Happy Birthday, Mom!

Good Morning!

Today is my Mom’s birthday- HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOMMY πŸ™‚ Love you!!

I wish I could be home to spend it with her, but we are going up next weekend. πŸ™‚

Last night we did a LOT of wedding stuff. We figured out how our ceremony is going to go. We wanted to figure out the order of things & also discuss our vows & the ring exchange. My vows to Craig are still not finalized- I still have a few things that I am going to change, but for the most part we have a good understanding of the flow of the ceremony.

We also added in a few ‘special’ things to the ceremony- just a few ideas that we wanted to make the ceremony more personal. I really like the ideas & I can’t wait to see how they turn out on the BIG day πŸ™‚

Whenever we have any guests in town, I like to make a special dinner for them. I was browsing all of my favorite recipe blogs this week & happened to stumble on one from Liz’s blog that just sounded SO good! I needed something that I could prep early & then just throw in the oven when it was time for dinner. Normally I like to do really fancy meals that take a lot of preparation to make, but last night I needed something that wouldn’t take a lot of time so that we had plenty of time to talk .

The recipe that caught my eye was Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken. The sour from the lemon combined with the sweetness from the brown sugar sounded just right!
I copied the recipe right from Liz’s blog & did not change a thing!

30 Minute Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/4 C lemon juice
  • 1 T lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1.5 T canola oil
  • 2 T brown sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350.Β  If needed, pound the breasts with a meat mallet until thin.Β 
  2. Combine the flour, paprika and sea salt in a shallow dish. Coat each chicken breast in the mixture and toss until coated completely.
  3. Heat the oil over medium high heat in a large skillet. Place each chicken breast in the oil and brown on both sides. Remove chicken breasts and keep warm on a plate.
  4. Pour the lemon juice in the pan to deglaze. Place chicken breasts in a casserole dish and cover with juice. Top with brown sugar and lemon zest.

  5. Bake forΒ 20-25 minutes, or until internal temperature reaches 165.

With the chicken I made onion roasted potatos. You only need 2 ingredients- SUPER easy recipe!

Onion Roasted Potatos
-diced red potatos
-onion soup mix

Take diced potatos & put them on a greased baking pan. Pour onion soup mix over top & mix to combine.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes, or until golden. Be sure to flip them about every 15- 20 minutes.

With the chicken & potatos I also made some broccoli. Gotta get the greens πŸ˜‰

The chicken was SO good! It is definitely going to be added to my ‘go to weeknight meals.’ It was so quick to make & like I said, you can prep it before & just keep it in the refrigerator until you are ready to bake it.

It was a great night! The three of us just sat around talking about the wedding & just different aspects of how we want the ceremony to go. We are ready for this wedding to be here πŸ™‚

Not sure what is on our list of things to do today. I might make some more centerpieces, like I did last weekend. But I know one thing on the list is to watch lots of Dexter episodes πŸ™‚ We just got all of Season 3 on DVD, so it’s time for a Dexter marathon!!

Oh, before I go- just wanted to let you know I am going to add some workouts & running workouts to my workout pages today πŸ™‚ Let me know if you try any of them!

Have a wonderful Sunday! Hope you have a nice & relaxing day!!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to make the Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken since I first saw it on Liz’s blog. I can’t wait to make it. It looks so good!

    Reply
  2. Happy birthday momma!! will you please come cook for me?!

    Reply
  3. Ooh that chicken looks delicious.

    Happy Birthday to your mom! I hope she has a great birthday and you guys can celebrate with her next week. :P!

    Reply
  4. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 6, 2011

    Yum! That chicken looks great!

    Happy Birthday to your mom! I hope she has a great day today and next weekend you have an awesome time!

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday to you mom!! That chicken looks delicious, and I love roasted potatoes! Yum πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Jessica

     /  March 6, 2011

    My neice was born this morning (a huge 8lbs 9oz and 21 inches), so your mom and my niece are both getting a big HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Reply
  7. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  March 6, 2011

    Happt birthday mama apple slice!! πŸ˜‰ Hehe. Glad you liked the chicken- SO easy and delicious, right? I’m going to try it with orange juice, too!

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday to your mom. Sorry you couldn’t spend the day with her, but at least you get to see her next weekend!

    Reply
  9. happy birthday HOlly’s mom! I bet she is so thankful to have you as a daughter!

    Reply
  10. awww happy birthday mama!!!! she is def blessed to have a LIGHT like you as a daughter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

