Blast Off!

Did you know that yesterday was the LAST space shuttle launch?? Hopefully they will work something out to continue the launches, but for now yesterday was it. It’s kind of sad around here only because the space shuttle program was the LIFE & jobs of cities near Orlando, like Melbourne. A lot of people have lost their jobs at NASA & they are having a hard time finding new jobs because of the economy. I hope that they work something out so that there will be more space shuttle launches in the future! It’s so cool!! But, anyways, here are some pictures that I got today of the last launch:

Tonight’s dinner has been cooking all day & I loved the smell that filled the house when I got home from work. This recipe is courtesy of Julie!! 🙂 She has the BEST crock pot recipes. I really never used my crock pot much until I started reading Julie’s blog. I just love how creative she is & how most of the recipes are so easy to put together!

When I first made this recipe Craig could NOT stop RAVING about how much he loved this chicken. He kept asking me how much was left because he wanted it for leftovers..like every night! I swear he ate like six servings the first time I made this. It’s just THAT good…really! 😀

Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Just three ingredients (really only two are necessary, but the third adds just a bit more goodness 😉 )
-2-3 chicken breasts
-Frank’s hot sauce
-Grated Parmesan cheese

All I did was put the chicken breasts in the slow cooker for about 7 hours on low, covered with chicken broth. After it was done cooking, I took the chicken out & shredded it with two forks. Once shredded I added about 1 cup of Frank’s hot sauce & 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese.

Then you just mix it all up & serve it on buns. Eassssy peeeassssy 😀

I suggest adding 1/2 cup of hot sauce at a time- I used a cup because I made more chicken- about 1 pound. Told ya, the boy likes LOTS of leftovers 😀 But depending on your taste preference, you might want to add it gradually.

Now on to more of the 30 Day Challenge! I’m almost done, only 3 more after this one.
Day 27: A Problem that You Have Had.

I used to LOVE diet soda. I was addicted to it, I really think that I was. I used to EASILY go through a 2 liter of soda a DAY. That is just INSANE! A 2 liter in a day?! Good grief! My favorite was Diet Mountain Dew, I just couldn’t get enough of it. It wasn’t for the caffeine, it was just because I liked the taste.

I really didn’t see any problem with this ‘habit’ until I met Craig. He made a comment about it one night- just something like ‘Wow! You drink a LOT of soda!’ Honestly I had never really thought about it. I kind of just thought it was normal.

We NEVER had soda in my house growing up. It was a special treat to have a soda, like with a pizza (which we didn’t have often) or at my birthday dinner. I think when I got to college I just kind of went soda crazy! 😉

Once Craig brought it to my attention though I made a deal with myself to cut the habit. Not only is it terrible for you, but it also gets pretty expensive! Water is free & SO much better for you..and actually quenches your thirst, unlike soda. I quit drinking it pretty much cold turkey. I just kept it out of the house & therefore I couldn’t drink it. I stuck to water & coffee. 🙂 I just feel so much better & I don’t get the ‘bloat’ from drinking diet sodas. I always hated that feeling, it’s just uncomfortable.

Now I typically only have a soda on Thursday night, it is a ‘treat.’ Thursday nights I like to plan kind of ‘fun’ meals- some kind of turkey burgers, or special sandwiches- usually with fries or sweet potato crisps. We both love Thursday nights, (some of the BEST tv shows are on) so this just adds to it! (we know, we are nerds 😉 )

Do you drink soda? If you do, how much do you drink of it?

Now it’s time for the Friday Happy Dance!
<–that’s for my Dad! He always sends me this picture when I’m having a bad day, it always makes me smile 🙂 (Hi Dad!! Love you! 🙂 )

If you need something else to make you laugh, you MUST & I mean MUST read this! Try NOT to laugh 😉

Hope you have a lovely Friday 🙂 I can’t wait to get out of here & start enjoying the beautiful weather! I think we might try to go to the beach again tomorrow…or maybe the pool, but definitely getting some sun! 😀

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I lost it when I saw Julie’s post this morning! Too funny! See…you NEED a dog! haha

    I used to LOVE watching the nighttime shuttle launches! We lived on a golf course so all of the neighbors would head outside (even if it was 2 in the morning), pull our pool chairs onto the fairway (I’m sure the golf course people loved this), and sit back and wait for the whole sky to light up. I think I must live under a rock because I hadn’t heard that it was the last one yesterday! That’s so sad!

    Reply
  2. Omg those buffalo chicken sammies look amazing!! And only 3 ingredients? I gotta try this. And I stopped drinking soda years ago. Once I gave it up, I never looked back 🙂

    Reply
  3. Ronda

     /  February 25, 2011

    I am pretty sure it was just the last launch for the DISCOVERY, not all shuttles in general. The program is set to retire this year, but is being replaced by the Orion Program (which sadly, it’s funds are being cut by our lovely president).

    Reply
  4. I used to be addicted to Diet Coke. I drank a TON of it! I quit cold turkey and never looked back!! I’m so much better off without it.

    Have a great weekend soaking up the sun!!

    Reply
  5. Those chicken sandwiches do look good! I might have to try those next week. I totally know what you mean with the leftovers, my boy loves having leftovers for lunch and such, so I can guarantee you I’ll be making a large quantity as well.
    I ALSO used to be addicted to Diet Mt. Dew! There’s gotta be something in it!

    Reply
  6. I never was huge on soda but I love ginger ale!

    Reply
  7. I had no idea that NASA was such a huge part of the Fl economy — although it DEFINITELY makes sense. Just never thought about it I guess!

    I used to drink diet soda too…my great-uncle goes through 2 liters a day; he literally starts at 7am with his breakfast. Kind of worries me! Who knows what the consequences could be, ya know?

    Reply
  8. I missed the launch yesterday! I only drink soda when I am at the movies or Chick-fil-a, the reason is that my boyfriend gets soda at those places and I always have a few sips but that is really all the carbonation my belly can handle.

    Reply
  9. I know, I was so sad about NASA. 😦
    Those are good lookin sandwiches.

    Reply
  10. That’s one of mine and Christopher’s favorite recipes! Seriously if we hadn’t already been married when I first made the buffalo chicken sammies for him, he would’ve dropped to his knees and proposed right then. Here’s our adaption (we add butter and ranch mix… soo good): http://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/recipe-book/crock-pot-buffalo-chicken-sammies/

    What’s really great about recipes like this is that they are just sooo easy and yet so tasty! 🙂

    Reply
  11. I used to be terribly addicted to all diet soda. Then one night, my legs swelled up and my throat swelled up and I was hospitalized. The finally found out after a few nights in the hospital that I was allergic to the sweetners and chemicals in the Diet Soda. I was told to stop drinking it. I try really hard not to. I love the taste of Diet Coke, so on EVERY rare occasions I drink one but I make sure to drink a TON of water after to make sure that I water it down in a way! 🙂
    (sorry for my essay about diet soda, but I still enjoy it on a rare occasion like you)

    Reply
  12. Samantha

     /  March 2, 2011

    Just the last launch for the Discovery. There’s another launch planned for April and one more after that has been approved, but NASA is still looking for the funding for it. I just stumbled on your blog and was thrilled to see pics of the launch! I was able to make it to Florida with my family to watch it and it was absolutely an amazing experience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

