A Scene From Dexter

Yesterday was an interesting day…to say the least.
Yesterday I let something go that had been bothering me for a while. It was like a weight was lifted off of my shoulders. It was much relief after MUCH sadness & grief. It was nice to finally just be DONE with it all. You know what I mean?? Just something that NEEDED to happen..and it finally did. I can now breathe a huge sigh- ahhhhhhh 😀

That all happened Friday morning & as the day went on, it seemed to get better. Look at my finds at the grocery store yesterday afternoon:

Veggie cheese!! YAY! I’ve been searching forever for this- since regular cheese really bothers my stomach- due to the lactose intolerance- I am hoping that this is my solution for cheese 😀


AHHH!!! YESSSSSSSS! Mini reeses! 😀 I have been searching for these. I have plans to use these this weekend…so stay tuned 😉


Alternative bagels!- I got sweet wheat & blueberry. They were on sale for $1.50 / bag. Normally they are like $3.95. Not too shabby & they stay fresh in the freezer.


I know, I know, I was JUST saying how I can’t eat dairy products due to the milk….but sometimes, just sometimes it’s TOTALLY worth it! Edy’s ice cream happened to be buy one, get one at Publix AND I told myself last time I tried to find this Girl Scout cookie- Samoa- ice cream that I would get it & just suck up the pain it would entail. AND to make it EVEN better, it’s half the fat! Perfect 😀 I just couldn’t say no! And the mint cookie one is for Craig- I think he’ll love it.


A black & white cookie for Craig that is like the size of my head! He loves these cookies & he had kind of a bad day at work. I saw this & knew I had to get one for him- it put a big smile on his face when he saw it 😀

But, after all getting home & putting all of the groceries away I thought I would start on dinner. We decided to stay in for dinner tonight, so I wanted to make a good Friday meal– PIZZA 🙂 & that way I got to try my new Veggie cheese too!  As I was chopping up a bell pepper…I got a little clumsy & had a slip of the knife 😦

^the scene

^that would be blood soaking through TWO bandaids. Completely soaked. YUCK!

^the blood towel. ew. & this was the blood soaking through the band aids!!

When Craig came over to look at my thumb, he said it looked like a scene from Dexter. Lovely, huh!? The blood was just dripping into the sink- don’t worry I didn’t put those pictures on here, thought I’d save ya 😉


(& yes, that is Season 2, Disc 1 of Dexter- CANNOT wait to start the new season- LOVE this show 🙂 Twin– this is crazy- another thing we have in common! I swear- separated at birth!!  🙂 )

Needless to say more poor thumb did NOT have a good night. I took a nice slice right out of it. The cut was pretty deep, but it was in a really awkward spot, right by the nail, so there would be no way to get stiches for it. Craig was helping me take care of it & he told me just to keep applying a lot of pressure. It finally stopped bleeding about 2 hours after it happened. Hopefully it will heal easily!

This just made me realize how thankful I am to have two hands to cook with! I managed to slice onions, cook bacon (for Craig), slice tomatos, chop the rest of the peppers & roll out pizza dough with just one hand!

I can’t say it was easy, but I did it.
Pizza Friday was a hit!

Can you see our two sides?? (Craig on the left, mine on the right)


On my side:
-fresh mushrooms
-tomatos
-green peppers
-red onions
-Veggie cheese

DELISH 😀 I really, really like the veggie cheese. Even though it is a bit pricey- $3.99/ bag for 7 oz. But it’s worth it because of my stomach issues. It really does taste like cheese & it gets all melty like regular cheese 🙂

It was a a great Friday night, despite the nice cut I have on my thumb now. I really just enjoy nights in with my hunny bunny 🙂 We got to catch up on all of our shows & get a good night’s sleep.

Now we are off to enjoy this Saturday- first stop is the gym for a FULL body workout! & then I get to see my ADORABLE nephew! I haven’t seen him in almost a month! Can’t wait to see him & my sister & brother in law.

Hope you enjoy your Saturday!!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I just ate half a container of the Somoas ice-cream! Holy yum! I’m glad you let whatever is bothering you go. It’s so much relief when you do that. 🙂

    Reply
  2. So glad you feel better after letting something go that was bothering you!! I’m sure you will have a much better weekend now! Can’t wait to see what you make with the mini Reese’s…anything with peanut butter cups is awesome!!!

    Happy Saturday!

    Reply
  3. Anne

     /  February 5, 2011

    i can’t find alternative bagels anywhere, but they’re everywheree in the blog world. sheesh..
    sorry to hear about your finger 😦 hopefully it heals sooon!
    that pizza looks AMAZING! and kudos to you for making it with just one hand 😀
    p.s i can’t wait to see what you’re gonna make with those reese’s cups haha
    have a great rest of the weekend Holly!

    Reply
  4. Ouch on the cut. High 5’s for Pizza Friday!!! Glad you were able to unload a huge burden yesterday. That’s always a great feeling, freeing. Did you like that brand of veggie cheese? We found that it doesn’t melt super well, or I guess it hardens back up quickly. Maybe it would work better steamed…Anyway, they do have a few different flavors including an Italian type blend.

    Reply
  5. I love making pizza at home! My pizza always looks divided like that too but my boyfriend eats his way over to my side every time! Hope your finger gets better quick! I can’t even stand having paper cuts let alone a real cut!

    Reply
  6. Glad you had so much fun last night! Your pizza does look delicious do you use store bought dough?

    Reply
  7. Yikes – that cut doesn’t look very fun! 😦

    Mmm, I need to find that Samoas ice cream – I’ve seen the Thin Mint one, but not Samoas! And I’m so jealous of you Publix people and those alternative bagels – my stores up here don’t have them!

    Reply
  8. ahh i love making pizza! that looks os so good.. its been WAY too long since ive had a pizza!

    Reply
  9. Dexter is such a great show! I watched season 1 before my boyfriend and accidentally ruined it for him LOL. Hope your thumb heals quickly!

    Reply
  10. Ouch on the cut finger! I hope it doesn’t give you any trouble. Comfort yourself with some of that glorious Girl Scout’s ice cream 🙂 I’ve been eying them at the grocery store, but I already ordered nearly $30 of cookies and thought I should nip it in the bud!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

