Catching Up On The Challenge

Today’s post will be dedicated to the ’30 day Challenge.’ I didn’t do any posts on it over the weekend, so I figured I would use this post to kind of play catch up!

I was reading over the days,& realized that Day 9 is almost the exact same as Day 2.
Day 2 is ‘Where would you like to be in 10 years?’ & Day 9 is ‘How you hope your future will be like.’ To me that pretty much sounds like I would have the same answers. I’m just going to say if you would like to know how I hope my future is, then just read where I would like to be in 10 years πŸ™‚

Now onto Day 10- Discuss your first love & first kiss.
It all started my 10th grade year of high school, went was 2002. I, like most people, had to take 2 courses of a required foreign language. Being from Florida & having a lot of Spanish speaking people, I figured I would go ahead & take Spanish. I had taken Spanish for about 10 years already (through out elementary & middle school) so I figured it would be an easy A.

When I walked into that Spanish class on my very first day, I laid my eyes on this boy-

JOE.
Β I KNEW I was going to date him. I was without a doubt going to get him to like me! (ohhh boyyy! lol!) I even told all of my friends about him- I would point him out in the hallway to them & say ‘Just so you know, I am going to date him.’ Pretty confident, huh?!

I think it was because he was SO shy & would just pretend like he was sleeping the whole time so that I wouldn’t bother him. I was SUCH a chatter box…wait, what am I talking about?! I still am! Our teacher had assigned seats & she went alphabetically- A-Z. Lucky him we were RIGHT next to each other. I was a ‘W’ & he was a ‘Z.’ This poor boy didn’t even know what to think. But I FINALLY got him to talk to me…and guess what it was for???? MY FREAKIN’ ANSWERS to my homework! What a nerd!! The funny thing is that he is Puerto Rican & I knew more Spanish than him. So since I DID want to get to know him I gave him my answers.

From then on that’s how it kind of grew. He would ask me for my answers everyday…no I’m just kidding. But he would ask me what happened in class & if I could help him. OF COURSE I would πŸ˜‰ HAHA!

I wasn’t allowed to date until I was 16 years old…and when we met it was September & my 16th birthday was 3 months away- in December. But I HAD to figure out a way to see him before then. Soooooo one of my best friends told me that she would go with me to the movies & we could meet him there. We just wouldn’t tell my parents. I’m such a sneak πŸ˜‰ We went & saw ‘The Ring’- you know creepy, scary, yucky movie?! I got SO freaked out during the movie that I flung my feet up & my flip flop flew to the back of the movie theater- LOL!

FINALLY, what felt like forever, on the DAY of my 16th birthday we went to the mall together as our first official date & he bought me a necklace with my birthstone.

After that, it’s pretty much history. We went all through high school together– from 10th grade- 12th grade.

^haha, kind of scary- but this was back in 2004. We were babies!

^ Senior year of high school- 2005


^ 2005. our ‘typical’ kind of pictures

With a little bump in the road in 11th grade. He cheated on me while he was on a cruise with his best friend. He called me immediately when he got off the boat & told me that he had kissed another girl. It was devastating to me. That was all that we had done- kissed- nothing else. & when he told me I thought my world was crashing down all around me. When I got the call I immediately knew something was wrong. He told me & I just cried & cried & cried. It was July 4th & my whole family was at my house. I just went to my room curled into a ball & my Mom came in & put Legally Blonde on for me to watch. I watched it like 4 times. It’s one of my ‘make me feel better’ movies πŸ™‚

Once he got to his house he called me again- I think it was around like 8pm. We then stayed up literally all night just talking. We worked it out & the next morning we were a couple again. Needless to say, my parents were pretty mad at first, but then they were just like ‘whatever.’ They thought it was just puppy love πŸ™‚

After we graduated college together in 2005, we moved down to Orlando together to go to UCF. Technically I had a dorm, but I never stayed there- I was always at Joe’s house. At this point it was pretty serious. I thought for sure he would be the guy I married. We talked about it all of the time. He even bought me a promise ring from Tiffany’s.


