Changes in Medication

These past couple of days have been very interesting, to say the least.
I don’t like to talk about it( because I hate to be a Debbie downer), but my Crohn’s disease has been really bad these last couple of weeks…and Wednesday night/ Thursday morning was my turning point.

On Wednesday night, I went to bed in a little bit of pain in my stomach…but that’s normal & I’ve just gotten used to it. But then I woke up around midnight & I could NOT go back to sleep. I was in SO much pain that I actually went to the guest room to lay down because I felt bad for keeping Craig up. I literally just wanted to curl up into a ball & cry my eyes out. It was a rough night to say the least. I didn’t know what to do…but I knew it was my Crohn’s acting up.
When I got to work on Thursday morning I had a TOTAL melt down at my desk. I just started crying. I knew what it was…I realized that I HAVE to change my medication. I CANNOT keep going on with my life like this. It’s just too hard & it’s not only affecting me, it’s affecting Craig now too. He has been the MOST amazing person right by my side this entire time & I could not ask for anything better. I just don’t want my constant pain & issues with this to affect our relationship.

I called my doctor right away…well, after the break down, & it just so happened that they had an appointment for Thursday afternoon at 2:30pm. I swear it was meant to be. Someone’s looking out for me πŸ™‚ I asked my boss if he would mind if I went to the appointment, he said ‘not at all’ & even asked me if I wanted to go home right then. (he saw me crying & asked a friend at work what was wrong) I told him I would be ok to stick it out- I would just be very grateful to leave early to make this appointment.

I took all of my free time at work to do a BUNCH of research on the medication that he wants to put me on- Humira. I had a list of about 16 questions that I wanted to ask him. The more I kept reading about it, the more comfortable that I was getting with the medication.

As soon as I got to meet with my doctor I told him my fears about the medication & I also asked him all of my questions. He is awesome- he sat there & answered all of them, took his time & didn’t rush me one bit. He was happy that I decided to give this medication a try, he thinks it will really help all of my pain & other issues with the disease. He sent me home with a BIG book of information on the medication, as well as a ‘practice pen.’

^my big book πŸ™‚

^size comparison….DVD on left, HUGE book of info on the right (& YES, that isΒ a Dexter dvd…we’re flying through these episodes, love the show! Looking forward to a Dexter marathon this weekend πŸ˜€ )

^all of the goodies when you open it up..the practice pen is the weird looking marker thing in the middle.

Needless to say I have lots of information to read about this. This is a medication that is injected into your skin, like a shot. (that’s why I need a practice pen- kind of like what people with diabetes use) Using the pen might be a little hard, I HATE shots…but it’s necessary. & if I can’t do it myself, then I’ll get Craig to do it ..that’s what fiances are for, right?! πŸ˜‰

I’ll keep you updated as to how this medication affects me. I think it will be very useful for those of you with Crohn’s disease out there…and for those of you that may know someone with the disease. First things first though, I have to get a TB (tuberculosis)Β test on Monday. It is required of anyone who wants to start taking this type of medication. As long as you don’t have any reaction to the TB test, then you are good to go with the new medication. Please keep your fingers crossed πŸ™‚

Anyways, on to not so sensitive things.. πŸ˜€ Thanks for listening to my ramble above though.

Some of my latest obsessions:
I have to show you something…I think I have an addiction…

^The worst (or best..in my case) would be that I have ANOTHER stash at work!! πŸ˜€ Normally I have more jars of the Peanut Butter & Co peanut butter, butΒ Peter Pan happened to be buy one, get one at Publix last week..and it’s good to bake with.

My favorite lunch for the past week…

Chobani Greek Yogurt & barley! OMG- it’s SO good!!! I cook the barley the night before (usually a few servings so thatI don’t have to keep making it & then I pack it up for my lunch the next day. I combine one container of greek yogurt & then 1/4 cup cooked barley. Then I add a 1/2 banana on top…

It is the PERFECT lunch for me! I love it. My boss asked me if I was a goat recently, he tells me that I eat the strangest combinations of foods – haha! πŸ˜€ But I’m the one that convinced him to try Greek yogurt..and now he really likes it. So he can’t make fun of me too much! πŸ˜‰
Look at my random find at Marshalls–>

Pizzelle cookies! I remembered that Craig told me awhile ago that he really likes these cookies, soΒ  figured I would grab some for him. I love roaming around Marshalls, sometimes you can find the BEST deals! What’s your favorite store to roam around?

Our Wednesday night dinner was something basic, but so delicious…

^Carba Nada noodles (THE BEST) with tomato sauce & ground turkey, topped off with steamed broccoli. Perfecto!

After my doctor’s appointment I headed to the grocery store to pick up a few things, peanut butter of course, and these:

SPRINKLES!!! I have a PERFECT weekend recipe picked out & I needed these πŸ˜€ I can’t WAIT for the weekend, it’s been quite a week.

This post has been totally random…kind of like my brain these last few days. Sorry about being all over, but I will get back on track tomorrow, I promise πŸ˜€ As for the 30 days challenge, I’m postponing it for my next post, this one is already ridiculously long! If you’ve stuck arond for the whole thing, thanks for listening. πŸ™‚

I’ll catch ya later with some more recipes!!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Oh I’m sorry to hear that you’re having some major troubles again. You’re sooo not being a Debbie Downer talking about it. you never know who might read your posts and find some help and support.

    So glad I’m not the only one to stash PB like that. When Jason sees it on the grocery list, he always asks how many jars we already have in the fridge…

    Reply
    • Thanks Heather πŸ™‚ I hate always talking about it, but it helps! & I’m thinking I have some good things in my future with this disease, hopefully the new meds help to control it.
      & glad to know I’m not the only peanut butter hoarder πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. I hope that the new meds help! It can’t get worse ya know. And that Dexter there makes me happy!

    Reply
  3. Hope you’re feeling better soon, Holly! I bet those sprinkles will make you feel a little better. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Girl I hope it gets better. I feel for you!

    I have been having terrible bouts of stomach issues in the last couple of months that attack late at night and leave me in tears all crumpled over. It’s horrible so I can only imagine what that must be like for you…

    Reply
  5. Awe YAY Holly, I’m glad to know something it looking up and that you got some different meds. πŸ™‚ You will get through this girl!

    Reply
  6. Can’t wait to hear about the sprinkle recipe! I also need to try the dark chocolate dreams one! Your lunches are not weird, your boss should try more of those dishes you bring to work they are so filling and yet tasty I mix the same types of Foods. I LOVE greek yogurt Fage is my best friend lol

    Reply
  7. Hope the new medication works for you and you find some relief! I love that you have so many jars of peanut butter…I think I have about the same number in my pantry too. And the funny thing is…they are probably all opened!! Happy Friday!!

    Reply
  8. Oh, my dear 😦 I’m so sorry that you were hurting and I’m praying that this new medication will work for you. Good luck!!!!

    Reply
  1. Nothing Like A Sushi & Fro Yo Kind of Night! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

