Cooking Rut

There’s something that I have to admit, that I really don’t want to admit, but I have to. I’m in kind of a food/ cooking rut. I just feel like my recipes are not all that creative lately. I’m talking dinner recipes, not dessert or breakfast recipes, with those I’m doing great..mostly in part thanks to Jess 😀

For instance, here is what I made Sunday night–
Carba nada noodles with ground turkey tomato sauce & vegetables on the side.



Now, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE this meal. I just feel like it’s ‘too basic.’ Do you know what I mean? I kind of like being more creative.

Last night was even worse– I actually picked up food from Boston Market!

Salad for me- no meat (Rockin’ MEAT FREE MONDAY!! 🙂 ) & beef brisket for the boy!

This is really unheard of for me to do during the week. I ALWAYS cook on the weekdays & then we usually go out to eat one day during the weekend.

I do have this recipe that I saw on Liz’s blog Monday morning- Shrimp Scampi with Tomatos & Artichokes. I really want to make this because it has some of Craig’s favorite ingredients in it- Sundried tomatos & artichokes. But, since we just had pasta on Sunday night, I figure I will wait until later in the week to make this…or maybe even save it for a special weekend meal 🙂

Maybe I’m just in a funk today, I’m sure I will snap out of it soon. I think part of the reason I am in this funk is because I forgot to pull the chicken out of the freezer yesterday morning…which is what I was going to cook Monday night.
Do you ever go through these ‘cooking phases?’ What’s your favorite way to snap out of them?

I’m sure I will be more creative tonight. I remembered to pull the chicken out of the freezer….hey, it’s a start! At least I hope 😉

Now for more on the ’30 Day Challenge!’ 🙂
Day 24: Your Favorite Movie & what it’s all about.
I actually have a few, but I’ll go with my favorite comedy- Something’s Gotta Give.

I can watch this movie over & over again…well, actually I do that 😀 Everytime it is on, I am watching it. Craig is like ‘this movie AGAIN?!’ But it’s one of those feel good movies. I think it’s because one of my favorite actor’s is Jack Nicholson! Isn’t he just great?! I would tell you about this movie, but I think if you haven’t seen it, then you should rent it 😉

Day 25: Someone who fascinates you & why.
mmm this is kind of a tough one. I think I’m going to go with Kelly Ripa–>

I think she is adorable!! Not only does she host my FAVORITE morning talk show– Regis & Kelly:

But she also has such an adorable family too! (& one cutie for a husband 😉 )

aren’t her kids just adorable?!

oooooooo hey there mark consuelos!! how did you get in there?! 😉

She also has an AMAZING body! At least I think so, some people think she’s too skinny, but I really do think she keeps herself healthy.

Have I told you enough how much I want her biceps?! OMG. They are so toned! But not like big & bulky…just really toned!

AND she also has MY dream job of doing ads for Electrolux!

Love it! I would really like to have all Electrolux appliances….ahhhh….maybe one day 😀 Are we allowed to add a washer & dryer to our wedding registry?!? 😉

So, what do you think of Kelly Ripa? It’s ok if you don’t like her. Craig can’t stand her. He thinks her voice is annoying, but I think she is hilarious.

Who is someone that fascinates you? And why do they fascinate you?

Well, I’m off! I’ve got some work to do. I think I will take full advantage of this beautiful weather though & go for another run on my lunch break 🙂 Perfect way to break up the day! Oh ya, I forgot to mention, I’m going to start doing doubles again- 2 workouts/ runs a day. Not everyday, but at least 2-3 days a week. I will be making sure I get in those extra calories to keep up with my workouts though 🙂 I’ve definitely learned the value of good nutrition & making sure that I eat enough for the amount of time I spend working out.

Have a good day!!! 😀

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Well, you already know I feel like I’m in sort of a cooking rut right now too. I see so many amazing recipes out there and I just don’t have the energy right now to even think about cooking them. I think a lot of it for me is that I’ve gone back to doing all of my workouts after work so I’m not done until well after 5:30 and THEN have to get cleaned up then cooking. So it just all feels later and later.

    Reply
  2. I love Kelly Ripa!

    ANd I haven’t seen that movie. I need to check it out.

    Reply
  3. Aww I think Kelly Ripa is adorable, she has a great body and she seems so nice and sweet.

    Reply
  4. I had a period of “funkiness” recently. I had ZERO desire to cook, I so blame the weather!

    Reply
  5. Totally normal to get in food ruts. Don’t be so hard on yourself. As long as you are eating healthy and balanced, that’s what matters. Once spring arrives, all the new seasonal foods will reinvigorate!

    Reply
  6. I’m in a food rut too – I’m blaming the weather (I blame the weather for most negative things 🙂 )
    I need to get back to strength training – I feel like I’ve been in a workout run – just running, nothin’ else, too. Argh!

    Reply
  7. Ohhh Kelly is so beautiful. I miss you dear and glad I could make ya laugh. I’m bummed you won’t be coming up North for the marathon but happy you aren’t crazy enough to train for a marathon and plan a wedding at the same time. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I get into food/cooking ruts too! If I’m busy or don’t plan out my meals for the week, I tend to be less creative. By taking some time during the week or weekend to go through my recipe books and blogs, I find a few recipes I want to recreate which keeps things interesting! I’m in a little bit of a rut this week with my cooking so I’m about to rummage around the kitchen and see what I can come up with 🙂 Have an awesome day!

    Reply
  9. Yes, you MUST make the scampi. I demand it!

    Reply
  10. I love Kelly Ripa!! I loved her back when she was on All My Children! I think she’s incredibly fit too! I get in dinner ruts too…that’s why I made a goal for 2011 to try 4 new recipes per month. I’m hoping that keeps me motivated to try new things. I better get cracking on February – I only tried one new recipe so far and the month is almost over!

    Reply
  11. i love kelly ripa too. her younger son is ridiculously cute. i want to steal him. why does it seem like her daughter doesn’t belong? haha

    Reply
  12. I just like staring at kelly’s arm muscles-seriously?!

    Reply
  13. I haven’t made anything in 2 days!! I am in a cooking rut too… We will get out soon 🙂
    I am obsessed with Kelly Ripa too… She is hilarious and super in shape. Great pick!!

    Reply
  14. I think realizes you’re in a cooking rut and finding some recipes I want to try always helps me get out of one! Confession: I love Boston Market. I’ve only eaten there like 6 times in my whole life, but I get a plate of buttery sides and cornbread and am so satisfied afterwards. I love Diane Keaton movies her nuttiness makes me feel more sane=) and I like Kelly Ripa, too. I do think she is too skinny though. It’s great that she is ripped but at the same time her body sort of looks like a 10 year old gymnasts on that magazine cover. and Mark is for sure so good looking! I really love Regis and Kelly when he’s on there or Anderson Cooper. Sorry Reeg.

    Reply
  1. Cake Batter & Sprinkles! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

