Wedding Q & A’s!

Happy Friday Eve!

I’m so sorry, but my blog was down this morning so I didn’t get to put a post together like I normally do. 😦 Hopefully you won’t mind this one- it is just really questions that I would like to ask you. They are wedding questions, but you can answer them even if you aren’t married too!

I hope you don’t mind me asking for some opinions & advice. As the time FLIES by & our wedding is approaching VERY quickly, I am finalizing a lot of things. I cannot believe I will be getting married in 85 days!! WHOA!

Anyways, please, if you don’t mind-Β let me have your opinion & advice on all of these questions! πŸ™‚ I’m asking the questions as I would ask someone that is already married, but please answer them (if you are not married) like ‘WHEN I get married….this is what I would do or NOT do..

1. Did you hire someone for DAY OF coordination? Not to plan your whole wedding, but just to be there & coordinate the little things on the day of your wedding? I am trying to figure out who is going to tell the bridesmaids, flower girl & myself when to walk down the aisle.

2. How much did you pay for flowers? / How much did you want to pay? / Did you go over budget? / How did you handle all of your flowers? / Did you hand make anything?
I am going make my own centerpieces, but am debating about the bouquets I made order those from a florist.

3. If you were married somewhere OTHER than a church, did you have an altar? Did you have someone build it for you? How did you make it feel more wedding-like?
I’m still trying to figure out what to do with this one. We are probably going to rent one & have a florist decorate it.

4. Did you have a breakfast for all of your guests before or after the wedding? I think we are going to do one the DAY of the wedding (since we are having an evening wedding-Β 5pm)- that way everyone can kind of get together & mingle before the ceremony. I know this is what the rehearsalΒ dinner is used for as well, but not all of our guests are also going to be at the rehearsal dinner, so I would like to have something for everyone.

5. Did you get gifts for the girls that attended your bachelorette party?

6. Did you do anything special for the Moms in your wedding? Typically the father of the bride walks her down the aisle, so that is very special for him, but we would also like to incorporate something special for the Moms as well. I have some ideas, but would like to know what you think too πŸ™‚

7. FOR FAVORS- Did you have one favor PER guest or one favor PER couple?Β  We are trying to figure out the exact number that we need to have & if we should do different favors- like one for the men & one for the women.

8. Did you have your bridesmaids wear their hair a certain way? Or just kind of however they wanted? Did you have them wear any matching jewelry?

9. What is ONE thing that you would have changed about your wedding or planned differently?

10. Biggest question: ONE piece of advice you would offer? (besides to remember it’s YOUR day & to enjoy every second πŸ™‚ )

Sorry that this isn’t my normal style of posting, hope you don’t mind! WordPress JUST starting working for me again…and it’s 2pm in the afternoon 😦 I hope the problem is all fixed now!

I would love to get some advice & opinions though πŸ™‚ I cannot believe how FAST time is FLYING- only 85 more days & I’ll be getting married!!! SO exciting..but kind of nerve wracking at the same time- just so much to do for one day. The planning is fun though πŸ˜‰

Enjoy the rest of your afternoon & GET excited because YOUR almost to the weekend!! πŸ˜€

PS: I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but I have a Twitter account, so you should follow me- we can be Twitter friends too! πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I’m not married or engaged so some of these I have no clue about but I have ideas about a few.

    4. Breakfast. Personally, I wouldn’t do one the day of the wedding, even with a late in the day ceremony you are going to be getting ready HOURS ahead of time and I think it will be stressful. Many weddings I’ve been to have had a brunch or breakfast the day after for all out of town guests and I think that’s kinda nice. A wedding I’m going to in a few weeks is doing a welcome reception for all guests that want to attend after the rehearsal the night before which is kinda nice too.

    5. I wouldnt get gifts for all those attending my bach but I would get a gift for all bridesmaids.

    6. I think I will have both my parents walk me down the aisle. Not sure what I’d do to honor the groom’s parents.

    8. I think with buying a dress unless you find cheapo jewelry you shouldnt required bridesmaids to match UNLESS that is also your gift to them for being in the bridal party! My friend is doing that. Hair I would prob say do whatever, but maybeee require girls with long hair to have it up to avoid sloppiness. That might be too psycho though? I dunno, haha. I’d let them pick the style.

