Lil E & Fluffy Snickerdoodles

Yesterday was one of the best Saturdays that we have in a while! First, I have to share this workout that I did yesterday…normally I just post them in my ‘daily workouts’ tab, but this one is definitely worth sharing!

I started out with Julie’s 30 minute interval workout on the treadmill:

Careful on those 10 speed intervals- feels like you might just fly right off πŸ˜‰ I also added a little more running at the end, instead of the incline walking..I was just feeling like a good run πŸ™‚

After the cardio portion of my workout, I added over to the weights to do a full body weight workout. (idea from Lindsey )I did each portion circuit style & completed each three times.

Ab/ Chest Circut
Pushups- 12
Ball Crunches- 20
Side to side oblique crunches w/ medicine ball- 12 each side
Plank Holds- 30 sec.
Hip Lifts- with 10lb. on hips

Back/ Shoulder/ Tricep Circut
Bent Over 1 Arm Row- 15lb- 12 each side
Lateral & Front Raises- 5lb.- 12
Arnold Presses- 10lb. each- 12
Overhead Tricep Extension- 25lb.- 12

Combination Leg/ Upper body Circut
Plie Squats with Upright rows- 15 lb. each- 12
Lat Pulldowns- 50lb. – 12
Stationary Lunges with Bicep Curls- 10lb. each- 12
Tricep Kickbacks- 5lb. each- 12

Biceps/ Chest/ Triceps Circut
Dumbbell Chest Press- 15 lb. each- 12
Cable Cross overs- 50lb. total- 12
21s- 20lb. barbell- 12
Bench Dips- 12

After completing all of this, I was D-O-N-E! It was a GREAT workout though & I felt fantastic after! I love those kind of workouts that just make you feel so good afterwards. Know what I’m talking about??

Once we got home, I made myselfΒ  a protein shake for lunch. We were having a early dinner, so I didn’t really want to eat anything- a protein shake sounded perfect!

Last night we went to my sister & brother-in-law’s house to visit with them & to see my absolutely ADORABLE nephew! Get ready for some picture overload—

^Isn’t he PERFECT?! Oh, that little red spot on his head is totally normal- it’s just called a ‘strawberry’ or ‘stoke bite’ or ‘angel kiss’- but it eventually goes away.

^Craig thinks he looks bad in this picture, but I think it’s cute πŸ™‚ Uncle Craig & Ethan


Ethan & Mommy (my sister πŸ™‚ ) You CANNOT even tell she had a baby- she looks FANTASTIC!

I love that little man SO very much. He is just such a good baby. I held him as much as I could, I even got to give him a bottle- Erin told me I was the first to ever feed him besides her! I’m such a proud aunt πŸ˜€

Erin’s birthday is on February 8th & I knew exactly what to make her! You see she LOVES Snickerdoodles. I had never even heard of Snickerdoodles until she told me about them. I just really like the name of them! πŸ˜€Β I don’t remember how old I was when I started to make them, I think it was like 10 or 12. Something around then. Once I found the perfect recipe for them, I used to make them all of the time growing up. Even after my sister moved out, my parents always requested that IΒ make them πŸ™‚ My Mom told me that I made them perfectly- because they have to be cooked JUST right- not too long, but not too short. Now whenever I go home, my parents always ask me if I brought them snickerdoodles- I think they are spoiled πŸ˜‰ Lucky for them I love making them!

Figuring out what to make Erin was easy- SNICKERDOODLES of course πŸ˜€
A lot of recipes for snickerdoodles call for shortening. Personally I HATE cooking/ baking with shortening. It just creeps me out- it looks like pure lard. Yuck! Another key to any snickerdoodle recipe is cream of tarter.

Here’s the recipe that I have used for years– I think it makes the best, fluffy snickerdoodles!

Snickerdoodles

(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartarΒ  <– that’s key!
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3Β tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (205 degrees C).
  2. Combine 1 1/2 cups white sugar, butter or margarine, vanilla and eggs. Mix well.
  3. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Blend well.
  4. Shape dough into 1 inch balls. Combine 2 tablespoons sugar and 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon. Roll dough in sugar/cinnamon mixture and place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.

  5. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Immediately remove from cookie sheets.

Just make sure you keep the cookie monster away! Otherwise he will creep into the kitchen & try to sneak a few cookies out. You can just occupy him by giving him a ‘sample’ & telling him that he has to be the guinea pig to ‘make sure they taste good.’

Then just sit him in front of the tv & put Seinfeld on…it will keep him occupied for HOURS. πŸ˜‰

These cookies turned out perfectly- nice & soft πŸ™‚

Along with the cookies, I made dinner for the four of us…well, 5- but Ethan isn’t eating ‘big people’ food yet. πŸ™‚ I also bought Erin some flowers- the same flowers that were in her wedding bouquet.

It was a great night, with some great company πŸ˜€

Today we are going to watch lots of Dexter, head to the gym for a workout & then cheer on the PACKERS!!!
Happy Super Bowl Sunday! Hope you have a wonderful day- I’ll catch up with ya later πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Your nephew is pretty darn precious!

    I have a huge love of snickerdoodles but never have made them myself. I’m not sure mine would look as perfectly light and fluffy as yours πŸ˜‰

    Go Pack Go!

    Reply
  2. He’s definitely a cutie!

    Reply
  3. I am a big fan of snicker doodles as well. So good. Your workout on the treadmill looks so good girl. I have inclines, I cannot stay on the treadmill at all doing them.

    Reply
  4. snickerdoodles are so comforting!! i LOVE julie’s workouts too- and YES 10 practically made me fly off the treadmill the other day!

    Reply
  5. Who doesn’t like snickerdoodles?! πŸ™‚ delicious! great post! Such a cute little baby!!!! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Way to go on that workout girl! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. The Snickerdoodles look amazing…I love the cinnamon/sugar combo! Your nephew is so cute!!

    Reply
  7. love that workout! But I think I love the snickerdoodles even more! I am nut for those cookies.
    πŸ™‚
    Happy Sunday!

    Reply
  8. such a cute baby! your snickerdoodles came out PERFECT! such a cute round shape!

    Reply
  9. My mom used to make snickerdoodles often when we were kids. What a thoughtful flower arrangment to give! And man I’ve had moments of panic worried about flying off the treadmill LOL

    Reply
  10. so cute πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Your nephew is awesome and adorable! Your cookies look PERFECT. I made Jessoca’s recipe over Christmas but they never made it to the blog! πŸ˜‰ So glad you are digging Dexter, too!

    Reply
  12. He’s a cute little nugget πŸ™‚ Your sister looks faaaab!

    Reply
  13. What a sweet and thoughtful gift for your sister…and baby Ethan is absolutely adorable!
    What did you make for dinner? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. The PERFECT Combination « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

