Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE lemon. I love the flavor, the smell, the color, just everything about lemons. They are just so fresh &Β remind me of summer time. I love lemon recipes- like lemon bars, lemonade, lemon pie, lemon muffins, lemon cookies…you get the picture.

I thought of a different way to incorporate lemons into something I normally don’t hear of using lemons- breakfast! This breakfast actually reminded me of something that I would get at a restaurant, or a little hometown diner. It was a great way to start off the day!

Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Ingredients:
-1 cup Almond Milk
-1 tbsp. vinegar
-1 tbsp. lemon juice
-1/2 tsp. vanilla
-1 cup whole wheat flour
-2 tbsp. Splenda, or sweetener of choice
-1 tsp. baking powder
-1/2 tsp. baking soda
-1/2 tsp. salt
-1 tsp. poppy seeds
– 3/4 tsp- 1 tsp. lemon peel (depending on your taste preference)
-cooking spray

Preparation:
1. Combine the milk, vinegar & lemon juice- mix together in a bowl. Let stand about 8-10 minutes to curdle. Stir in vanilla after the 10 minutes have ended.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together the WW flour, Splenda (or sweetener of choice), baking powder, baking soda, salt, poppy seeds, & lemon peel.

3. Stir in the milk mixture into the flour mixture & whisk until the batter is free of lumps.

4. Heat a skillet, or griddle over medium high heat that is sprayed with cooking spray. Once heated, pour the batter into desired size pancakes. Cook on one side until you see bubbles form, then flip & cook for about another 2-3 minutes or until golden on each side.

You can serve them with syrup, or you can serve them with a sugar glaze..which is what I did πŸ™‚ (it was the same sugar glaze that I used in the Cake Batter Pancakes)

These were DELICIOUS. I even have to put it out there & say some of the best pancakes I’ve ever had! Craig LOVED them too! Definitely going in the ‘MUST make again pile!’

Now back to the challenge- I’m on Day 8. Sorry I didn’t post any over the weekend- I like to save those for the week πŸ™‚
“A Moment You Felt the Most Satisfied With Your Life.”

Honestly, I’m going to have to say RIGHT now. I am in such a very happy place at this point in my life. I really could not ask for much more. Of course I would like to have the Crohn’s disease gone, but there are so many other things that I have to be thankful for. I can’t believe that I’m GETTING married in less than 4 months! That is beyond exciting to me πŸ˜€

I have the best fiance in the world that I could ask for. I’m in a really good spot with my job- I love it & continue to learn something new everyday. My boss is AWESOME & so understanding about everything- like if I need to be late due to a doctor’s appointment..or if I have to leave early. It’s so nice just having ONE boss- my office is really small, so it’s really just the boss- who owns the company & then all of the rest of us πŸ™‚ No managers, no department directors, none of that. We all have our own jobs, but we also work together.

I’m also at a good point in my mind- like with my workouts, my eating habits, and all of that mental stuff that goes along with it. Just a few years ago I was really struggling. Of course I still have many days where I doubt myself, or get really down on myself. But then I remind myself that I’m in a good place! I eat really healthy, I work out HARD 6 days a week, and I’m in great shape. Sometimes it’s a lot easier than it sounds…but I feel I’m definitely heading down the right road πŸ™‚

I recently (this past week) had a huge realization. There was someone in my life that always caused me stress & negativity. I needed that OUT & I needed it gone immediately. I had given this person a million chances & she had messed up each & every chance. Well I had enough. I was done. I was sick of feeling like I was feeling. I finally got up the nerve to tell her how I felt.Β  I just basically told her that I was done dealing with everything she was trying to throw my way & I didn’t want her in my life anymore. This may sound harsh, but if you knew the whole situation you would understand. I guess I’ll just say it. It was my biological mother. She was never in my life until like 4 years ago. She wanted to try to get to know me again…and honestly it was just too late. She left me at 2 years old. I thank God everyday that I had my Dad & step Mom (who I call Mom) raise me. I’m really so lucky.