    Reply
  2. Ah! I’m getting so excited for you as the big day gets closer! I think I have been to approximately 30 weddings in the past 3 years…I wish I was kidding!
    1) Depending on where you have it, almost all places will have an event coordinator that runs the little things on the day of for no extra charge. I had my wedding in a little church so the photographer’s wife was the one we appointed to tell each person when to start walkin’.
    2) I want to say my parents spent like $3k on flowers/centerpieces/adding lights to these big poles at the reception. We made/did NOTHING! The florist made sure everything was set up on the day of. It was fabulous.
    4) Neither my sister or I did a breakfast πŸ™‚
    5) I didn’t do gifts at my bachelorette party. I actually don’t think I’ve been to one that has!
    7) We didn’t do traditional favors. We had a photobooth at our reception and had all of the pictures made into magnets for the guests. I think it was $400 for the evening and all of my friends still have the pictures on their fridges! My sister did monogrammed cookies for each guest. She had their name and table number on the box with the cookie that they picked up as they walked into the reception.
    9) I wish the dance floor had been smaller at our wedding. It was HUGE so even when a ton of people were out there, it still felt spread out (does that make sense?)
    10) My biggest piece of advice is to go into the day knowing that everything will not go as planned…and that’s part of what makes it fun! The little things that go “wrong” make for the best stories for the rest of your life! I dropped a mascara wand (waterproof of course) on my white dress .2 seconds before I was supposed to walk out the door. I laughed. There wasn’t much else I could do!

    Reply
    • Aww, love the cookie idea- so cute πŸ™‚
      Dance floor makes sense- I think we are going to have a 12 x 12 one..or 13 x 13, I really don’t remember.
      And girl, like I said on Twitter- MAJOR MAJOR props to you about the mascara incident! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. I’m not getting married, but I’m really involved in my sister’s wedding coming up soon. I want to see some of these answers too.

    1. I think you could get an organized person to do this, any cousins or someone that could be involved. Just go over everything during your rehearsal.

    5. I’m the MOH and will do some type of fun party favors for all the girls at her bachelorette party. One I went to we got a travel sized nail kit. I’m doing the planning now for hers in a little over a month.

    8. I’m pretty positive none of the bridesmaids will have matching hair. I convinced my sister to not make us wear matching shoes – just guidelines of the style. I know she’s giving us our earrings and they don’t all match (one was a chandelier and one was a drop style).

    Reply
  4. I wish I could let u know about my wedding, I think one thing I would recommend for weddings is to have professional photos of you and your hunny around the outside of the reception I’ve seen people do that and it looks awesome!

    Reply
  5. Just a couple of questions huh πŸ˜‰ Girl, I did my whole freaking wedding down to making the food for a sit-down dinner for 80. My sister got married in June and I got married in Aug. We each had 1200 bucks! That’s it. I bought 4 Italian cream cakes and decorated them with lace trimmed with pearls and silk roses, my mom helped me make all the bouquets with silk flowers (I took the bridesmaids’ bouquets to friends grave). I had family help serve and help build the canopy that we used for everyone to sit under. It was on my mom’s property so no church, no altar. I had a cousin officiate. Sometimes I wish it could have been fancier, but then I look back and it was all mine really.

    Reply
  6. Great questions…as you know I’m a Wedding Planner so hopefully my insight will help:

    1. Did you hire someone for DAY OF coordination? I did not hire a day-of coordinator because I was not yet a Wedding Planner and had no idea how important this was. If you do nothing else, invest in a day-of planner. It will be a huge relief and you will notice a single issue behind the scenes. When is your wedding? Maybe I can do it πŸ˜‰

    2. How much did you pay for flowers? / How much did you want to pay? / Did you go over budget? / How did you handle all of your flowers? / Did you hand make anything?
    I spent about $2200 on flowers which is what I targeted. Because we got married at a winery, I didn’t want to distract from the natural surrounding beauty. I made nothing myself, but did you hurricane vases and candles which is actually than flowers!

    3. If you were married somewhere OTHER than a church, did you have an altar? Did you have someone build it for you? How did you make it feel more wedding-like?
    Like I said, I got married at a winery. There happened to be a trellis covered in blooming wisteria so I did not add to any of the decorations. Anothe option is to do a high round table draped in sumptous fabric with a great floral centerpiece (low and flow-y) that is will create a focal point by the bride and groom.

