Wedding Vow Ideas

HAPPY FRIDAY πŸ˜€

Please please please don’t be mad at me, but I’m back with another wedding post! The last couple of days have not been too exciting cooking-wise. On Wednesday I went & got my hair trimmed, then went to my sister’s house to talk wedding stuff & see my ADORABLE nephew!! (he’s getting so so so BIG, by the way πŸ™‚ ) Last night was also uneventful as well- Craig randomly had to go to St. Louis, but JUST for the day. So I just ate leftovers for dinner. His company flew him out yesterday morning to deliver some papers that they needed in their St. Louis office THAT day & then they are flying him back home today!! I can’t believe the amount of money they spent on this trip- I was blown away! But I guess these papers are extremely important & could not wait. I’m just glad I only had to be without him for one night. πŸ™‚ Makes today EVEN better- he’ll be home when I get there! Yay!

Anyways, we have a VERY special guest coming into town tomorrow afternoon- our officiant! His name is Jerry & he is a family friend of Craig’s. As you know, we are not getting married in a church, but rather at a resort in Disney World. We decided this right from the beginning. Not only do we not belong to a church here in Orlando (although I would like to find one that I like), but it also makes it so much easier for all of our guests flying in from out of town.

I think I have said it before, but Craig’s family is HUGE!

This is a picture form Wildwood, it is not all of Craig’s family but a good majority is his family. The other people are friends of the family as well- this would be the ‘Wildwood Gang’ πŸ™‚

We wanted to make it easy for everyone. Since most of our guests will be flying in, we did not want them to have to travel from one venue to another. Most of them are NOT renting cars either- since it is at Disney & you really don’t need a car to get places- you just take the shuttle.

Anyways, back to our officiant πŸ™‚ Jerry used to work with Craig’s Dad & they became really good friends & that is how Craig met him- thru his Dad. Jerry was the officiant at another family friend’s wedding- & they said he did a WONDERFUL job. Once we got engaged we were trying to think of the perfect person to perform our ceremony. We really didn’t want to hire a random person that we didn’t know & we didn’t want to join a church for the sake of having someone perform our wedding.

Once we got to thinking, we really wanted someone that we knew. Craig mentioned that Jerry might want to perform our ceremony & I thought that was a great idea!

So Jerry is coming to visit us this weekend!!!! He is SO nice- he is actually just flying in Saturday afternoon & then flying out Sunday morning. I thought it was very nice that he kind of sacrificed his weekend to fly in to review things for the wedding, and then fly back. This was completely his idea & he also would not let us pay for his flights. So nice, right?!

The whole point of this was to tell you that I plan on writing my own vows! I really want them to be something original. I do plan to base them off of some other ideas that I have- I will share them with you so you can tell me your opinions πŸ™‚ I would like to finish them today, that way they are ready for when Jerry gets here tomorrow. Of course, if I don’t finish them, then that’s ok too- I mean I don’t want to rush to get it done, but I want to give him some kind of general idea.

So, here you go- these are some of the ideas I have for the vows- PLEASE let me know your opinions & what you think I could change/ should change. I found these different ideas on some wedding websites. It’s truly amazing what Google can do for you πŸ˜‰

Vow Ideas: (Oh, my favorites areΒ the first one & the last one)
1. Craig, I love you. You are my best friend. Today I give myself to you in marriage. I promise to encourage and inspire you, to laugh with you, and to comfort you in times of sorrow and struggle.
I promise to love you in good times and in bad, when life seems easy and when it seems hard,
when our love is simple, and when it is an effort. I promise to cherish you, and to always hold you in highest regard. These things I give to you today, and all the days of our life.

2. Craig, from this day forward I promise you these things. I will laugh with you in times of joy and comfort you in times of sorrow. I will share in your dreams, and support you as you strive to achieve your goals. I will listen to you with compassion and understanding, and speak to you with encouragement. I will remain faithful to our vows for better or for worse, in times of sickness and health. You are my best friend and I will love and respect you always.

3. Today I will marry my best friend,
the one I will live with, dream with, see my futureΒ and love for eternity.
I take you to be my husband.
From this day forward I will cherish you,
I will look with joy down the path of our tomorrow knowing we will walk it together side by side, hand in hand and heart to heart.

4. I promise to be there when you need me,
to fill your days with sunshine,
to comfort you and encourage you,
to help you reach your goals and dreams,
to be your best friend and to
love you for all ofΒ my life with all my heart.

5. All that I am and all that I have,
I offer to you in love and in joy.
From this day forward I will
love and comfort you, hold you close,
prize you above all others,
and remain faithful to you
all the days of our lives.

6. You are my once-in-a-lifetime, my miracle.
May our lives intermingle and
our love grow as we become one.
You are all I could ever need in my life,
my friend, my lover, my everything.
I promise to be faithful to you,
to love you, honor you, live with you and cherish you,
according to the commandments of God,
in the holy bond of marriage.

What do you think? Which ones are your favorites?

Anything you want to say- please say it πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I love the last one! And… do you guys go to Wildwood every year? We go to Wildwood every year!!

    Reply
  2. My favorite is the first!! I like how you actually include the fact that sometimes marriage is an effort — it’s so important to acknowledge that! It sounds so heartfelt and true and like you’re just speaking from your soul. Love it!

    Reply
  3. Erin

     /  March 4, 2011

    number 5!!!

    Reply
  4. I really like both the first and the last. The firsts reminds me (from what you have described on your blog) more about your personal romance and the fun you guys have had.

    Reply
  5. I like the last one its more serious.

    Reply
  6. I think I like the first one the best. I actually teared up reading this, I am so lame! ha!

    Reply
  7. Wow, I thought I was from a big family, with my two sisters and a brother…!
    I love the idea of writing your own vows; I really like numbers one and three, but number five gave me goosepimples; it’s beautiful πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. I LOVE the first one! It sounds so open, honest, and sincere. I love that it’s not quite as formal – I think just becaue it reminds me of your personality that shines through on your blog. They’re all beautiful though so you really can’t go wrong!

    Reply
  9. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 4, 2011

    I like the first one.

    Reply
  10. I so cannot be mad at you for posting more wedding stuff! I LOVE wedding stuff! πŸ˜€ I love the first and last one too! We had original vows at our wedding and I’m so glad we did. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. Strawberry Drop Biscuits « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