My biological mom was really just an ovary donor. Excuse the expression, but it’s true. In my opinion, a ‘Mom’ is more than just a word. It’s actions, feelings, compassion…all of that. It’s being there when a child needs you most. She didn’t deserve the title of Mom. & I was just sick of dealing with her saying things that didn’t need to be said & really just butting into my life. She caused me so much stress & grief & one day it hit me. Just tell her how you feel. So I did..and I also ‘un-invited’ her to my wedding. I don’t want her there. It will be so much nicer & NO TENSION if she is not there.

I made the right decision. And that has added to my feeling of complete satisfaction right now in my life.

Tell me- What’s one of the biggest decisions that you have made in life? Did you feel relief? How did you deal with it- were you happy you did it? Did you regret it?

Hope you have a good Monday! New week= new start πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Good for you Holly, doing what is right for you! I’m glad you are in such a happy place right now..revel in it. Love it. Enjoy it πŸ™‚

    And then send me some of those lemon poppyseed pancakes…if they taste anything like their muffin counterpart, I’d be in heaven!

    Reply
  2. A moment that I most felt satisfied with my life: Realizing that I could make those pancakes tonight bahaha. Those look amazing.

    Reply
  3. These look so good! I’ve never been super into poppyseeds but your pancakes really do look fab!

    Reply
  4. Congrats on telling your “Mom” how you felt! I cannot even begin to imagine how hard it must have been, but am so glad you have enough self confidence to know that you had to do what was right for YOU! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. those suckers look AWESOME. I really need to do some pancake experimentation!

    Reply
  6. I am ALL about lemon too. Those look so good! And sugar glaze? Awesomeness.

    Awesomeness is also that you are happiest right now. You deserve it!

    Reply
  7. Wow! I really admire your openness & courage in sharing what you did about your biological mom. Good for you!!!

    Reply
  8. Yum those do look great! I could eat pancakes every day! I can’t even begin to tell you that I feel very much in your shoes right now! Last year this time i had a much different mindset I just feel very happy lately and thankful for what Life has brought me! I’m so glad you feel the same way, its important to me to surround myself with this positive energy and so I’m really glad to have found your blog! I’m So happy your fiance and you are getting things organized for the wedding! 4 short months and your life will be even better πŸ™‚ you made me really happy with this post today honestly! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. peanutbutterfingers

     /  February 7, 2011

    i’m sure that conversation with your biological mother was really hard, but it sounds like you’re happy that you had it and can move on to living a life filled with love, happiness and support. that’s wonderful and i’m so happy for you. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. I’m also a big fan of lemon, these look absolutely delish. And I LOVE the addition of the poppyseeds!

    Reply
  11. I love lemon poppy muffins so I’m sure I will love those lemon poppy pancakes! So glad you are feeling better after making such a tough decision about your biological mother. I can’t imagine what you are going through but having the love and support of your family and friends makes it all better!

    Reply
  12. Girl, I feel the same way about my bio dad v. my stepdad. Wish I had the same courage to say the same kinda thing to my bio dad. Glad you’re in such a great place :o)

    Reply
  13. I made these pancakes twice now and they are amazing!
    I posted about them in this post http://notthenormalteenagefare.blogspot.com/2011/02/in-breakfast-rut.html ( you may have to scroll down a bit, they’re at the end of the post)
    thanks so much for sharing this recipe and I love your blog!

    Reply
  14. Im going to make poppyseed pancakes tonite! was the one teaspoon of poppyseeds enough, or do you think I should add more? Also, do you think adding a greek yogurt would make it too sour?

    Reply
    • Hey! Sorry, just got your comment!
      I thought a teaspoon was enough…but you could add more- totally up to you πŸ™‚
      No, the greek yogurt didn’t make them sour at all, especially with the sugar topping. SO GOOD πŸ˜€ If you try them, please let me know how you liked them!!

      Reply
  1. The PERFECT Combination « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Bacon & Cheese Stuffed Chicken « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  3. Mini Pancake Muffins « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  4. Workout Hard Then Eat Lemon Bars « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

