Cake Batter & Sprinkles!

I can assure you that I have snapped out of my cooking rut! Woohoo! Craig is now breathing a HUGE sigh of relief. He saw me walk in with Boston Market last night I thought he was going to fall out of his chair, or rush me to the Emergency Room in fear that I might have some kind strange illness.

Like I said, I think I was just in a weird mood or funk. But it was a new day & I was ready to cook! Last night I didn’t make anything special, just turkey sausage with peppers & onions. For Craig, I put them in hot dog buns & topped them with cheese;Β I served itΒ them with baked beans.Β (sorry, no pictures 😦 ) I just ate mine plain & topped them with baked beans. Quite a combination for the two of us with bad stomach- peppers, onions, AND baked beans?! YIKES! Steer clear of our house tonight! πŸ˜€ Haha! (again, sorry if that was tmi..I figure you are just used to stomach talk with me πŸ™‚ )

Rice Krispies. They are probably my favorite cereal. I just LOVE the popping (<–almost wrote ‘pooping!’ oops!), cracking & a little sprinkling of sugar over top. Here’s the biggest kicker & please don’t think I’m gross, but I like my Rice Krispies soggy. Yes, don’t you worry, you read that right…soggy Rice Krispies.

I really like all of my cereal soggy. I usually let it sit for a good 3-5 minutes before eating it. But rice krispies are the ultimate BEST soggy cereal. Ok, now that I have totally grossed you out…here is something that should make up for my ‘weirdness.’ πŸ™‚

Of course, brought to you by the famous Jessica πŸ™‚ Told you, I just love her. I can’t get enough of her recipes.

Cake Batter Crispy Treats
(recipe copied from here)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Alexis

     /  February 23, 2011

    These look delicious!! Wish I could make some of your yummy sweet treats…but alas, I live alone and have noone to take over half the calories!!! I’d devour them too, too quickly!! Lol

    Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I had issues with my achilles back in high school from soccer, but it was nothing serious. I’d probably just throw a day in to rest it (and ice it) and then test it out on a run close to the house…just in case it acts up again. πŸ™‚

    I have an open box of Rice Krispies and a big jar of sprinkles…this could be dangerous!

    Reply
  3. oooh yummy treats. that movie so so freaking funny. i hope your heel feels better soon!

    Reply
  4. I had Achilles issues while training for my marathon this past fall – NO fun at ALL! I ended up taking about a week and a half off, and eventually I saw a sports chiropractor who did A.R.T. therapy — helped a ton!! If you don’t get better, I’d recommend that in a heartbeat.

    Reply
  5. So many sprinkles lately! It’s making me run to get a sprinkles cupcake lol I haven’t seen that movie yet but I am dying to. Hope your Achilles get better girl.

    Reply
  6. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  February 23, 2011

    Those Rice Crispy treats look great! This might be a dumb question but what do you do with the rest of the yellow cake mix??

    I hope whatever is going on with your achilles heel is nothing serious and it feels better soon!

    Reply
    • Not a dumb question @ all πŸ™‚ Actually, usually I will just take a 1/2 cup of the mix, mix in some applesauce, egg white & water (kind of like the directions on the back of the box for the cake preparation, but I just cut the ingredient in half) & make a mini cake for Craig. He actually likes things made with applesauce better than the traditional way with oil. It turns out really good & moist! And I can get like 4-5 mini cakes out of the box!

      Reply
  7. Susan

     /  February 23, 2011

    I LOVE rice krispies! And I completey agree, they are soo much better soggy

    Reply
  8. Thanks for sharing about that movie. I think it’s one on our “list” to see. It’s so easy to get ahead of ourselves. Mentally we think we can do it, but physically our bodies revolt.

    Reply
  9. I made something similar to these last year with lucky charms! and covered them in white chocolate… i should make them again because they are SO good.
    I want to see that movie but i didnt know it was available for rent… I’ll have to see if its on demand!

    Reply
  10. Oh my goodness, I really feel I might be having achillies problems now. My heels have been hurting from the treadmill a lot lately so I have been cutting my milage.

    Reply
  11. Girl, I’ve torn my achilles tendon. You are right, it’s nothing to mess with. Although, I don’t have any advice on pain with the achilles. Mine felt no pain, and then bam, snapped :).

    And omg, rice krispies–so good.

    Reply
  12. HOW are you so creative with your recipes? Seriously! You are a genius. I want to make everything you post. Slow down! haha. πŸ™‚

    I cannot WAIT to see Due Date! We missed it when it was in theatres but are picking it up tomorrow night when we get back home!!!

    Reply
  13. Laura

     /  February 23, 2011

    You should follow the 10 percent rule – don’t increase mileage by more than 10% per week, don’t increase long run by more than 10% each time.

    Also don’t up mileage AND intensity at the same time.

    As for the achilles tendon.. do you have “the stick”? this is good for rolling stuff out. Also stretch the calves a lot I would suggest. A couple of weeks off running, then start back in with a more conservative increaseing of miles plan, plus of course the stretching and rolling.

    Having plenty of experience with “running through pain” and just plain not resting when I needed to, I would advise anyone to take some proper time off when they start to feel an overuse injury coming on. Each run you do on an injury can mean even more time off when you finally rest it.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  14. Molly

     /  February 23, 2011

    thanks so much for the comment on my blog. LOVE yours πŸ™‚ and those rice krispies look awesome!!!

    Reply
  15. What do you workouts look like? I’m very curious to see your daily workout routines and get some ideas for myself! Hope your achilles feels better!!

    Reply
  16. Mmm, it’s been FOREVER since I’ve had a rice krispie treat. I love that yours are all decked out!

    Reply
  1. Bacon & Cheese Stuffed Chicken « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Chocolate Cake Batter Pancakes « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