    4. Did you have a breakfast for all of your guests before or after the wedding? I had a brunch for immediate family and the wedding party the day after the wedding. This is when I opened gifts as well.

    5. Did you get gifts for the girls that attended your bachelorette party? My two maids-of-honor threw my bachelorette party and they had tiny giveaway gifts like wine glasses with cute sandal holders and bags of all my favorite candies wrapped in cute festive mini-bags. I bought my wedding party gifts (each a different necklace, a picture frame, and a custom designed bottle of wine)

    6. Did you do anything special for the Moms in your wedding? I had my Mom and my MIL carry mini-bouquets.

    7. FOR FAVORS- Did you have one favor PER guest or one favor PER couple? I did one per guest which included a purple linen bag filled with Ghiradelli chocolate (since we’re from San Fran) and a customized wine bottle opener (since we were at a winery)

    8. Did you have your bridesmaids wear their hair a certain way? Or just kind of however they wanted? Did you have them wear any matching jewelry? I told all my bridesmaids to do their hair how they felt prettiest. It was important to me that they felt comfortable and beautifull that day. And nope, I did not make them wear the same jewelry or shoes (but I did suggest metallic strappy sandals).

    9. What is ONE thing that you would have changed about your wedding or planned differently? I would have hired a Wedding Planner!!!!!!

    10. Biggest question: ONE piece of advice you would offer? (besides to remember it’s YOUR day & to enjoy every second). Don’t worry about going around to every table at dinner time. Your guests will find you during the cocktail hour and on the dance floor. So much time is wasted doing the stuffy meet/greet from tables.

    Reply
    • THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! Awesome advice πŸ™‚ THanks for taking the time to write this πŸ™‚
      Oh, we are doing wine bottle stoppers for our favors- kind of similar πŸ˜‰ I LOVE that you guys got married at a winery! That just sounds beyond beautiful! Cute idea with the Ghiradelli chocolates- love that you incorporated things about the two of you to make the favors.
      Wedding is May 27th, 2011. I would TOTALLY hire you, if you were closer πŸ™‚ I think you would be the BOMB wedding planner!!!!!

      Reply
      • Oddly enough I’m going to be in FL that weekend! But I think my friend’s wedding is also the 27th. If not, I’ll do it!

  7. As you know I still haven’t had an official wedding SO I am of no use to you! πŸ™‚ Just make sure you have an AMAZING photographer who is not afraid to follow you around all day and take a zillion pictures — you will want all of them πŸ™‚

    Whatever you do I know your wedding will be beautiful! You are so creative!

    Reply
  8. Since I have never gotten married before…ha. My brother got married a couple years ago and I know the one thing they regretted was not getting professional pictures exactly how they wanted. They wanted a lot more than they actually got.

    Reply
  9. we got married on the beach but we did have a wedding coordinator. SO WORTH IT!

    Reply
  10. 1. I didn’t hire anyone, but a friend who helped plan a lot of the wedding did this. She did a fabulous job too!

    2. The only flowers were my bouquet and simple flowers in the centerpieces at the reception (bridesmaids carried candles). My “adopted” mom worked at a flower shop and this was her gift to me so they didn’t cost us anything.

    3. Married at a church

    4. That’s really sweet of you. We didn’t have anything like this. Most of our guests lived close by so we didn’t have to worry about many people traveling. We did have a rehearsal dinner for family, wedding party and close friends, though. πŸ™‚

    5. I honestly can’t remember. I’m pretty sure I didn’t, but my bridesmaids might’ve had little favors for the guests at the party. I can’t remember for sure.

    6. Just after my dad walked me down the aisle, I joined hands with Christopher and the two of us walked to my mom and handed her a flower and then walked to his mom and handed her a flower as well. Just a small way to honor each of them. Later in the ceremony both mine and his parents came up to the front and prayed over us to bless our marriage. It was a special moment. πŸ™‚ We also had a song in our wedding that was in my parents’ wedding. πŸ™‚

    7. I’ll be honest, we paid for our own wedding and we really didn’t want to go into debt doing it. So for favors we decided just simply to do consider “bubbles” to be the favors. We’d been to a couple of weddings where they did this and I thought it was a good idea. When we left the ceremony everyone blew bubbles (instead of throwing rice) and then could take home the bubbles (there were tons of them and they were so adorably cute). I think if I had my wedding today, I’d have a baked goody of some kind as favors instead.

