo if you like it!

So we’re on to Day Two of the 30 day challenge!
Today’s question/ topic is ‘where would you like to be in 10 years?’

In 10 years I will be 34…yikes! That sounds like a loooonnnng time from now, but I know it will fly by. & don’t get me wrong, by NO means am I saying 34 is old, it’s not- 30 is the new 20 😉

I guess it would be ok to say when I am 34 I would like….

-2 kids, I don’t care if they are boys or girls, I just want healthy babies 🙂 (Craig always laughs at me when I say that, about healthy babies, but it’s SO true. Boy or girl is fine by me!)

-To be VERY happily married…and celebrating our 10 YEAR anniversary (<—OMG that just caught my attention more than the age thing…10 years, that would be the best 10 years of my life 🙂 )

^10 year toast?! 😉

-To be successful in my career. I love my job right now & by no means do I see leaving this company. BUT, I have ALWAYS (& still do) have a dream to be a teacher….a high school teacher…YES, really 😀 I actually did teach high school, during an internship when I was in college & I LOVED it. I loved the kids, I loved the environment…I loved everything about it. This teaching thing has been something I have been saying I want to do my whole life. We’ll see where this journey of life takes me, it’s always a fun ride 😉

-I would like to have moved by then, into a larger house. Right now we live in a townhouse & it’s perfect for the two of us …+ 1 other little one. (it’s a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom townhouse) The MAIN thing in our new house will be an AMAZING kitchen, of course.

^kind of like this, with one extra oven for all of my baking so that I can be the COOLEST Mom EVER, no big deal, ya know 😉

-I would like to not have as many issues with Crohn’s Disease like I do now. Maybe they will have a cure for it then?! One can hope, right 🙂 I haven’t been talking about it much on here, but it’s been REALLY bad lately. They want to switch my medication to something else, but I’m too scared to try it. The side effects almost out weigh the good…so it’s a tough spot that I’m in right now.

-To have more family time. As time goes on, I really value each & every second that I get to spend with my family. I know as time goes on, and our family continues to grow…if my sister has another baby & then once we start having kids, it will be so nice to have more family time together.

^latest picture of my gorgeous sister & my nephew, Ethan 🙂

-To continue to keep my body in good health! Lots of exercise & healthy food for energy. I don’t want to stop exercising as I get older, I think it’s so important, & a great stress reliever! I would also like to run a MARATHON before my 30th birthday!! I need to get this Crohn’s disease under control first, but once that happens then I hope to do some marathon training 🙂

-To have a HEALTHY body image & gain confidence. I have to say over the past year this has DEFINITELY gotten better. I can’t say it’s at 100%, but it is much better. Sure I still have bad days, but who doesn’t?! I would like this confidence to continue to grow.

-That health is abundant in my family 🙂 I think everyone should live forever….

There are some things that I would like to have in 10 years. There are a bunch more, but I’ll save you 🙂 I don’t want to bore you to tears. If you are doing the 30 day challenge, let me know. I’d love to read your thoughts too!

Have a great Thursday 😀 CANNOT wait for the weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Your crisp looks awesome! I made one once, but I never put it on the blog. So easy and tasty! 🙂 Love all your goals for 10 years. And I hear ya on the sick kitchen! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love that you are doing the Challenge too! I think it’s fun. I love reading your answer. My friend has Chrohns disease and manages it, but I know it can be tough on her. Hang in there!!!

    Reply
  3. Awe, I love reading more about you Holly. 10 years seems so far off but it really isn’t in the scheme of things. I actually want to teach middle school but have an internship in a high school this semester.

    Reply
  4. I literally just said outloud, What a great question to ask.
    In ten years I hope to married with kids in a job that I enjoy, teaching. I also hope to have ran in a marathon by then!

    Reply
  5. p.s. lucky u got blueberries so cheap!

    Reply
  6. I’ve just stopped looking at fresh blueberries b/c they’ve been so expensive, may need to check them out. Been missing them (frozen just aren’t the same). Loved reading where you’d like to be in 10 years.

    Reply
  7. Yikes..10 years from now? I still feel like I’m 21 not 31, so who the heck knows. Hopefully I’ll be on the East Coast, which one or two kids and will have traveled more places than I can count!

    Reply
  8. Yum on your dessert! I am such a dessert person… This is right up my alley!! I was going to do this blog challenge but I got nervous because some of the questions were so deep! I’m looking forward to reading yours 🙂

    Reply
  9. such a cute post; love the precious baby! 🙂 I would love a kitchen like that… oh I can dream

    Reply
  10. Love this post…can I share that kitchen with you? I’m thinking about using my Publix blueberries for some pancakes in the am!

    Reply
  11. Your life in 10 years sounds awesome!! I hope you get a house with that kitchen – it looks amazing!

    Reply
  1. Catching Up On The Challenge « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