^another ‘typical’ shot.

Apparently I had a problem with just smiling in pictures πŸ™‚
I finally told my parents the trust- that I was not staying in the dorm anymore & that I was living with Joe. They already knew (parents are NOT dumb) & figured that I would be moving in with him anyways. The two of us actually adopted two kittens together as well- Talula ‘Lula’ & Lacey.

They were our pride & joy & we loved them OH SO VERY much.

About a year after getting Lula & Lacey our relationship really started having problems. Not to put all the blame on him, because it definitely wasn’t all him, but he just wasn’t ready to grow up yet. I was honestly ready to just settle down & get married. I know that seems kind of crazy for a girl my age, but that’s what I wanted. I wasn’t into the party scene or dating a bunch of guys.

We ended up parting ways in the summer of 2007. I started to date someone else (not Craig) & I would still see Joe. I wasn’t over him AT ALL. I was still completely in love with him. He wasn’t dating anyone & would constantly tell me that he just wanted to be with me.

I would always remember the good times & it was REALLY hard to get over him. I would still see him everytime that I could, behind the guy’s back that I was dating. (oops!- he was not such a good person anyways..)

The day I only really got over Joe was the day I met Craig. NO LIE. When I met Craig that was it. He turned my whole world upside down.

^one of our very first pictures together. we look SO young!

^shortly after meeting- October 2008- FL/ GA game in Jacksonville.

There was no more seeing Joe, no more phone calls, no more texts. I was done. I could finally MOVE on. THAT was the moment I KNEW without a doubt that Craig was the man I wanted to be with for the rest of my life. I STILL get butterflies in my stomach when I see him…still. He brings a smile to my face every single dayΒ & I’m SO grate that things worked out the way that they did.

I thought I would marry Joe. I thought I would be with him forever. Start a family together, grow old together. But I’m so glad that didn’t happen. I would of never met my true soulmate…Craig. It’s true- ‘Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers.’

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I love reading stories from people’s lives. It gives you a chance to learn a little bit more about them.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing this story. Good things do happen to good people πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. I love your story. That is so adorable. I love how confident you were, in the beginning girl. I didn’t even know Aram had a thing for me…bahaha, I just really share that story sometime.

    Reply
  4. I can resonate with this so well. I had several very long term intense relationships that I thought were the one where I was just so engrossed…it can be magical and it can also be misleading on what is really right for you, like Craig πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  5. yes, thank God for unanswered prayers! He knows whats best. You are look so happy now!

    Reply
  6. Loved hearing a little more about you πŸ™‚ Glad you found the right one :).

    Reply
  7. I totally pulled out the ex-factor too. It’s eerie seeing old pictures of yourself with ‘him,’ ya know? but unanswered prayers definitely are a good thing!

    Reply
  8. CrashlyConquers

     /  February 8, 2011

    Awwww. This post ends so cute, Congrats on finding the right onw. I know how you feel to an extent, I thought I was for sure going to marry my ex, who I also dated in hs and after. I am SO thankful I didn’t though and that we broke up even though at the time it felt impossible to get through, because now I met an amazing man who loves me exactly for who I am. Things happen for a reason πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Jackie

     /  February 8, 2011

    I remember when he babysit with you one time! Ahah!

    Reply
  10. That was a really cute story, I love to get personal glimpses like this into other people’s lives. There’s always a a lesson to be learned.

    Reply
  11. There’s always a happy ending! I loved your story πŸ™‚
    Does he ever try and get in contact with you?
    Btw, go FSU!!!!

    Reply
  12. I love girly movies that make you feel better! Love a story that leads to a happy ending!

    Reply
  13. This was so good to read! Just to get to know you better and all. πŸ™‚ I def know what you mean about not getting over him until Craig… I have a somewhat unfortunate habit of not seeming to get over people until I’ve found hte next one :/

    ❀
    n

    Reply
  14. Your life stories are always so awesome! Keep them coming I love to read these!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