    8. I had no specs on my bridesmaids hair or jewelry. However, none of them were the type to do or wear anything outrageous. I wouldn’t have wanted any of them wearing drapes of necklaces or a mohawk, haha. I know some brides like to have their bridesmaids’ hair opposite of theirs, but I didn’t care as much on this one.

    9. Listened to my gut and not gone with the caterer we ended up with. They weren’t very professional and we had a bad feeling about it, but they were the only ones willing to make a sugar free top layer to the cake so we went with them. I definitely should’ve looked around more instead of settling, but it’s all good.

    10. I definitely agree with Shanna! I didn’t bother with a receiving line or making sure that we made it around to each table. Like she said, everyone will come seek you out. They want to congratulate you! πŸ™‚ And I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but having a to-go box of your dinner and some of your cake is great because that way you are sure that you will get fed. I don’t think I know a single bride who actually got to eat at her own reception, haha!

    Reply
    • Thank you SO SO SO much for taking the time to write all of this- you ROCK! So much advice & appreciate EVERY little piece of it πŸ˜€ I love that you used candles instead of flowers- it makes your wedding unique πŸ™‚
      We are paying for our wedding too…so I would like to try to ‘budget’ as much as possible. I know how fast wedding planning can get out of control!

      Reply
  11. Laura

     /  March 4, 2011

    1. I didnt’ hire anybody for anything, but we had a very simple wedding and we aren’t very fussy sort of people, we didn’t really care if everything wasn’t perfect
    2. My husbands aunt provided some flowers. She has a lovely garden. So it cost nothing. they weren’t elaborate or anything, just some simple arrangements.
    3. Church wedding
    4. No we didn’t do any breakfast, that’s a sweet idea though. We had a lot of my family over from Ireland, staying with us so we did take them out for meals and stuff
    5. didn’t get any gifts for girls. I did buy the bridesmaid dresses for the girls though (I had 5 bridesmaids and a flower girl! big family!), not that we have a ton of money, but it’s customary in ireland to buy those so even though we got married here I bought them anyway.
    6. nothing special for the moms. But the night before the wedding, all the girls (including both moms and sisters etc.) stayed in a huge old house that a friend of ours let us use. it was a lovely night! the next morning we all had fun getting ready together.
    7. For favors we made up little baggies of pastel colored jordan almonds, in mesh tied with ribbons (made them ourselves). We also had some beer my brother in law made with custom labels – “I do brew” and whatnot. Just little things, no real “favors” that cost a lot.
    8. They could wear hair any way they wanted, same with jewelry and shoes. Wasn’t shellilng out any more $ for matching shoes! We paid for our own wedding and it adds up quickly even if you are doing things on the cheap!
    9. Hmmm. I guess I’d have had my hair done fully before the day. I just chose a hairdresser in the area and made the booking to have a bridal updo. I felt that they didn’t listen to me when I described the hair (i wanted it up, but more relaxed/flirty for our beach reception) and they gave me too severe of a style. I hated it and cried. (yes, i overreacted significantly… i mean, it’s just hair. But still.). But there was no time to redo it so had to just deal.
    10. i’d advise to just do everything as cheaply as possible. THat’s what we did and we managed to come out of it without spending a ridiculous amount. Even so, it probably cost us almost $10k which to me seemed nuts for one day. I hear of people spending much, much more and I just think it’s somewhat foolish. I mean, I get that it’s a big day, but it’s ONE day and then you have marriage to look forward to. Do you want to go into your marriage 30+ grand in the hole for one day? I get that weddings have different levels of importance to people, to me it was about getting all my family together, having a nice church wedding and then having a great party at the beach where everyone could kick their shoes off, drink, eat and dance.

    Good luck, girl! It’s so fun yet stressful to have an upcoming wedding. It’s easy to get caught up in the little details but try not to. Remember the big picture. Your family and friends love you and will have a great day seeing you guys so happy, they won’t care if their plate of food cost $40 or $200. Or if they flowers aren’t perfect. Or if some other glitch occurs. It will be amazing no matter what! The whole day will be a blur anyway, you think you’ll notice minor details but I didn’t find that to be true. I just sort of coasted along on adrenaline (and champagne ha)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

